We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint cottages in Westbury”
Review of Elm Wood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elm Wood
Ranked #2 of 3 Westbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We were fortunate to be upgraded to the Linden Cottage on this property. This cottage was under the Linden tree, thus where it got its name from.
The owners of Elm Wood were pleasant and helpful and could not do enough for us. Directed us to were we could eat and we enjoyed a Thai meal at the local hotel.
We were not rushed to check out. The owners joined us for breakfast in the common room and were a wealth of information regarding the local area and sights to see on our return to Hobart. Many of which we took in, unfortunately time was against us to enjoy all there was to offer.

Their pet staffy also made us feel very welcome.

I would highly recommend anyone to stay at this quaint friendly establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed in Elm Wood during our days off work and we fell in love with this B&B and the hosts Gil and Diane feel like family!! Everything from the room to the gardens to the welcome far exceeded our expectations! This place feels like a loving home and it feels like yours while you are staying there. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was amazing with Diane's Jams and other goodies. Thank you Gil and Diane for opening up your home to us and welcoming us.
We will be definitely back!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenslanders0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We needed a night on the way back to Launceston and thought that this sounded nice. A widely travelled business consultant and his wife decided to turn over part of their home for a B&B. Words such as delightful, cosy and luxury were used. Sure, sure. We've stayed at a few B&Bs where that was stated and nowhere near delivered.

Well, this was a very pleasant surprise. Every word is valid and I'm sure that there are a few that were missed in the brochure. Simply lovely. Large rooms with large beds and great bathrooms. Gil & Diana were very charming hosts and the huge variety of cereals, mueslis, fruits etc for beakfast was terrific. There was even a decanter of port in the room for a nightcap, as well as a ferrero roche chocolate. Now that is a first!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Coylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elm Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Wood

Address: 10 Lonsdale Prom, Westbury, Tasmania 7303, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Westbury
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Hotel Class:4 star — Elm Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful home and two cottages on a 1½ acre tapestry bordered by hawthorn hedges, home to a botanical garden’s worth of magnificent 100 year-old European trees and wedged between the Village Green and the Town Common. They live in Holly cottage and have opened Elm House and Linden Cottage to their guests. Elm Wood is 30 minutes from the Launceston Airport and 45 minutes from the Devonport Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Elm Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Wood Westbury, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing