We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese Heaven”

Grandvewe Farm & Cheesery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheese Heaven”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We loved the cheese here and the people there are very friendly. The Blue cheese is especially tasty and have it with the Pinot Paste.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Country-Hopper51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    59
    15
    2
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding hospitality - real artisan experience”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

After a rough start day 1 in Hobart, Nicole brought sunshine to a rainy cold day. Her knowledge of her product, the process and life in general was outstanding. Being a boutique cheesery, people shouldn't expect a range of cheeses, but what they do is quality. The views on a sunny day would be outstanding...and it's worth the trip up the little dirt road (actually the two, since we turned off too early thanks to google maps!). A real artisan experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank keepahgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Day for children”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

After flying from Brisbane with our 5 yr old girl and baby we thought we should get them off on a good start for the holiday so went hunting for somewhere we could take her which she might enjoy so our accommodation had a flyer for Grandvewe. A quick trip from Hobart through very scenic routes.

We got there in the morning but the official shearing time wasn't until the afternoon....no problem they were preparing the rams and sheep for breeding season so my daughter got to see the deft and delicate shearing done for this.

Inside we went and in my impatience to try pecorino I got quickly told not to touch the cheese and they will serve us. Not a good start but it got much better after this. We tried all the cheeses and the mutton. The pecorino was fantastic. So after selecting several cheeses and cider to go we thought we would stop for a coffee, asked if they do skinny, no but that was a good excuse to have full cream. Hubby had a sheep milk coffee. Daughter had a hot chocolate. All very lovely on the back deck.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Rude, crude and unattractive”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We attended the Farm on Easter Sunday. There was a woman serving behind the counter who we think may have been an owner as there were photos of her up everywhere. When we stated that we didn't want to do wine tastings and that we wanted to order food, she condescendingly explained the menu to us. I asked for a skinny flat white and was barked at with "Cow or sheep!" I presumed she meant milk. The food was ordinary and was nothing like any other place we went to in Tasmania. The coffee was woeful, grinds scattered throughout the milk and burnt.
My friend asked this woman for a coke and she barked"We don't serve unhealthy things here". So if you are looking for Healthy Wine and Healthy Chocolate, then this is the place to go.
The only place I experienced attitude and bad customer service in the whole of Tasmania was at this place. I won't recommend this place to anyone. The sheep were very friendly though.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank scooter2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Needed some cheese”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Staying nearby at Woodbridge Hill Hideaway, we wanted some quality cheese to have with our Tassie wine for our dinner we were making with fresh local produce bought in Cygnet. Well worth the visit and the blue was outstanding ... Pity we couldn't bring back a crate load. Not cheap but well worth the price.

Helpful?
Thank Macsontour-whenhecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandvewe Farm & Cheesery also viewed

 
Woodbridge, Tasmania
 

Been to Grandvewe Farm & Cheesery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing