We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B not for the young traveller”

B & B at Winterbrook
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B & B at Winterbrook
Ranked #2 of 6 Ulverstone B&B and Inns
Whistler, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A B&B not for the young traveller”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

On arrival to Winterbrook we were treated as more of an inconvenience than anything else. We were given attitude as to arrive at a time that conflicted with our host's schedule. We observed a sign at the front door stating no shoes allowed, however that was contradicted by our host who asked us to take off ours, yet walked the house with hers still on. We were shown the bedroom and promptly told not to sleep on the satin pillows covering the bed, as they were special and shouldn't be slept on. The complimentary toiletries were of a low standard and the bathroom small. Throughout the house were signs informing guests that everything was private, and not to touch without asking. We felt as though we were not wanted and more of an inconvenience than a guest should be treated. Perhaps this accommodation and its hosts are more suited to older travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DWebley89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterbrook, Owner at B & B at Winterbrook, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
It's a shame how some people interpret what you say to them. Our other reviews say everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
18
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rotorua
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This accommodation was up with the best we experienced in Tasmania.five star in all departments and thr breakfast was superb.Friendly and helpful hosts who are a credit to the industry.Many thanks for a great 3 days.Alf & Rena Hoyle Rotorua NZ

Room Tip: the cottage is just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tikitapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in the cottage for 3 nights. The room and bathroom are HUGE and pristine. Although the cottage is not heritage style on the outside, the inside has been expertly furnished with a great TV and sound system. The bed was very comfy. The grounds immaculate. Breakfast provisions were adequate. There is no wi-fi and my phone carrier had poor reception. The B&B is in a residential suburb - a fair walk to the beach and town.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed for two nights over the weekend and we were highly impressed at the standard of the accommodation. We stayed in the cottage, which had all we could ask for, for a weekend, and was immaculately decorated and spotless! Breakfast provisions were certainly sufficient and enough for 2-3 days with the two of us. Winterbrook is close enough to town but still very quiet. Gardens and property were beautiful and a pleasure to stay at. Thank you for a lovely weekend!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank krissylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We chose the cottage as we like to be self-contained when on a business trip. From the moment we stepped into the cottage we knew that quality was paramount with Tony and Wendy. The cottage was bright and airy and beautifully maintained. Everything had been thought of which made our stay a real pleasure. The bed was so comfy too meaning a really good nights sleep - a must when away from home.
We will certainly recommend B&B at Winterbrook and when we are next in Ulverstone, this will be the place for us to stay again.

Room Tip: Choose which ever room you like. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISTechnology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Very good accomodation, a typical B&B with a family. . Good Breakfast. Not far from the town, which has a pleasant small town feel. Set in a nice garden the house is very traditional.

Can visit Cradle Mountain and other beautiful sites without difficulty. Roads are excellent

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyril-Mundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Spent our first night in Tasmania here, charming hosts, super comfy immaculate room in a wonderfully restored and decorated heritage home. Breakfast prepared and presented with great care, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverstone
0.6 mi away
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
#3 of 3 in Ulverstone
59 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boscobel of Ulverstone Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Westella
Westella
#4 of 6 in Ulverstone
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B at Winterbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B at Winterbrook

Property: B & B at Winterbrook
Address: 28 Eastland drive, Ulverstone, Tasmania 7315, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Ulverstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — B & B at Winterbrook 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winterbrook is an 1880’s heritage-listed home with wide verandas surrounded by over an acre of established trees and gardens offering the perfect getaway for couples. Guests have use of the private lounge, perfect for spending a winter’s night by a cosy fire, and elegantly furnished rooms with either an en-suite or separate private bathroom. Centrally located to explore the Northwest wineries, the spectacular coast or the rugged inland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your B & B at Winterbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B & B At Winterbrook Ulverstone, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing