We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So welcoming and charming. Gail and Nigel are wonderful hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redcliffe House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redcliffe House
Ranked #5 of 9 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solingen
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So welcoming and charming. Gail and Nigel are wonderful hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We loved staying at this out of the way B&B that is so charming. Delicious breakfast in a delightful breakfast room. Beautiful grounds. Chickens and other birds abound. Friendly and welcoming hosts. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
86
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We found this little B and B near Swansea due to trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed!
Our hosts Gail and Nigel were great- very welcoming.
Please upgrade to the garden room- built originally in the 1830s, with a 4 poster bed and all. Modern and well heated, and very comfortable.
Buffet breakfast included in the nightly rate. We purchased a fresh crayfish from Bicheno and Nigel even cooked it up for us!
This place was the best part of our recent trip to Tassie, we came away very refreshed.
Please stay here!

Room Tip: book the garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickSchuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcliffehouse, Owner at Redcliffe House, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you so much. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to read your comments. Thank you again Gail and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

A friend and I spent only one night at this beautiful b&b on our way up the Tasmania east coast.

Everything was perfect - from the finishing touches and little extras in the rooms to the great breakfast in the morning.

The b&b is set amongst beautiful gardens with a vineyard, chooks and perhaps alpacas in the future. We were free to wander and make ourselves at home, which we certainly did! Even got ourselves into our hosts private back garden area somehow, which they handled with great humour and hospitality.

Thoroughly recommend this little gem as exceptional value for money - probably the best we found in Tassie.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiehrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

a top B&B with beautifully furnished rooms and little luxuries to make you feel special. the owners are lovely and the breakfasts delicious. the gardens are beautiful and it is definately a place to stay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalby, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed in the Garden Room for our one night in Swansea,
We made great use of the upstairs lounge with our traveling companions for a glass of Tasmanian wine and cheese from Pyengana.
The room was huge and well warmed unfortunatley the bathoom was a bit small.
Thankyou to Gail & Nigel for the great tip on where to have dinner in Swansea. the tavern was great value and a good feed.
As with the other B & Bs we stayed in the port bottle was tested and appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenhide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at Redcliffe House for 2 nights in Hawthorn room and loved it. The house and garden are very beautiful, the bed was so comfortable, electric blanket made it so cosy and it was very relaxing and quiet to sleep. The only noise we could hear in the morning was a rooster that actually brought a nice feeling of being in the country side away from busy big cities. The owners were very welcoming and friendly, Gail is a very charming lady who served us delicious breakfast that I believe was prepared by her husband. They also had a good selection of DVDs to borrow and watch in our room. This place is only 5 minutes drive from Swansea and good place to stay if you plan day trips to Colesbay and Freycinet parks. If you are looking for a place to stay in that area then look no further, this B&B is a place to choose.

Room Tip: Hawthorn room is not very big but comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katia201105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikuku Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

Redcliffe House is a wonderful B&B close enough to Freycinet National Park. Gail and NIgel are vey good hosts and their home is just beautiful set in delightful gardens with a vineyard. We stayed 2 nights in the Walnut room which was very clean and spacious and has an extremely comfortable kingsize bed, well stocked ensuite and was cosy and warm. Breakfast each morning was delicious with fresh eggs from the hens, homegrown tomatoes and bread from the local bakery. We slept so well in this peaceful and scenic setting. Redcliffe House was a highlight of our time in Tassie.

Room Tip: Wallnut room was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bilboanne-michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.9 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meredith House and Mews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
10.9 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
10.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcliffe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcliffe House

Property: Redcliffe House
Address: 13569 Tasman Highway, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcliffe House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Redcliffe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Swansea
Redcliffe House Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing