We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westbury Gingerbread Cottages
Reviewed May 3, 2012

From the very begining we were made to feel special, making the booking through to arrival John and Karen kept in touch to ensure we had a everything we needed. Once there the cottage we chose 'Servants Quarters' was all we had hoped for, cosy, warm and clean. The furnishings are in keeping with a period cottage but with the modern requirements, big King bed, HD TV, gas log fire and a kitchenette. The apples growing in the court yard delish as were the herbs and veg at our disposal in the garden bed. A very pleasant stay in a gorgeous historical village.

Room Tip: Servants Quarters has the King Bed and a quiet court yard to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mistyblue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 40 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the Old Bakery , excellent stay, Large cottage with upstairs bedrooms and a large bedroom downstairs, full of character , yet cosy and comfortable and warm even during acold snap! Our host John was helpful from first point of contact booking with lots of helpful info and we were treated to yummy home baked cakes and cookies from Karen. Good facilities in cottage including laundry , off street parking, barbecue and courtyard, well equipped kitchen with microwave and hotplate but no oven . The cottages are off the main road in historic village precinct. Westbury has a pharamcy and good supermarket. We dined one night at the Fitzpatricks Inn and was surprised by the quality of the dishes. Would happily stay again .

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tardustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed as family of 4 in The Old Bakehouse in January. We loved the history and character of this house. To look in the kitchen and know it used to be the bread oven was fascinating. The owners have kept the character and furnished with antiques while also providing all mod cons.
A great experience for us all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed for 3 nites at the Old Bakehouse, using Westbury as our base to explore the many attractions nearby. The cottage was very well equipped for cooking, even washing machine and dryer. John plied us with home baked bread, cookies, fruit cakes, full breakfast provisions and was extremely friendly and helpful. We truly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in Gingerbread Cottage, self catering. It is very qaint with numerous old items displayed and "old" furniture. Sitting room chairs and bed could be of a better quality. There is a step down/up from the sitting room into the kitchen, and steps into the cottage, this could be a problem for anyone with limited mobility. The owner John is very friendly and helpful and brings the breakfast supplies each day, I think this should be offered as a option to having all breakfast supplies for the whole stay left in the fridge. Homemade condiments are a nice touch. A pity that there was cobwebs above hotplates and in toilet and bedroom. Missed having a dishwasher - could be hidden behind kitchen cupboard door and make the stay more relaxing. Road was noisy at times with trucks.

Room Tip: Gingerbread Cottage is only for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bern56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

This was recommended to us and was excellent. The cottage is in the middle of the village near the village green. Whilst a bit twee, the cottage was very comfortable . What made it for us was the excellent service. On arrival the owner asked us what type of bread he should cook us ! We put in our order and several hours later he came back with the home baked bread, not to mention the cake and the full breakfast provisions. Cottage was clean and fresh with a really neat little garden.


You get breakfast in the tarriff


Walk around the village. It how I imagine England might look. Enormous village green with Elmtrees.

Only problem was there seems to be few places to eat out in Westbury
Very comfortable with good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Doctor042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights in The Servants Quarters, these cottages are exactly as depicted on the web page. John our host was very friendly and genuinely helpful, some of the other people employed in the tourist industry in Tasmania could take some lessons from him. The bed in particular scores a 10 plus from me, a joy to sleep in and even better than my own bed which is far from the usual when we travel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booboobear60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
0.6 mi away
Fitzpatrick's Inn
Fitzpatrick's Inn
#1 of 3 in Westbury
38 reviews
19.6 mi away
Mole Creek Cabins
Mole Creek Cabins
#1 of 3 in Mole Creek
99 reviews
12.5 mi away
Discovery Parks - Hadspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quamby Estate
Quamby Estate
#1 of 2 in Hagley
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elm Wood
Elm Wood
#2 of 3 in Westbury
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbury Gingerbread Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Gingerbread Cottages

Address: 52 William St | Westbury Cottages, Westbury, Tasmania 7303, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Westbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Westbury
Price Range: $117 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westbury Gingerbread Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westbury Gingerbread Cottages are a delightful collection of five heritage-listed cottages dating from the 1850's, centrally-located in the historic village of Westbury in northern Tasmania - within easy reach of Launceston airport and the Devonport ferry terminal. All cottages contain their own, individual history and each one offers the convenience of self-catering, with all the mod-cons you'd expect for your stay. Your cottage is styled with period furnishings, in-keeping with the era that the cottages so perfectly represent. Each cottage is appointed with full-kitchen facilities, including cooktop, microwave and full-size fridge; and each one has its own bathroom and laundry facilities, including washing machine and dryer. A digital television, DVD, CD and radio are standard in all our cottages. Explore the inviting spaces your cottage offers, yet take the time to relax and unwind in front of your gas-log fire. The kids aren't forgotten either, with a separate "children's nook" for guests staying in The Old Bakehouse with games, teddy bears and children's books. Or what about staying in the Corner Cottage and taking a relaxing spa. Guests in The Servant's Quarters can enjoy the cosy atmosphere of the fire, while absorbing the atmosphere, seated on their leather lounge or snoozing in the 4-poster bed; while The Gingerbread Cottage offers a relaxing verandah for you to admire your secluded garden; or Apple Tree Cottage with lovely garden of camellias, roses and 5 types of apple trees. The Westbury Gingerbread Cottages offer a central, spacious courtyard and 4-burner BBQ for the exclusive use of our guests. Feel free to pick your selection of seasonal produce from our herb and vegetable gardens in the courtyard, while you relax at the picnic tables, sampling the local wares from your day. For your convenience, we offer off-street parking directly adjacent to the cottages.All our guests enjoy a daily selection of teas and coffees (including plunger coffee) and home-baked "goodies" - which may include fruit cake, muffins or our popular gingerbread men (naturally). There is also an option to add provisions for a full breakfast - bacon, eggs, tomatoes, cereals, juice, home-baked bread, spreads and homemade jams - which will be replenished each day. Discover the delights of Westbury, established in the 1820's as a garrison town and nestled in the Meander Valley at the base of the inspiring Great Western Tiers mountains. Many local attractions can be explored with several self-guided walks - available from our Reception - including the Village Green, Town Common, Westbury Maze, Pearn's Steam World and many historic buildings, such as wood-fired bakery, churches and coach-inns. Take a short drive to local wineries, hand-made Belgian chocolate shoppe, cherry farm, honey farm, raspberry farm, salmon and ginseng farm - all with inviting retail outlets and cafes. For the more adventurous, less than 40min drive-away is are wild-life parks (with Tasmanian Devils), Launceston's famous Cataract Gorge, glow-worm caves, artist studios; and many bush walks, ranging from 1hr to full-day hikes. The Westbury Gingerbread Cottages is the ideal base to explore all that this wonderful region has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westbury Gingerbread Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Gingerbread Cottages Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing