We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I slept well.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront Wynyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wynyard
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I slept well.”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Basic and simple. Flew in from Melbourne that night, walked to Hotel and slept very well. Clean and quiet. Very content with this one.

Be aware the local taxi did not take cards. Imagine that!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirstyandhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear you had a great sleep!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    96
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
160
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Who'd have thought we could take a walk along the water in the middle of winter, in Tasmania, right outside our hotel room - because that's exactly what we did at our stay at The Waterfront Wynyard. And then to warm up, we got to curl up infront of the open fire in the Guest Lounge with a glass of wine and a good book. (Though the heating in our room was very toasty too!) Our room had everything we needed, was clean, comfortable and quiet. The Room Service menu was great and the food, including the continental breakfast, was delicious - we joked that we'll be back to work through some of the menu items we didn't get to! The owners and staff were lovely and did all that they could to make our stay comfortable. Would recommend staying here to any friends or family ... and already have!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for your review of our property. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay, as for us, that means job done!

We look forward to welcoming you back int he future.

Regards

Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The Waterfront is also known as Burnie Airport Motel. The room was clean, comfortable and quite roomy - excellent value for $99 paid, continental breakfast for two was also included. Breakfast was excellent and with plenty of food to choose from.

The hotel itself is old style but the room had been refurbished and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The Burnie Airport Motel is also known as the Waterfront Hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and quite roomy - excellent value for $99 paid, continental breakfast for two was also included. Breakfast was excellent and with plenty of food to choose from.

The hotel itself is old style but the room had been refurbished and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamar, Tasmania
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2010

After a day's travelling, a very quiet place to sleep in a comfortable bed. We travelled with the family dog and the waterfront reserve was a great place for a walk in the evening.
We found the motel room very clean and the breakfast room was nicely set up with fresh tablecloths and napkins.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puppylove_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Room was very comfortable and cheerfully decorated.
Bathroom was very clean.
Restaurant on site was convenient and quite delicious.
It was lovely to be right on the waterfront and easy driving distance from all points in the North West Coast.
I have recommended the property to other colleagues and friends travelling in the area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qlder
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2010

This motel appears to be waiting for re-development and is quite prepared to paint a very rosy picture to attract customers.
The "wonderful water view" was mainly an ugly brick building with a glimpse of water when the tide was in, otherwise mud. The award winning restaurant was closed that night and most other nights I suspect. No mention of that when we booked. It was difficult to see any evidence of the refurbishment for which we paid extra. Certainly the electrical wiring was quite ancient and a notice advised that the heater and jug could not be used at the same time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
The motel I believe represents as honestly as it can that it is a retro styled motel. That is to say, whilst we have new beds and flat screen TV's, modern bathrooms etc, our rooms are older, and not going to be the same as staying in a newly built property. I have rechecked our currrent advertising material, and at no time is it advertised that we have been fully refurbished. It does however state, that the rooms have been modernised, with a sympathetic eye towards the styling of the era. If you are looking for a generic modern furnished "quest" style apartment, then our motel is not for you.
If you are looking for a property with personality and the quirks that entails, you won't be disappointed.

With regards to the water view, we are not able to do much about the low brick retaining wall for the river bank- it stays there for safety reasons, but does not obstruct any views of the river precinct. However, being a tidal river, we cannot guarantee the water will be high tide views at all times. We believe it is just as beautiful at low tide, and indeed have pictures of this as well on our web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynyard
19.5 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
9.9 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coastal Pods
Coastal Pods
#1 of 3 in Wynyard
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Alexandria B&B
Alexandria B&B
#2 of 3 in Wynyard
39 reviews
1.7 mi away
Leisure Ville Holiday Centre
6.5 mi away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Wynyard

Property: The Waterfront Wynyard
Address: 1 Goldie St, Wynyard, Tasmania 7325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Wynyard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wynyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterfront Wynyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome at The Award Winning Waterfront Wynyard. Situated on the banks of the Inglis River in Wynyard, this well appointed 3.5 star motel will keep you coming back for more. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, Cable Television, blazingly fast ADSL broadband internet and all the views you can handle. Relax by the fire in our lounge area and read a good book from our guest library. Our onsite guest lounge prides itself on sourcing the best local produce to give you an everlasting taste of Tassie at its best. Breakfast like a king, in our cafe with freshly baked muffins, eggs and bacon on sour dough toast or a hot cup of our Lavazza espresso for a real kick start to the day. For work or pleasure, you’ll be back to stay at the Waterfront, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Wynyard Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing