We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
33
12
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews corner cottage bread servants quarters breakfast supplies a great place to stay amanda iga bakery village kitchen accommodation treat garden tasmania apple heating period
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 45 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I recently stayed at the Gingerbread Cottages at Westbury for four nights with husband and son. We booked the two bedroom Corner Cottage. The cottage comprises two roomy bedrooms, large lounge room, eat in kitchen with a washing machine and dryer and bathroom with spa bath. The kitchen was well supplied with great utensils and added extras such as cooking oil, vinegar, sauces and condiments.

The cottage was extremely comfortable and clean, with a selection of magazines and books supplied. Breakfast is supplied (cook yourself) with a choice of cereals, bacon and eggs etc. A loaf of home made bread is supplied daily with jam and other spreads. Fruit cake and home made muffins are also left by the owners.

Other family members rented two of the other cottages in the Gingerbread cottages group and they were all quaint and great value. Westbury is only about 25 minutes from Launceston and is a pretty historical village. These cottages are wonderful value for money and a great alternative to motel accommodation. The website for these cottages is a realistic depiction of the accommodation and the supplied breakfast. John and Karen were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I discovered this beautiful gem through the lonely planets guide for Tasmania, and by far, one of the best stay's we have ever had!

The cottages are all individual, and beautifully restored by the owners, who have decorated these homes impeccably. Sitting by the cosy fire with our afternoon tea - with homemade bread AND jam topped of a beautiful stay.

Set not far out of Launceston, and a day trip up to Cradle Mountain, this is a great spot, with many other gorgeous towns to visit nearby, as well as Mole Creek!

The hosts are just lovely, friendly people, that make you feel so welcome! We wished we had of booked to stay an extra night!

We are planning to go back as soon as we can - and the Gingerbread cottages are definitely on our list to return to!

I highly recommend the corner pub to stop by to warm by the fire and meet some of the lovely towns folk - and of course, the pizza bar make a gorgeous pizza for a lovely dinner!

Upon check-out, my husband had to literally drag me out of the cottages, as I did not want to leave!

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ducati_Girl848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

We stayed at Westbury Gingerbread Cottages (Apple Tree Cottage) for two nights and were completely delighted with all aspects of our stay. Hosts John and Karen were welcoming and provided a warm and individual hospitality. Our cottage was spotlessly clean, comfortable and very well appointed. The breakfast (free range eggs, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, juice, home baked bread, preserves and cereals) was generous and delicious! Karen's homebaked goodies (fruit cake and apple cake) delivered each afternoon were also greatly appreciated. We enjoyed sitting on the back verandah and were visted by the neighbourhood ducks and their three tiny ducklings. The cottage is located within walking distance of attractions, supermarket, butcher and cafe/restaurants. Westbury is quaint and well worth visiting. It is also easy to access a range of other attractions in the area. We loved our time at Apple Tree Cottage and were only disappointed that we didn't book a longer visit!

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jomac96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in the Gingerbread cottage having been told about it by some friends who have stayed on a number of occasions. We weren't disappointed. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly and the cottage, immaculate, cosy and comfortable - it even has a decent shower! You are provided with a delicious cake for afternoon tea and all the ingredients to make yourself an english breakfast each morning. We will definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews