We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waterfront Wynyard
Nearby Hotels
$68
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wellers Inn(Burnie)
$95
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Ikon Hotel(Burnie)
$113
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachway(Ulverstone)(Great Value!)
$72
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bass & Flinders Motor Inn(Ulverstone)(Great Value!)
$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
230
113
24
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
113
24
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastdeck chairsnw coastmueslishort walk into townlittle extrasold styleguest loungecomfy roomoverlooking the riverfish and chipslovely surpriseshipping containersthe pubbreakfast was excellenttrufflegreat position
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 370 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel was such a find.. absolutely gorgeous location, friendly town, funky cool decor, beautiful breakfast, great - helpful staff, quiet location, central to the north west coast! I can't say enough except - WE WILL BE BACK! We discovered the brilliant markets, second hand shops and the amazing homewares shop at the northern end! We stayed here for the last two nights of our vacation and are so pleased we did - thanks guys!

Room Tip: We were in room 17 which was perfect! No issue with noise, but I really don't believe that anywhere would be a problem
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Hi Eleanor H

Thanks so much for your review and feedback. I love mid century stuff (a child of the 70s) so my passion is to restore the motel with fun stuff of the era, without sacrificing on quality or comfort. Justin gets nervous every time I go into a secondhand shop as to what I am going to come out with! I am so pleased you liked it!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the waterfront again sometime in the future.

Regards
Cyndia Hilliger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a small hotel in a small town, it's very well priced but basic. The staff were very helpful and the location is on the water so there's always something to watch. Walking distance from restaurants and we found it convenient and good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 292fiona292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Fiona

Thanks for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on having the best staff on the coast as everyone in our business genuinely cares about service and about our customers. So pleased you expereinced that.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future some time.

Regards
Cyndia Hilliger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Although we only stayed overnight we found this motel to be best that we stayed at on our recent trip to Tasmania.
Although the staff were young we found them to be very courteous, helpful and very professional.
The room was spacious, clean & very comfortable. Great position was also a bonus.
Would definitely stay again next time in Wynyard.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skitraveller-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Skittraveller

Thank you so much for your feedback and review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at out little motel. We aim to please, and our staff genuinely love customers, so its not hard for us!

Hopefully we will see you again next time you are in Tassie.

Regards

Cyndia Hilliger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This older style Motel is the best yet!!!! Staff are wonderful so helpful. Room was spotless and the bed was great. Young Staff member heated our muffins in the morning and made sure the eggs and the rest of the best Brecky in Tassie was perfect!!! Might be older style but this is tops in Tassie. would revisits in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Stay here you will enjoy it!!! Wharf pub across the road has a great steak and Tassie Salmon- great prices for food and drinks which is unlike other places we have stayed in in Tassie. Motel Staff recommended the Pub as their dining room was full that evening.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LrrieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback. Our housekeepers have all worked for us for years and love what they do. They take pride in having those rooms absolutely spotles, so I am so pleased you noticed.

We try to keep our service professional, but more importantly we like to treat our guests like friends coming back to see us- as they often do! In fact we can't get rid of them!! Which of course is exactly the way we want it!

Hopefully we will see you again sometime in the future

Regards
Cyndia Hilliger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I went to Tasmania in October primarily to visit family but decided to choose a couple of places to spend a few days. Not having been there before whatever we chose was going to be a chance. This motel may not be one of your grand 5 star or even the wonderful 4 star that we find through SE Asia but for position I don't think you could find one prettier. Rooms are fairly standard but the staff are lovely and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them And when you say waterfront that's exactly what you get. I used to take my morning coffee, take 5 steps acroos the driveway and sit on the wall and watch the Pelicans and other birdlife.
the towns has everything you could need in it, supermarket, chemist a couple of pubs etc. And such a short drive to the beautiful Table Cape tulip farm. We were lucky enough to time it that they were in flower.
We like thsi place so much we have already booked to go back early next January.

Room Tip: choose a King room - lovely comfy beds!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissy291150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thanks So much for your feedback! We are constantly updating the rooms to make them as comfy as possible. The king beds are of course the best!! So glad you got to enjoy the magic of the river side setting with your early morning cuppa! Its part of the magic that we just cant sell in a picture.

Regards
Cyndia Hilliger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews