We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character Home, Great Hosts”
Review of Redcliffe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redcliffe House
Ranked #5 of 8 Swansea B&B and Inns
Invermere, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Character Home, Great Hosts”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay there. Gail and Nigel were very gracious. Super good hot breakfast!
Location is ideal for exploring the coast including a trip to Bachino to see Penguins. It would be nice if they could allow use of the kitchen for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swalli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcliffehouse, Owner at Redcliffe House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.
As Redcliffe House is our home, the kitchen is part of our private residence and could not be utilised by our guests for their own use, this is why we keep it as a Bed and Breakfast only.
Most people do not want to cook while they are on holidays anyway, and besides they would miss the lovely food on offer in Swansea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
87
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Gail and Nigel were wonderful hosts to stay with and could not do enough for you! Great gardens (and comes with a pet lamb), awesome breakfasts (bacon butties, scrambled eggs, and home made bread) and lovely rooms. Great spot to use as a base from where to check out the East Coast of Tasmania. Gail and Nigel Give great advice and insights on where to go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAmershanReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hospitality plus! Beautiful surrounds with extremly comfortable and well designed rooms, Gail and Nigel were fantastic . We will definatley stay agin on our next trip. Breakfast every day was lovely, and Gail had a wealth of knowledge of the local area. We were so glad to have found this little beauty. See you soon Gail and Nigel.

Room Tip: Our room was a lovely french styled room, We were traveling with another couple and one more friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Beautiful rooms and gardens. Friendly hosts (even when we stuffed up and came on the wrong night) - nothing was too much trouble. Lovely breakfast. All in all a lovely short break away. Thank you so much Nigel and Gail,

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good. We liked number 2 rhe best or the four poster bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnstruswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Showing off the beauty of Tassie to a guest and heading North, we reserved a night at Redcliffe House. So glad we did. It was a really enjoyable experience and one that I plan to share with others in the future. Gail & Nigel were great hosts (& Nigel cooks up a great breakfast - real poached eggs from their own girls!). The decor throughout the house shows off Gail's past life as an Interior Designer, with touches bringing back a beautiful past era and little surprises around every corner. Our room was great - a large room, queen size bed (electric blankets) and heating that worked exceedingly well. The garden is charming. Spring had sprung and flowers were abundant. A couple of peacocks wandered around (watched very carefully by the rooster) and the lambs noisily requested milk & tried to suck your fingers, every time you went anywhere near them. This visit was with a friend but I will be bringing my husband back so that he also can experience this wonderful relaxing corner of Tasmania.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This is a perfect B&B. We always go away for our anniversary each year, and we usually stay at a B&B. As a result, we have sampled a few. This is easily one of the best we have ever stayed in, and the only reason that I am not saying that it is the best is because Hanlon House in Stanley is similarly excellent and I am finding it difficult to choose between them. They have both got 5 stars + from us.

The house itself is truly beautiful. It is a very sympathetic restoration, and has character in spades. We stayed in the garden room and the 4 poster bed was wonderfully comfortable with beautiful linen. The room was generously proportioned and wonderfully warm.

Nigel and Gail are the most wonderful hosts. Truly friendly and welcoming. Gail's attention to detail is astounding. The breakfast is beautifully cooked to order, and I can thoroughly recommend Nigel's scrambled eggs. We can also thoroughly recommend the reopened Banc restaurant in town. Great food and good atmosphere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hobbit60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a superb one night stay at Redcliffe House. Got upgraded to the four poster bed room, fantastic. Gorgeous garden, delicious breakfast and superb sheets. Gail's attention to detail and her warm and welcoming personality make Redcliffe a must visit. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.9 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
455 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meredith House and Mews
0.8 mi away
Swansea Beach Chalets
Swansea Beach Chalets
#1 of 8 in Swansea
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Freycinet Waters
Freycinet Waters
#2 of 8 in Swansea
174 reviews
12.6 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcliffe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcliffe House

Property: Redcliffe House
Address: 13569 Tasman Hwy, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcliffe House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redcliffe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Swansea
Redcliffe House Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing