We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful decor in a heritage house, very welcoming host”
Review of Redcliffe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redcliffe House
Ranked #5 of 8 Swansea B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Redcliffe House property is something different from the sometimes sterile hotels you normally stay in. The host, Gail, was super friendly and full of smiles, so you definitely feel comfortable and welcome. We originally booked for the small room, but Gail gave us an upgrade to the larger room since it wasn't being used anyway, which was a great surprise! The decor in this house is beautiful, with little things to make it feel very homely.

The property has a broad collection of DVDs to borrow, along with books, but what I liked most was the garden around the property. They have a vineyard with a lot of chickens and ducks waddling around, plus a random sheep! It was great to wake up and go for a little stroll and see them roaming around.

Location wise - it's a bit further out from the main Swansea town, so you won't be able to walk around to restaurants or the town centre. But it's only a short drive away.

The only unpleasant note would be that there was a slight "toilet" smell in the room, coming from the ensuite bathroom. I'm not sure if this is normal as they use a septic tank? It is noticeable, but not that bad as we simply closed the bathroom door when not using it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 122 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

What a delightful and peaceful place to stay! So impress for every details of the decoration of the room and the garden. Nice hosts great hospitality. It is definitely unforgettable experience! Just remember don't order too much for the brekkie as the portion is big lol

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The property is beautifully appointed and immaculate. Our room was so comfortable and breakfast was amazing. The proprietor Gail was very warm and welcoming. There's a lounge with books, magazines and DVDs - even port and sherry to enjoy! Great location if you're planning a trip up the East Coast and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Our one night in Swansea was made very comfortable by our hosts and accommodation at Redcliffe! The bedroom was well appointed, with lovely views over the cute little farm area (complete with crowing rooster!) Breakfast was hearty & plentiful. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank shesmilesweetly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We spent five wonderful days at this B&B in early March 2014 - it's fair to say that our hosts (Gail and Nigel) couldn't do enough for us. Honestly. We loved it.

Comfy bed - tick! Good shower - tick! Great breakfast included - tick! Service plus friendliness equals fabulous stay, in our opinion! Gail and Nigel are all to happy to provide helpful tourist information. Very useful tips and advice, indeed. Such as Gail's idea to do the boat trip around the peninsula from Coles Bay (about $130). Or information on the Maria Island ferry.

March is a good time to visit Tassie and Swansea makes a handy 'base camp' from which to drive to Coles Bay (about half and hour) and the wonders of the Freycinet National Park (little bit further) such as Wineglass Bay. The walk up to the LOOKOUT at Wineglass bay is a demanding hour plus return. If you're game enough to walk all the way DOWN to the beach then its another hour plus return trip and quite steep. Signs say the Wineglass Bay walk is the most demanding in Tasmania and our calf muscles certainly wouldn't disagree. However, it's splendid when you get down there to see the red hued rocks and the azure sea, up close and personal.

Our part of the Redcliffe house dated back to 1835 and was complete with oldie-worldie charm. The cooked breakfasts were delicious and kept us going for most of the day. No-one is going to starve here. The rooms are a delight - each room has a style and theme all their own. There are free DVDs (plentiful selection) at reception to play through the room's TV...and Gail very kindly lent us her own CDs for the hire car for the five days we spent looking around the area. The only minor quibble is that the wifi doesn't work in the rooms. The signal emanates from the Reception building next door and doesn't seem to penetrate the walls and roof of the main building. You have to go downstairs to the front porch to get a usable signal. But all the other 'plus points' more than out-weighed this slight inconvenience, in our view. There are all sorts of creatures in the front garden at Redcliffe (sorry Nige but Bob the Sheep didn't seem to realise he was supposed to come when called like a dog? Bob needs a bit more practice in this regard? ;-). We woke each to the crowing of a rooster (would have liked to be able to reset the time and the volume of said rooster but - hey - it's the country-side!).

The township of Swansea is a couple of klicks away and the Bark Mill Tavern does reasonable pub food - once again, very generous 'country' portions - if you fancy dinner. But things close up early in town so don't leave dinner too late?! There are numerous wineries dotted around the area and we struggled to keep our purchases within our luggage limits!!

All in all, we'd definitely recommend this delightful B&B. Thoroughly enjoyed our five days there.

Room Tip: The Walnut Room on the ground floor is cooler if it's hot. The Wisteria room upstairs is gorgeou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MicknMila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Once and while you come across a gem like Redcliff house. The owners need to be congratulated.
Nothing was left to chance, the care and detail taken was truly amazing for the price.
Your breakfast is cooked to your liking each morning and your room made up each day.
The shower is huge!
The gardens are well kept and there is an amazing selection of DVD's.
All I can say is book this place, Swansea is far better than Bicheno in my opinion.
The only downside was the WIFI it only works outside not in your room. Small sacrifice though.
Swansea and Redcliff house deserve at least a 2 night stay but easily stay 3!!

Room Tip: I reckon they must all be good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed at Redcliffe House for two nights in January and had a wonderful stay. The house is a charming heritage property and the gardens are spectacular and great to visit the chickens , ducks and sheep on the grounds. Wonderful hospitality from Gail who was happy to give information and tips on things to see and do in the area - I can't thank her enough for sending us on the scenic drive down to Port Arthur, it was a highlight of our trip! The rooms was lovely with beautiful views and breakfast was fantastic with a range of options for a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mslk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
20.8 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
374 reviews
2.9 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
465 reviews
1.3 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Meredith House and Mews
7.1 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#2 of 8 in Swansea
150 reviews
10.9 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcliffe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcliffe House

Address: 13569 Tasman Hwy, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range: $120 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcliffe House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redcliffe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Swansea
Redcliffe House Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing