We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodbridge Hill Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a wonderful part of beautiful Tasmania. Every detail in this accommodation has been carefully thought out and placed. The coffee maker, milk warmer, hammock, mud face masks, teas,wines and beautiful soaps all appreciated. Magnificent views And even saw a Tasmanian devil drinking at the dam. Well worth visiting the grandewe cheese factory nearby, cheese wonderful and on a warm day the sheep vanilla ice cream amazingly good. You certainly will not be disappointed if you stay at Woodbridge Hill Hideaway

Room Tip: All rooms very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie3350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
97
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our recent accommodation was very special. The Black Heart Sassafras suite offered total privacy and included breathtaking views. The proprietors exuded warmth and generosity in true Tasmanian spirit. The architecture, stained glass and sculptors echoed the sensitivity of the artisans who built it. The guest book revealed many second takings. Highly recommended retreat from seasoned travellers, who do adore Tasmania's natural beauty. Could not get closer to a natural heaven on earth. John and Shirley

Room Tip: The four houses have views to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnShirley333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Perfect and relaxing weekend away to surprise the other half. We spent 2 nights here and could have easily done more.

The location and accomodation is fantastic - secluded and quiet with modern facilities.

Will be staying again next time we visit Tasmania!

Room Tip: Not required - each of the 4 cabins looks just as good as the other!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBKBSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
178 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I booked our accommodation at Woodbridge Hill Hideaway months ahead and kept watching the TripAdvisor reviews while we waited for our days to come. All the recent reviews were spot on and our stay (four nights) was simply amazing. The cabins look just like they do on the official website and the view has to be seen to be believed.

We stayed in cabin #4 (Black Heart Sassafras) and the views were outstanding morning, noon and night. The sunrise is breathtaking as you watch the sun rise from behind Bruny Island. The views can be seen from the luxurious recliner lounge, the bed, the two person spa or the two person shower.

The bathroom is awesome. The floor is heated (some parts warmer than others), the two person shower is great and the spa is very comfortable (for two people). A hot spa bath with the windows open is an experience not to be missed.

I could go on forever, but I'd never do this place justice. Every day we noticed something else we were unaware of in the cabin. The features could keep you there forever. We could have honestly stayed longer. I hope we get to go back again.

Room Tip: Cabin #4 is the highest of the cabins and provides excellent privacy and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5c4r3834r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This place certainly has a the wow factor. The accomodation is very high quality and is immaculate and is situated in a quiet location . The views from your accomodation is just spectacular we took in the most amazing sunset and sunset during our stay. Inside the accomodation is a large bathroom with double grey granite shower and a double spa which has beautiful view across the D.Entrecasteau Channel. The accomdation cottages are very quiet, private and have uninteruppted views. The living area is large with the most beautiful stain glass window at one end, we stayed in Myrtle cottage 3. The lounge has a cream leather recliner lounge which is so comfortable, just sit and look out of the window to the beautiful views! The deck that leads from the lounge is large and has a barbeque, the kitchen area is very well appointed and the breakfast supplies are first class, even has a nespresso coffee machine.
We have travelled widely in Australia and overseas and this accomodation is five star in my opinion. We just loved this place. Its an easy 40 minute drive from Hobart and has many nearby restuarants. Highly recommend a stay here, very quiet and relaxing- well the birds are about the only sounds you will hear .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tasannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Woodbridge Hill Hideaway is a great getaway...yet only 40 minutes drive from Hobart. Set on the hillisde, there are 4 beautiful log cabins, all overlooking the D'entrecasteau channel with Bruny Island in the distance. The cabin itself was thoughtfully decked out; from the wood supply for the log fire (great for the cold winter evenings), to the heated slate bathroom floors, large double shower, the spa bath with candles (with bubbly and wine in your wardrobe available for your purchase), to the BBQ on the huge wooden deck. Several brochures are also available in your cabin to provide ideas for your stay, as you relax in the 2 big comfy recliners in the living area.

The kitchen has 2 beautiful windows made by Ruth herself, with casts of seahorses and fish. The fridge is decked out with simple breakfast supplies for your arrival. We stayed 5 nights and only had 6 eggs between the two of us (we had to "fight" over the last egg! :-)))....breakfast supplies aren't replenished so you do have to go and buy your own. Snug Butchers up the road has great black pudding and salmon - the guys in there were lovely and friendly. Cygnet butchers has the tastiest Italian sausages, the bacon was sliced from a big slab and the smoked ham was sooo delicious. Coupled with cheeses from Grandvewe (white pearl persian feta and birch bay blonde were two favorites) and a crusty sourdough loaf from Red Velvet Lounge (also from Cygnet) ...you have yourself a simple lovely meal.

The dark blinds don't block out any of the light, so if you're a light sleeper, you'll be woken up by the sunrise. I've attached a photo of a sunrise one morning....honestly with such beautiful scenery, who would mind being woken up like that? Afterwards you can jump back into the comfy bed and put your electric blanket back on (well...at least for 10 minutes). Eye masks are thoughtfully provided as well.

All the cabins have great views; we stayed in cabin 4 - Black Heart Sassafras - view wise, probably best of the best.

Bring your favorite bottle of bubbly or your favorite beers, soak in the hot spa, open the windows, let the cold air waft in, admire the views....relax....and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elusivechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

My Husband and I stayed for 1 night and I wish we had longer.

The lodge is beautifully decked out, timber furnishings with all the little luxuries.
The spa bath was a standout, large folding windows open out to bring the amazing view in while you soak in the tub.

Loved this place, as it felt like a slice of our own paradise away from it all. Just you, your loved one, a crackling fire, a sensational view and bath you won't want to get out of.

What more could you want!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knomestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
21.4 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
21.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
21.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hotel Bruny
Hotel Bruny
#1 of 4 in Bruny Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Peninsula Experience
3.9 mi away
The Cove Kettering
The Cove Kettering
#1 of 4 in Kettering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbridge Hill Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbridge Hill Hideaway

Property: Woodbridge Hill Hideaway
Address: 369 Woodbridge Hill Rd, Woodbridge, Tasmania 7162, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Woodbridge Hill Hideaway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodbridge Hill Hideaway – your romantic private luxury accommodation South of Hobart with spa and a spectacular view. Each of the self contained Hideaway cabins are luxury travel, with the option to relax in the magnificent heated indoor Woodbridge Hill Pool. You can look across at Bruny Island and the Tasman Peninsular (Port Arthur), indulge in a full complimentary breakfast while watching the birds. Woodbridge is central to a great food and wine region in southern Tasmania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodbridge Hill Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbridge Hill Hideaway Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing