We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revised Travel Warning”
Review of Elm Wood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elm Wood
Ranked #2 of 3 Westbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2011

This is Part 2 of a review commenced on November 19, 2010.

In the Old Testament, Job's complaint is met with the power and majesty of God and he responds: "I lay my hand on my mouth. I have spoken once, and I will not answer; twice, but I will proceed no further."

I spoke once - but I must speak once more. I wrote a review of Elm Wood having never set foot in the rooms. A booking issue meant we never got to stay. Now we have been and what a stay it was. This is a beautiful place to relax and unwind. After being greeted by Diana with flowers in her hand, we were treated to a tour of the gardens by Gil complete with raspberry tasting and a brief history of this extraordinary B & B.

We enjoyed the very tasteful and old world charm of the luxury downstairs suite with plenty of room to move for two - spacious bathroom and the most comfortable bed I have slept in away from home. The place was designed for the owners to live in and it feels that way - there is nothing over-starched and commercial about this place. Just comfortable, elegant living with an eye for detail.

Breakfast is very relaxed - if you like the overly attentive and fussy excesses of the corporate hotel, you will be disappointed. Gil and Diana convey an air that you are friends staying overnight at their house and conversation is the order of the day with self-serve and tour recommendations the order of the morning. Listen to them here - they know. Especially the suggestion to check out Reliquaire in nearby La Trobe, the most curious shop you will ever see. Set aside half a day to explore - this guest was very dubious with Gil's suggestion but delighted upon heeding his advice.

In short, this is a great place to lazily while away a few days - and we will be back.

But we will still ring first!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangersteg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Elm Wood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 44 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2011

We arrived on Christmas Eve. Stayed in Linden Cottage. It was clean, tastefully decorated. King size bed and comfortable. The woodfire was a real treat. The hosts were the most delightful, helpful people. Gil and Diana were the perfect hosts and have interesting tales to tell. Each morning at breakfast , Gil our host gave each new arrival and guests daily recommendations on places to visit. Our recommendations were always well received and accurate. Advice on restaurants was also excellent.The food was excellent with home grown fruits served. Local cheeses. (Highly recommended The Black Cow in Launceston).
It is located within easy distance to Cradle Mountain, (we had snow!)Launceston, Longford, Tamar Valley, Marakoopa Caves,Burnie,Deloraine, 41 degrees South Salmon Farm and Three Willows Vineyard and much more. Car is recommended to enjoy day trips and the beautiful scenery along the way. Our friends are already interested in bookings.
Margie and Lindsay, Brisbane, Australia

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed in Elm Wood Classic B&B for three nights in December 2010. We loved the house and its hosts Gil and Diane who were most hospitable. The rooms were nice and comfortable. Bed was very good and King Size. Breakfast was very cozy and an opportunity to meet and chat with other guests. Also Gil and Diane will give you advice on how to get most of your day and see some local attractions. Allthough we had breakfast at 8:30, it is also possible to have earlier (or later) breakfast. We can recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone who is looking for a piece of home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed this character laden b/b with interesting hosts, a sunny garden, well situated in quiet surrounds. We particularly savoured the bountiful breakfast spread [with all those interesting breads] shared with fellow guests and our hosts. Well done Diana and Gil. Westbury is well situated for touring northern Tasmania.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happygourmets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I've no idea how good the accommodation is. The place looked very pleasant and well maintained. An unfortunate irony for the owners was that while they were away on the Saturday receiving an award for their B & B, we booked that morning requiring last minute accommodation due to a bereavement. Their site registered availability so we went ahead.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted with the news that they had accepted later bookings ahead of ours, having not checked the website. Actually, when we arrived no-one answered the door and we entered in time to overhear the owners having a heated phone exchange about who was going to ring us with the bad news. Clearly neither wanted the unfortunate job.

Cold and wet standing on the porch of the residence, we were obviously inconvenient but were treated to a couple of cursory phone calls upon our request for same. No availability in Westbury, but "Deloraine will have lots of vacancies". Reluctantly head to Deloraine upon which we discovered no vacancies after 3 or 4 attempts and resolved to go to Devonport, arriving hungry and exhausted around 8:30 pm.

Our advice: ring first and confirm. Two questions from me:

1. Why have a website if you are not conversant with its operation and the pitfalls?
2. Why not have an alternate plan for when these things go awry as may happen? An average run-of-the-mill motel may make a cursory attempt to assist in this situation, but surely an "award winning B & B" would bend over backwards to help.

We were clearly an inconvenience!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dangersteg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cidah, Owner at Elm Wood, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2010

We do appreciate all of our guest feedback, and endeavour to respond with change as and where required. Clearly this experience of our guests was very bad for us both.

There are always two sides to any situation, so let me explain the circumstances:

We are rarely ever away from Elm Wood (except for the daily shopping trip). However, we were finalists in two categories of the 2010 Tasmanian Tourism Awards. The awards were announced at a function in Hobart (at the other end of the Island) that we attended the night before the unfortunate incident described in this review. Only two of our rooms were booked, and these were for guests staying multiple nights – so we spent some time in Hobart enjoying the Museum and Art Gallery as well as Salamanca Market. While driving back to Westbury (we arrived back around 6.30pm) we had two phone calls asking whether we had availability that night. In the event we sold both rooms and on returning back, immediately prepared the rooms for guests due to arrive at any time (these rooms had been occupied by guests the previous night).

I then check our emails to find that “dangersteg1” had made a booking for one of these rooms that very morning, while we were in Hobart. I asked Diana to call them to explain the problem and I was met with resistance from a very tired wife! Diana tried three local accommodation places in Westbury but all were fully booked. She then suggested that the couple continue on to Deloraine where there are many properties offering rooms. However it seems that there was some major event on in Deloraine, of which we were unaware, and that was the reason for the late rush to book that we experienced as we drove back.

Our guests are never an inconvenience!

1. We should have persisted, despite how tired we both were, until we had found a suitable alternative accommodation
a. This is now firmly embedded in our procedures

2. I had heard of a way to configure MS Outlook to send alerts to my phone when off premises – with this in place I would have known about “dangersteg1’s” booking.
a. I have now made the necessary changes to my email system

We have offered “dangersteg1” a complimentary night in our luxury spa suite when they are next in the north of the state, so that they will be in a position to comment on just how good this accommodation really is.

Gil & Diana Stokes
Owner/Operators

PS We were awarded the annual People’s Choice Award (from a field of 1000 accredited tourism operators in Tasmania) at the function in Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

What a beautiful location and fantastic hosts. We stayed two nights in Linden Cottage and loved it, such a beautiful location and the autumn leaves made it all the more beautiful. Gil and Diana are so welcoming and friendly they make you feel very much at home, even kissed and hugs when leaving. We enjoyed the slow and non rushed breakfasts chatting to our hosts and getting tips and ideas of what to see and do.

A "must stay" on our return trip to Tassie. Thank you again Gil and Diana - it was our pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed in Linden Cottage, very comfortable and private, with attention to detail throughout. Breakfasts are an experience, a great range of good quality breakfast ingredients, shared with the other guests and Dianna and Gil. Trips were planned for the day and information about the area exchanged at breakfast, with Gil & Dianna a great source of information about walks, gardens, museums, drives, eating, etc.

We really enjoyed our 4 nights, the accommodation and the wonderful country complimenting each other.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
9.1 mi away
Hawthorn Villa Stables
Hawthorn Villa Stables
#1 of 1 in Carrick
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westbury Gingerbread Cottages
0.7 mi away
Fitzpatrick's Inn
Fitzpatrick's Inn
#1 of 3 in Westbury
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Wood

Address: 10 Lonsdale Prom, Westbury, Tasmania, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Westbury
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Hotel Class:4 star — Elm Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful home and two cottages on a 1½ acre tapestry bordered by hawthorn hedges, home to a botanical garden’s worth of magnificent 100 year-old European trees and wedged between the Village Green and the Town Common. They live in Holly cottage and have opened Elm House and Linden Cottage to their guests. Elm Wood is 30 minutes from the Launceston Airport and 45 minutes from the Devonport Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Elm Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Wood Westbury, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing