We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We wish we'd stayed longer!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandria B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexandria B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Wynyard B&B and Inns
Forbes, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We wish we'd stayed longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I spent the first two nights of our honeymoon at the Alexandria after having a friend highly recommend staying there. I made contact with the hosts prior to arriving to find out what sights and attractions were close by and received a reply with a whole list. Once arriving, we were instantly made to feel at home and the congratulatory chocolates and wine were unexpected but showed how thoughtful and kind the hosts are. Our room was perfect and we didn't need to ask for anything.
Wynyard itself is a lovely town and we spent a good portion quietly fishing on the river which is only a two minute walk away We went out for pizza one night and down to the wharf for lunch one day - both are within walkable distances.
We wish the hosts all the very best as they finally get to put their own personal touches on an already amazing place (tenants were in the property previously) and we can't wait to visit again. It'll be for longer next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Kylie,
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you and Bernie choose and stay with us for the start of your honeymoon. The wine and chocolates are a little personal gift from us to say congratulations on your wedding so we are glad you enjoyed them. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Tassie and you had as much success catching fish elsewhere! We would love to see you again on your next trip this way. We hope you are enjoying married life!
Cheers,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Alexandria and it was fabulous. Rachel is a perfect host as well as a wonderful cook. The 1905 house and gardens are beautiful with a fantastic location on the bank of the Inglis River. Fantastic walks around the river to the bluff which has panoramic views along the northern coastline. But the real attraction was the friendly and attentive host who made us feel so welcome. Next time we are in Tasmania, this will be on the top of our list for a repeat stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goondari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear goondari,
Thank you for your fantastic review on your stay with us at Alexandria, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay as that is our aim to make you feel very welcome and provide the best service we can offer. Thank you also for the comments on my cooking abilities as I enjoy cooking and try to provide the best quality food and service I can.
The walks around the area, Inglis River and Fossil Bluff, are right on our doorstep and a great way to see the beauty of this area.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Tassie and hope to see you again on your next trip.
Cheers,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife, eight-month old daughter and I stayed here for two nights in the week leading up to Christmas 2012. We had heard good things about Alexandria but were blown away when we arrived. We immediately felt welcome and comfortable in the loveliest of surroundings.

Being able to look out over the ever-changing tidal Inglis River was a particular highlight as I am quite partial to a good meandering waterway. Sitting in the dining room and looking over the established, and very green, gardens to the river is a fine way to have breakfast (ably supported by good home-cooked food and local produce).

We stayed in the Tulip Room and found the room to be very spacious and with a bed that matched ours at home so we certainly slept well. The bathroom was of an older style but clean. I think the reviewer that commented on the "shower corner" must be referring to another room.

We are always happy for a chat and our hosts (the owners) were very friendly and accomodating. They were excited about finally being able to run their own business and have some short and long-term goals they are working towards. We could see where they had already been tidying up the established gardens and outbuildings and getting their small paddocks ready for chickens (super-fresh eggs!) and their own animals. There was also the beginnings of a new vegie garden so we're certainly looking forward to returning and enjoying Alexandria-grown tomatoes etc.

As you might have guessed, we loved our stay. The owners are a young couple working hard to bring their property back to its best. It is already a beautiful property so, like us, I reckon you'll love your stay. I'm certainly claiming a spot under the big oak next time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi Andy,

Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it. We enjoyed having you stay with us and are glad you felt at home as that is what we are trying to achieve for our guests. The vegie garden is starting to thrive but it is still too early to use the produce in our breakfast service, but hopefully won't be long! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Tasmania and had a safe and merry Christmas with family. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cheers,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here last year when it was run by a delightful mother and daughter team. The hospitality and food were wonderful.

The building owners now run it and we will never return.

Rooms have suddenly become 'suites', the alpacas were shipped out last year but are still claimed to be on the property, their idea of a wonderful breakfast is a few packs of Kellogs and some ordinary looking sliced fruit.

The new cancellation charges are extraordinarily high compared to other accomodation and mean that you lose the entire cost of the stay if you have to cancel within 7 days and lose some $40 per night if you cancel even 3 months ahead. They even advise not to book here unless you take out travel insurance. Little wonder that their booking page shows them almost empty for January and February when great little motels like The Waterfront are invariably busy.

Sensitively restored isn't the place we stayed at. It was a somewhat tired old house in need of a bit of TLC. The shower corner in the Tulip room is one of the most insensitive pieces of 'renovation' I have ever had the misfortune to see.

The review by lisaaw was a review for the property under the mother and daughter team.....daughter ran a fabulous cooking school from the property and every meal was outstanding. She even made her own breakfast cereal which was sensational. Hard to imagine her showing a pack of Kellogs as a breakfast.

Room Tip: The Tulip room is quite dark and pokey with a very strange glass bathroom cubicle virtually at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Reviewers:
We find this review disappointing as the reviewer has not stayed since we took the management of our property on at the start of November, 2012.
We call the rooms suites as the guests have access to multiple rooms in the main house including the lounge room and dining room for their personal use. The Oak and Chestnut Suites are adjoined by a seating area where you can sit and read a book quietly on the couch that is setup for this reason. We frequently have travelling couples or a family book out the entire outside cottage providing more than one room to use.
Alpacas used to be in our paddocks on an agistment arrangement. They are no longer here but we are planning to have our own alpacas soon once we have brought the paddocks back to a tidy state with adequate feed for animals. We also have plans to restore the chicken shed to house chickens to provide eggs for breakfasts. We have recently planted a vegetable and herb garden which is now flourishing and we hope to use this produce for meals as well.
We have owned the property for over 3 years now and have had managers and tenants run the business. We are now lucky to be realising our dream of living and running Alexandria ourselves. Since our arrival at the start of November, we have been working hard to get the gardens tidy and back to where they were after being neglected for the last 3 years. We are also setting ourselves back up online including updating our website (we now have training to do this ourselves) and have online bookings. The cancellation fee mentioned was defaulted in the online booking system, but like a lot of things, it takes time to change and update. The cancellation policy is now “Cancellations made within 48 hrs of booking arrival date incur a 100% cancellation fee. Cancellations made within 7 days of booking arrival date incur a 30% cancellation fee.” The cancellation policy mentioned was aware of and the request already in place to change at the time of the review.
Regarding our suites, we have a lot of positive responses to the services we provide. The suites reflect the era of the house, built in 1905, and even though they were originally restored about 20 years ago, are still very functional and comfortable. We are continually making improvements to the suites with modern bedding and furnishings and have plans to refurbish the suites entirely in a couple of years, which will depend on demand and need to do so. The Rose Suite is actually the one with the bathroom mentioned in the review – the ensuite has cleverly been designed into the turret of the main house and it has ample space to move around in. It is a quirky feature of the room, and as per our website, we promote the Rose Suite as the ideal room for a single traveller.
As part of our tariff, we also include a continental and / or fully cooked breakfast which can be served at the guests choice either in their suite, in the garden or in the dining room of the main house. The continental tray commented on in the review and also included in our photo selection is an example of the continental breakfast, and at the time the photo was taken was the direct request of the guest who thoroughly enjoyed their breakfast and requested the same the following day.
As mentioned, we are continually trying to improve our home and business at Alexandria Bed and Breakfast.
Kind Regards,
Rachel and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Our family of four spent two days at "Alexandria" and we wished for nothing. The rooms and apartments were very clean with everything working, and more appointments than you could ask for. Our hostess Rachel cooked up a delicious breakfast that lasted us until well into the afternoon before any sort of hunger set in.
Although within a close proximity to Wynyard's commercial centre there was no traffic noise with the golf club a short walk away and the river with walking tracks just across the road. The house itself has an "Old World Charm" with the grounds spacious to stroll through or just sit under a tree and be taken in by the gardens and the peace they bring. There's the barbecue and table always ready and a mowed safe area for the little ones to run about particularly after being "trapped in the car" while the older members of the family check out the many wonders Wynyard and it's surrounds have to offer. Overall a great stay and we'll be there again next time we're in town. Rob & Vicki (Sydney)

Room Tip: The self contained apartments are fantastic for more than two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi Rob and Vicki,
Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it. We hope you were able to find a new home here in Tas and hope to see you again soon. Wishing you and your family a very Merry Xmas.
Cheers,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Away from the hustle and bustle yet only a few minutes drive from the town centre this delightful historic home has been sensitively restored and extended to provide a rewarding holiday experience. Set high on the banks of the Inglis River the Alexandria is centrally located for touring the many tourist highlights of north western Tasmania. Mine host, Racheal serves breakfast in the main dining room overlooking the river and provides excellent service in all other matters.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi Brett,

Apologies for the delay in replying but thank you for your review. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Tasmania and that you have a wonderful xmas with family.

Cheers,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our stay in Wynyard was really special this time, seeing the tulips then returning to relax in our comfortable room at the Alexandria surrounded by beautiful gardens. The hosts, mother and daughter were friendly and provided us a beautiful breakfast included in our tarriff.
Alongside the B&B runs a beautiful river suitable for fishing but also has a great walking path on both sides. We heard and saw native birds and spring wild flowers. The Federation era home with an interesting documented history is surrounded with exotic looking soaring trees and beautiful flower. There's areas to sit out in the garden to read and relax.
The hosts have leased the business from the owners and apart from the B& B have also established a cooking school. Long stints overseas {in Japan and India}and an Italian heritage informs their cooking.
With the gem of an old home and a location so close to everything that's great about Tassie I think it a perfect place to stay.
In brief, it also has a pool, outdoor BBQ area, alpacas, chooks and nearby aberr to bike riding walking paths. Recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynyard
11.0 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Waterfront Wynyard
The Waterfront Wynyard
#1 of 1 in Wynyard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coastal Pods
Coastal Pods
#1 of 4 in Wynyard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge
1.0 mi away
The Wharf Hotel
The Wharf Hotel
#3 of 4 in Wynyard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandria B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandria B&B

Property: Alexandria B&B
Address: 1 Table Cape Road, Wynyard, Tasmania 7325, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Wynyard
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wynyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexandria B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandria is a gracious Federation style home built in 1905 on the banks of the Inglis River 1.5 km from the Town Centre of Wynyard and Burnie Airport, in North West Tasmania. Whether you're looking for an adventure, a rest or working, Alexandria is the place for you offering a quiet location to relax and enjoy the surrounding cottage gardens or venture the local attractions of the North West Coast of Tasmania. There are 5 suites available for guests all with a private ensuite. Three are situated in the main house and two are situated amongst the beautiful cottage gardens. All suites have views of the gardens and the uniquely ever changing Inglis River.We are also a Function Venue for weddings / receptions; photo sessions; business meetings / workshops and team building days; high teas; community group events and cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alexandria B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandria B&B Wynyard, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing