We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ulverstone River Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachway(Ulverstone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
21
6
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinebeautiful viewtown centrekayakdeckapartmentupstairscompactrelaxationaccommodationbathroombonustasmaniamicrowavebedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 28 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A lovely place to stay for an extremely relaxing holiday. The accommodation was comfortable and had everything we needed. The bonuses included the river, the kayaks, the grassy slope covered in tiny flowers, the easy drive into the pretty towns of Penguin and Ulverstone, and the extremely helpful and kind Tony and Val.

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in the spacious mezzanine, our two teenage daughters enjoyed sleeping in the detached cabin - tiny but nice for them to have their own separate space.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy110222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A massive thanks to Tony and Val who made our stay over Christmas 2013 one to remember. Val had decorated our apartment (the Mezzanine) with Christmas decorations which was a really nice touch and for the entire stay, nothing was too much trouble.

The accommodation was well fitted out and was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. At this place, you cannot help but relax. It is right on the river, and sitting out on the deck with a cold beer, overlooking the water, and watching the kids play in the huge open area was the perfect way to start our Christmas holiday.

There are three kayaks which are available to everyone, and Tony was even kind enough to fill the little boat up with fuel so we could go for a cruise along the river. The golf course is about a one minute drive for those that want a hit too.

It is only a five minute drive into Ulverstone and has easy access to the highway when it's (unfortunately) time to leave.

Spot on.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Lovely location by the river but close enough to town. Our apartment was immaculate and well maintained and it's a pity we could only stay for one night. We had our 7yr old and a 3yr old with us in The Loft Apartment which was suitable for our needs for one night however, one of the other apartments would be more suitable for a longer stay. Loved the balcony with views to the river and the canoes/kayaks would be great fun in summer. I would definately recommend it as a couples retreat and for families with older children who are more 'water wise' than our two littlies! Fantastic hidden gem! Well done.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank KJK880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very comfortable place to stay in a lovely location. I stayed in the loft for only one night whilst travelling for work and found it to be a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Spacious and beautifully fitted out with a few extra touches not found in standard accommodation nearby. Having a view of the river & bush also a big plus. Only 5 minutes drive into town for a meal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkJCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. We were travelling my two daughters and parents so we booked both apartments. Both were immaculately clean, stylish, comfortable, with beautiful views of the Leven River, all the comforts of home, and added personal touches too. Tony and Val are exceptional hosts. They were helpful in giving directions, recommending places to visit, and ensuring our stay was perfect. They set up a cot and a small bed (which my 3 yo thought was great) for our two daughters and also gave us some toys for them to enjoy during our stay.
We loved enjoying a vino on the deck in the afternoon, watching (and chasing) the resident duck, and paddling down the river in the kayaks.
The Retreat is not far from the town centre of Ulverstone (6mins drive), Pelican (10mins), Devonport or Latrobe (about 20 mins).
There is lots to do in the area and also a great place to relax. Tony and Val told us about Reliquare (at Latrobe) which is a must do, absolutely amazing shop that you can spend hours in!
If you are driving from/to Launceston be sure to stop at Anvers Chocolate factory, Ashgrove cheese factory (our little girl loved all the painted cows), and the raspberry farm.
An absolute pleasure to stay here and will definitely return when down that way again. Thanks Tony and Val for such a beautiful, tranquil, and serene place to stay at an afforable rate!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrinaP05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews