We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located”

Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ulverstone
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well located”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A very well located accommodation right in the heart of Ulverstone, with reasonable rooms. The resaturant looked very popular with local families and although this meant a lot of screaming from the kid's play area, the food looked to be good value. The cleaning and maintenance staff do fall short a little.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJDoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
The Lighthouse Hotel is well located in the center of town. Our bistro & kids playroom is popular, but the playroom is only open during meal times, so no 'screaming kids' the rest of the day.
We have checked the room you stayed in and cannot find any particular area that needs maintenance, but we apologise, if on the night you visited, our services were not up to the standard we aspire to.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    24
    0
    5
See reviews for
11
21
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The photos looked okay so I booked for a one night stay. I'm not sure if I just got a really bad room but everything had stains on it and felt very unclean and its ontop of a bar/pub so is quite loud with a train track behind the hotel also. Would definitely not go back especially as a single traveller it felt unsafe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaytraveller989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at The Lighthouse Hotel. Especially your comments about 'stains' on everything. We do not consider our rooms & fittings are in such bad repair that warrant these comments. The accommodation is over a licensed bar area & some patrons are noisier than others, so sorry if you stayed on a 'noisy night'. The trains are about a block away & don't run all night. There has never been an issue with house guest safety. It is regrettable that you did not have a pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ulverstone hotels

Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Couldn't say enough accolades about the friendly staff, especially Kellie the duty manager.
We asked for a change of room as the front room was a little near the main street and you could hear the traffic lights beeping all night.
But without any trouble Kellie had us moved to another room straight away.
Breakfast was very good value (plenty of it) and cheaper than anywhere we have been. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the shower was powerful enough to sting. Plenty of promotional material at the front desk and staff were eager to help.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davemacchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Thanks Joanne. Unfortunately, in the center of town, some rooms have no real view, but at least you got a bigger bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My family and I stayed here one night. Our room had no windows making it hot and stuffy, we had to leave the ceiling fan on all night which was noisy. My daughters were looking forward to having a spa but it was out of order. The hotel had a great play area for children. The Hotel was in a great location only a few minutes walking distance to several fast food places and 2 supermarkets 2 bakeries news agency and many more shops.

Room Tip: When making your reservation be sure to ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oompstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After reading some negative reviews we weren't expecting much from a $79 double room, certainly not a clean, spacious room and a very quiet night.
Other than some marks on the walls the room, bathroom and linen were absolutely spotless. The bathroom was spacious and only had one fault: the soap dish holder wouldn't stay horizontal and there was no other shelf in the shower.
Rooms are set up for guests to eat and relax elsewhere, although a mini fridge, kettle and toaster are provided. They are located upstairs around a central indoor bistro area which serves meals until 8pm.
Handy distance to the Devonport Ferry (less than 25 minutes drive), quiet night's sleep and pleasant reception staff mean we will definitely stay at the Lighthouse if in the Devonport area again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minty_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Lighthouse Hotel in Ulverstone while weekending in Tasmania. Although a litlle tied in parts it was good value and worth a revisit. The staff were excellant. The meals were mixed quality, poor on the first night and very good on the second.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caerlaverock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The Lighthouse was a good option for a Spirit of Tasmania stay. Catching the day trip the next morning, the Gateway at Devonport (another cheap option) was fully booked. Forty dollars cheaper per couple, the Lighthouse was an adequate alternative of similar basic standard. Only 20 kms to the port - it was a simple trip to catch the boat to Melbourne. Some water damage and needing a more thorough dust, the bed was firm but comfortable - a quiet room with little to disturb us although the accommodation is directly above the bistro which was loudly tidied until 9:30. Not a problem for us but families with small children may find it frustrating.

The bistro had some overpriced attempts at gourmet - overlooked with tired veggies including boiled cabbage (really?).

If you're not fussy this is a good alternative - good price and fine for a night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dangersteg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverstone
9.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
482 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
9.8 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#5 of 5 in Devonport
110 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone

Property: Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
Address: 33 Victoria Street | Ulverstone, Ulverstone, Tasmania 7315, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Ulverstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ulverstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Hotel is in Ulverstone's main street. Waling distance to all local amenities. 10-15 minutes walk to the beach. Children playroom off the Atrium Bistro, open 7 days for meals - lunch & dinner.En suite rooms with one executive suite available and adjoining family rooms.Gaming Room and Tote facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing