We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must place to Stay on the North West Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Ulverstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A must place to Stay on the North West Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This place is a gem, Christine and Jeff are excellent host and very helpful in any way they can, our room was terrific and the bed was very comfortable. Our breakfast was a typical English breakfast and was cooked to perfection. If you are visiting Ulverstone this place is five star in my book.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the guest house for 2 nights. Jeff and Chrissie could not be more welcoming.Jeffs knowledge of the local area was very hepful.At the same time they left us to ourselves unless we approached them so we didnt feel they were sitting around waiting for us.Their living quarters are at the back of the house so the guests have the use of a sitting room although we didnt use it as we had our own anyway.
We had a bedroom, sitting room and bathroom. Well furnished if a little fussy for me. Lots of lace and ornaments which do mean that surfaces are not really usable. I was worried I might knock something off.But very comfortable and homey. The Port and Chocolates went down well too.
Each day all towels are changed and there is a complimentary continental breakfast. We had the gourmet one on our last day which was great and kept us going most of the day.
Well posioned for the North West Coast. Food difficult on a Sunday evening in the local area. Most restaurants nearby seemed closed. Need to book.
The beach although nearby just across the road isn't as accessible as we thought.A railway line runs between the road and beach.
A gread place to stay
.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My elderly Mother and I stayed to the Moonlight Bay Guest House in July 2013. It was cold, windy and raining when we arrived, but Christine and Jeff's welcome made us feel at home. The Guest House is modern with very traditional English decor. We were impressed with the attention to detail such as the luxury fabric doonas, thick towels and comfortable beds. My Mum slept in the four poster with elaborate lace canopy and she felt like a Queen. My annex room had a sofa bed, television .. and a chandelier! The communal lounge with separate dining area was full of comfortable sofas, lots of decoration and a fabulous view over Bass Straight. This is a great place to locate yourself for 3 - 4 days whilst exploring the North West. Christine said the penguins come into shore late at night. I thought I heard them arrive around 2am - but it could have been the complimentary port before bedtime.
Debra and Mum

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oatlands, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is our third stay at Moonlight Bay B&B with our Hosts Jeff and Chritine. They provide as always everything for our comfort. The location is magic with beautiful vistas. There are so many things to do in and around Ulverstone, it's a great starting place for day trips and in the evening a great choice of local restaurants. The Decor is amazing with a nautical flavour because of Jeff's background in service at sea. All rooms and common areas are excellently appointed. So many other interesting things are there to chat about. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfast choice is great. It's a wonderful romantic spot.
The only downside is that at some time you have to leave this little bit of paradise and return to reality.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderfully appointed and clean and tidy on both levels. Clean fresh ocean air makes t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

The overgrown gardens are a bit off putting when you first arrive, tends to give you the impression that the place is run down.
How ever the inside is completely the opposite, very clean and tidy, even if a bit tizzy.
The room we were in was very well presented and maintained.
The owners were very friendly and helpful,even though the property is for sale..
Did not try the full English breakfast on offer at an extra charge, as we opted for the included continental breakfast instead.
Other than meeting the owners when we first arrived, you would not know they were there as they did not disturb you at all, but were only a call away.
Definitely a good place for a quiet relaxing time or as a base to explore the surrounding country side.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kingcheeseAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and selected this place on line depending with Trip advisor's reviews. We had a great time in the lap of luxury! This was an immaculate place with every thought possible put into decorating the rooms for the comfort, enjoyment and the needs of any guest. From the binoculars hanging by the sliding door to the port and chocolates on the bedside table to the umbrella shaded outdoor informal dining on the balcony overlooking the sea. This Guest house is located right across the road from the sea but was quiet and peaceful. There was a lounge and dining area for the use of guests also decorated to world class standards. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Its a great base for trips to Cradle Mt, Burnie (Fern Glade to view platypus in the wild), Stanley, Wynyard, Gunns plains caves, Leven Gorge, etc. and you must try the bakery in Penguin! We had a lovely view of the coastline from our rooms and could hear the penguins just after dusk while we were there. We used the balcony for dining one evening and it was very pleasant sitting overlooking the bay while eating our takeaway meal. A substancial continental breakfast awaited in our fridge each day which we could eat at our convenience. We highly recommend this place. Thanks Christine and Jeff!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambewarra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Moonlight Bay Guest House is a wonderful escape for couples. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and unforgettable. From first class service at breakfast to the glass of port and chocolates in the evening you'll be really spoilt. A lovely welcome change with old worlde charm in a very nice setting close enough to main attractions to use as a base for touring the area or an overnight stay before catching the ferry to Melbourne. Just wished we could have stayed longer. Could not fault this Guest House.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverstone
4.2 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
Lighthouse Hotel Ulverstone
#3 of 3 in Ulverstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
11.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.5 mi away
B & B at Winterbrook
B & B at Winterbrook
#2 of 6 in Ulverstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
16.1 mi away
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House

Property: Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House
Address: 139 Penguin Rd, Ulverstone, Tasmania 7315, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Ulverstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonlight Bay Guest House is a luxurious romantic oceanfront B&B situated on the magnificent scenic coastal drive between the charming seaside towns of Ulverstone and Penguin on the beautiful North West Coast of Tasmania. It offers luxurious romantic rooms with lace canopy four-poster beds with lovely ensuites with claw bath or double spa and stunning sea views.Within a five minute drive to quality restaurants,cafe's and shopping, and close to all the major tourist attractions in the beautiful North West of Tasmania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Bay B&B Guest House Ulverstone, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing