We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean ,Comfortable Beds and friendly staff”
Review of Swansea Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swansea Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed one night in the Motor Inn and were offered a large room with beautiful view of the bay.It was clean with a comfortable queen size bed and a large flat screen T/V and spacious bathroom.The owner very kindly allowed me to wash my rented car on his premises.We highly recommend Swansea Motor Inn .
Kind regards Susie and Manfred from Bowral NSW

Stayed: April 2014
Thank herrly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Swansea Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 302 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

An older motel but very clean and tidy . Nice relaxing views in the water front rooms . Had everything we needed even microwave to heat food. Comfortable bed and good shower. Very close to coffee shops .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were allocated a nice beachfront view room which had lovely views across Great Oyster Bay to the Hazards of the Freycinet National Park.
The room had everything needed for a good nights sleep with free wi fi as a bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked here to be near Freycinet but not be isolated in the park. The building was probably built in the 1950's or 1960's. Don't let that be a concern. The staff were very friendly, the bed comfortable and the bath towels were plush. Book a beach view room and sit on your spacious balcony overlooking the bay toward Freycinet with a glass of Tasmanian wine. A perfect holiday experience.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BKbeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed in the budget block at the rear of the property and it was a last minute booking. Friendly reception and clean tidy room, warm enough though the queen size bed was well used. We did have a good night's sleep. Just what we needed. Nice ocean views from front rooms and reception

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Twomarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We chose the Swansea Motor Inn because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor and were very pleased with our stay. The managers were polite and very helpful in assisting with local information. We booked an upstairs room with beach views and the view was exceptional. Beautiful sunrise over the bay. There are cheaper rooms but they are closer to the main road and no views. If view is important make sure you specify this in your booking. The bed was comfortable, room clean and couple of chocolates on arrival.

It was about an hour or so drive to Freycinet National Park where we checked out the Wineglass Bay lookout.

Room Tip: If you want beach views, remember to ask for one when you book.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craigjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This motel is located in a superb position on absolute beach frontage. The staff are friendly and the rooms are of adequate size and quiet during the night .The beds are of reasonable sleep quality and the shower gives a good supply of hot water.
Unfortunately it is a "tired' property - particularly evident in the bathroom where some of the wall and cupboard material is rotting.
Also the price, $130 per room, is way to high. (Does not seem to have much competition).
I must point out that this price is for a non-waterfront room and we were kindly upgraded to a waterfront room which would have even been dearer.

Room Tip: See if you can get an upgrade to a waterfront room
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
20.8 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
374 reviews
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Waterloo Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Swansea
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
401 reviews
20.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
0.3 mi away
Swansea Holiday Park  Schouten Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Motor Inn

Address: 1c Franklin St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range: $82 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swansea Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swansea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Motor Hotel Swansea
Swansea Motor Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing