We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly welcome is always a good start”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westbury Gingerbread Cottages
Bendigo, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very friendly welcome is always a good start”
Reviewed May 4, 2010

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights in The Servants Quarters, these cottages are exactly as depicted on the web page. John our host was very friendly and genuinely helpful, some of the other people employed in the tourist industry in Tasmania could take some lessons from him. The bed in particular scores a 10 plus from me, a joy to sleep in and even better than my own bed which is far from the usual when we travel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booboobear60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I recently stayed at the Gingerbread Cottages at Westbury for four nights with husband and son. We booked the two bedroom Corner Cottage. The cottage comprises two roomy bedrooms, large lounge room, eat in kitchen with a washing machine and dryer and bathroom with spa bath. The kitchen was well supplied with great utensils and added extras such as cooking oil, vinegar, sauces and condiments.

The cottage was extremely comfortable and clean, with a selection of magazines and books supplied. Breakfast is supplied (cook yourself) with a choice of cereals, bacon and eggs etc. A loaf of home made bread is supplied daily with jam and other spreads. Fruit cake and home made muffins are also left by the owners.

Other family members rented two of the other cottages in the Gingerbread cottages group and they were all quaint and great value. Westbury is only about 25 minutes from Launceston and is a pretty historical village. These cottages are wonderful value for money and a great alternative to motel accommodation. The website for these cottages is a realistic depiction of the accommodation and the supplied breakfast. John and Karen were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I discovered this beautiful gem through the lonely planets guide for Tasmania, and by far, one of the best stay's we have ever had!

The cottages are all individual, and beautifully restored by the owners, who have decorated these homes impeccably. Sitting by the cosy fire with our afternoon tea - with homemade bread AND jam topped of a beautiful stay.

Set not far out of Launceston, and a day trip up to Cradle Mountain, this is a great spot, with many other gorgeous towns to visit nearby, as well as Mole Creek!

The hosts are just lovely, friendly people, that make you feel so welcome! We wished we had of booked to stay an extra night!

We are planning to go back as soon as we can - and the Gingerbread cottages are definitely on our list to return to!

I highly recommend the corner pub to stop by to warm by the fire and meet some of the lovely towns folk - and of course, the pizza bar make a gorgeous pizza for a lovely dinner!

Upon check-out, my husband had to literally drag me out of the cottages, as I did not want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ducati_Girl848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

We stayed at Westbury Gingerbread Cottages (Apple Tree Cottage) for two nights and were completely delighted with all aspects of our stay. Hosts John and Karen were welcoming and provided a warm and individual hospitality. Our cottage was spotlessly clean, comfortable and very well appointed. The breakfast (free range eggs, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, juice, home baked bread, preserves and cereals) was generous and delicious! Karen's homebaked goodies (fruit cake and apple cake) delivered each afternoon were also greatly appreciated. We enjoyed sitting on the back verandah and were visted by the neighbourhood ducks and their three tiny ducklings. The cottage is located within walking distance of attractions, supermarket, butcher and cafe/restaurants. Westbury is quaint and well worth visiting. It is also easy to access a range of other attractions in the area. We loved our time at Apple Tree Cottage and were only disappointed that we didn't book a longer visit!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomac96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in the Gingerbread cottage having been told about it by some friends who have stayed on a number of occasions. We weren't disappointed. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly and the cottage, immaculate, cosy and comfortable - it even has a decent shower! You are provided with a delicious cake for afternoon tea and all the ingredients to make yourself an english breakfast each morning. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
14.6 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#7 of 30 in Launceston
736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fitzpatrick's Inn
Fitzpatrick's Inn
#1 of 3 in Westbury
37 reviews
19.6 mi away
Mole Creek Cabins
Mole Creek Cabins
#2 of 3 in Mole Creek
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Bowerbank Mill B&B
Bowerbank Mill B&B
#5 of 8 in Deloraine
169 reviews
12.1 mi away
Red Feather Inn
Red Feather Inn
#1 of 1 in Hadspen
128 reviews
9.0 mi away
Arcoona Manor
Arcoona Manor
#2 of 8 in Deloraine
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Gingerbread Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Gingerbread Cottages

Property: Westbury Gingerbread Cottages
Address: 52 William St | Westbury Cottages, Westbury, Tasmania 7303, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Westbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Westbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westbury Gingerbread Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westbury Gingerbread Cottages are a delightful collection of five heritage-listed cottages dating from the 1850's, centrally-located in the historic village of Westbury in northern Tasmania - within easy reach of Launceston airport and the Devonport ferry terminal. All cottages contain their own, individual history and each one offers the convenience of self-catering, with all the mod-cons you'd expect for your stay. Your cottage is styled with period furnishings, in-keeping with the era that the cottages so perfectly represent. Each cottage is appointed with full-kitchen facilities, including cooktop, microwave and full-size fridge; and each one has its own bathroom and laundry facilities, including washing machine and dryer. A digital television, DVD, CD and radio are standard in all our cottages. Explore the inviting spaces your cottage offers, yet take the time to relax and unwind in front of your gas-log fire. The kids aren't forgotten either, with a separate "children's nook" for guests staying in The Old Bakehouse with games, teddy bears and children's books. Or what about staying in the Corner Cottage and taking a relaxing spa. Guests in The Servant's Quarters can enjoy the cosy atmosphere of the fire, while absorbing the atmosphere, seated on their leather lounge or snoozing in the 4-poster bed; while The Gingerbread Cottage offers a relaxing verandah for you to admire your secluded garden; or Apple Tree Cottage with lovely garden of camellias, roses and 5 types of apple trees. The Westbury Gingerbread Cottages offer a central, spacious courtyard and 4-burner BBQ for the exclusive use of our guests. Feel free to pick your selection of seasonal produce from our herb and vegetable gardens in the courtyard, while you relax at the picnic tables, sampling the local wares from your day. For your convenience, we offer off-street parking directly adjacent to the cottages.All our guests enjoy a daily selection of teas and coffees (including plunger coffee) and home-baked "goodies" - which may include fruit cake, muffins or our popular gingerbread men (naturally). There is also an option to add provisions for a full breakfast - bacon, eggs, tomatoes, cereals, juice, home-baked bread, spreads and homemade jams - which will be replenished each day. Discover the delights of Westbury, established in the 1820's as a garrison town and nestled in the Meander Valley at the base of the inspiring Great Western Tiers mountains. Many local attractions can be explored with several self-guided walks - available from our Reception - including the Village Green, Town Common, Westbury Maze, Pearn's Steam World and many historic buildings, such as wood-fired bakery, churches and coach-inns. Take a short drive to local wineries, hand-made Belgian chocolate shoppe, cherry farm, honey farm, raspberry farm, salmon and ginseng farm - all with inviting retail outlets and cafes. For the more adventurous, less than 40min drive-away is are wild-life parks (with Tasmanian Devils), Launceston's famous Cataract Gorge, glow-worm caves, artist studios; and many bush walks, ranging from 1hr to full-day hikes. The Westbury Gingerbread Cottages is the ideal base to explore all that this wonderful region has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Westbury Gingerbread Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Gingerbread Cottages Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing