We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm of yesterday with the conveniences of today”
Review of Alexandria B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexandria B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Wynyard B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charm of yesterday with the conveniences of today”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Our family of four spent two days at "Alexandria" and we wished for nothing. The rooms and apartments were very clean with everything working, and more appointments than you could ask for. Our hostess Rachel cooked up a delicious breakfast that lasted us until well into the afternoon before any sort of hunger set in.
Although within a close proximity to Wynyard's commercial centre there was no traffic noise with the golf club a short walk away and the river with walking tracks just across the road. The house itself has an "Old World Charm" with the grounds spacious to stroll through or just sit under a tree and be taken in by the gardens and the peace they bring. There's the barbecue and table always ready and a mowed safe area for the little ones to run about particularly after being "trapped in the car" while the older members of the family check out the many wonders Wynyard and it's surrounds have to offer. Overall a great stay and we'll be there again next time we're in town. Rob & Vicki (Sydney)

Room Tip: The self contained apartments are fantastic for more than two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi Rob and Vicki,
Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it. We hope you were able to find a new home here in Tas and hope to see you again soon. Wishing you and your family a very Merry Xmas.
Cheers,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Away from the hustle and bustle yet only a few minutes drive from the town centre this delightful historic home has been sensitively restored and extended to provide a rewarding holiday experience. Set high on the banks of the Inglis River the Alexandria is centrally located for touring the many tourist highlights of north western Tasmania. Mine host, Racheal serves breakfast in the main dining room overlooking the river and provides excellent service in all other matters.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roowa, Owner at Alexandria B&B, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi Brett,

Apologies for the delay in replying but thank you for your review. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Tasmania and that you have a wonderful xmas with family.

Cheers,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our stay in Wynyard was really special this time, seeing the tulips then returning to relax in our comfortable room at the Alexandria surrounded by beautiful gardens. The hosts, mother and daughter were friendly and provided us a beautiful breakfast included in our tarriff.
Alongside the B&B runs a beautiful river suitable for fishing but also has a great walking path on both sides. We heard and saw native birds and spring wild flowers. The Federation era home with an interesting documented history is surrounded with exotic looking soaring trees and beautiful flower. There's areas to sit out in the garden to read and relax.
The hosts have leased the business from the owners and apart from the B& B have also established a cooking school. Long stints overseas {in Japan and India}and an Italian heritage informs their cooking.
With the gem of an old home and a location so close to everything that's great about Tassie I think it a perfect place to stay.
In brief, it also has a pool, outdoor BBQ area, alpacas, chooks and nearby aberr to bike riding walking paths. Recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynyard
11.0 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
140 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Waterfront Wynyard
The Waterfront Wynyard
#1 of 1 in Wynyard
308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coastal Pods
Coastal Pods
#1 of 3 in Wynyard
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Wharf Hotel
The Wharf Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wynyard
18 reviews
2.8 mi away
Leisure Ville Holiday Centre
0.9 mi away
Golden Embers Apartments
Golden Embers Apartments
#4 of 4 in Wynyard
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandria B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandria B&B

Property: Alexandria B&B
Address: 1 Table Cape Rd, Wynyard, Tasmania 7325, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Wynyard
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wynyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexandria B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandria is a gracious Federation style home built in 1905 on the banks of the Inglis River 1.5 km from the Town Centre of Wynyard and Burnie Airport, in North West Tasmania. Whether you're looking for an adventure, a rest or working, Alexandria is the place for you offering a quiet location to relax and enjoy the surrounding cottage gardens or venture the local attractions of the North West Coast of Tasmania. There are 5 suites available for guests all with a private ensuite. Three are situated in the main house and two are situated amongst the beautiful cottage gardens. All suites have views of the gardens and the uniquely ever changing Inglis River.We are also a Function Venue for weddings / receptions; photo sessions; business meetings / workshops and team building days; high teas; community group events and cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Alexandria B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandria B&B Wynyard, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing