We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice water views relaxing atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swansea Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swansea Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice water views relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

An older motel but very clean and tidy . Nice relaxing views in the water front rooms . Had everything we needed even microwave to heat food. Comfortable bed and good shower. Very close to coffee shops .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    147
    64
    19
    3
See reviews for
49
156
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were allocated a nice beachfront view room which had lovely views across Great Oyster Bay to the Hazards of the Freycinet National Park.
The room had everything needed for a good nights sleep with free wi fi as a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We booked here to be near Freycinet but not be isolated in the park. The building was probably built in the 1950's or 1960's. Don't let that be a concern. The staff were very friendly, the bed comfortable and the bath towels were plush. Book a beach view room and sit on your spacious balcony overlooking the bay toward Freycinet with a glass of Tasmanian wine. A perfect holiday experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BKbeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed in the budget block at the rear of the property and it was a last minute booking. Friendly reception and clean tidy room, warm enough though the queen size bed was well used. We did have a good night's sleep. Just what we needed. Nice ocean views from front rooms and reception

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Twomarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We chose the Swansea Motor Inn because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor and were very pleased with our stay. The managers were polite and very helpful in assisting with local information. We booked an upstairs room with beach views and the view was exceptional. Beautiful sunrise over the bay. There are cheaper rooms but they are closer to the main road and no views. If view is important make sure you specify this in your booking. The bed was comfortable, room clean and couple of chocolates on arrival.

It was about an hour or so drive to Freycinet National Park where we checked out the Wineglass Bay lookout.

Room Tip: If you want beach views, remember to ask for one when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This motel is located in a superb position on absolute beach frontage. The staff are friendly and the rooms are of adequate size and quiet during the night .The beds are of reasonable sleep quality and the shower gives a good supply of hot water.
Unfortunately it is a "tired' property - particularly evident in the bathroom where some of the wall and cupboard material is rotting.
Also the price, $130 per room, is way to high. (Does not seem to have much competition).
I must point out that this price is for a non-waterfront room and we were kindly upgraded to a waterfront room which would have even been dearer.

Room Tip: See if you can get an upgrade to a waterfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Got a refurbished top story room. Would reccomend these rooms. Only realised the folliwing day that there was no air con or fan. Lucky we didnt need it.
Positives. Chocolate bar on arrival to room. Good size tv. Clean and refurbished room. Location to supermarket and waterfront. Lady at reception friendly.
Negatives. Dryer wasn't working properly. Needed two lots to dry it..only one washer/dryer for the entire place...8 bucks later. Pillows were very hard and flat..probably very ild..yuck. The price was too high for what it was. But i understand they are trying to do it up.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JacSTARRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
20.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
0.1 mi away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Waterloo Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
9.4 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
10.1 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Motor Inn

Property: Swansea Motor Inn
Address: 1c Franklin Street, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swansea Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Swansea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Motor Hotel Swansea
Swansea Motor Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing