We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view!”
Review of Swansea Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swansea Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A room with a view!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was pleased to book a room facing the sea and to find our first few days in Tasmania so great! The sky over Oyster Bay was ever changing, the view so relaxing and the moonrise over the water wonderful.
This solidly built motel has all you need for e few days on the East Coast or exploring the Freycenet National Park. Helpful staff and lovely owners, quiet rooms and all the information you need. Whether clambering up to see Wineglass Bay then coming down to find Roos in the carpark, beachcoming on Dolphin Sands, eating home made ice dream and Kate`s Berry Farm, watching the penguins at Bicheno or sampling wine at the vineyards, this is an ideal base in a friendly town where you can get anything you need for a Tassy stay. Good eating too and a fab bakery!

Room Tip: Book a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fran s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    156
    66
    19
    3
See reviews for
54
165
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Good (informative) welcome, pretty old-fashioned, but clean & tidy with great views. Nice walk by the golf course to the next bay. We ate at the Saltshaker Café & Restaurant which was excellent - great food & top view of the bay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redandwhitearmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The room itself was okay. The balcony and the view were spectacular. There is a picnic area and gas grill available for your use. There are two IGA's in town. We were there on a very hot day. There is no air conditioning. You are provided with a fan. There is no screen on the slider. Surprisingly this was not an issue. We slept with the door open and the fan going and were very comfortable. There is a washing machine and dryer available for use. At the time of our visit the dryer was broken. We did a load of laundry and brought it to the office. The family who owned the house dried, folded and left the clothes in our room while we went out to dinner.

Room Tip: Request an ocean side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momski1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Unfortunately I didn't spring for the beach view and stayed in a rear room. Worth paying extra for a front room. Lovely beach opposite. Regular style motel, very clean and great updated bathroom.

Even had a phone call from nice member of staff when we were later than expected checking in, to see if we would like to order a meal before kitchen closed.

Out of the three beds, one mattress was soft and not so comfy but others were ok.

Room Tip: Pay extra for breach view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The room was good value for 3 adults. It was clean and comfortably appointed with a modern bathroom. Our room had stunning views across the bay and you could sit on the balcony and take the time to admire the beautiful outlook. There was a plentiful supply of tea, coffee and milk; a microwave, bar fridge and plates, cups and cutlery. This was our first stay ever in a motel and the standard of accommodation was better than expected. The location was quiet and relaxing and check in was very efficient.

Room Tip: Upper floor room with water views makes for a wonderfully memorable stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here while we were travelling from Launceston to Hobart. The motel is a bit dated, but has large rooms, and lovely newer large bathroom and a priceless view over the bay. We arrived on a Sunday evening, and had a swift check in and given a room on the second level. The room included a toaster, a microwave, plates, cutlery and tea and coffee facilities. We were also advised of an amazing fish and chip shop down the road (Ugly Duck) and were able to bring the takeaway back to our room. Ideal motel for one or two nights.

Room Tip: It really is worth paying the extra for the view across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watters_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a 'motor inn' - it is similar to many motels in Australia. Basic, clean and tidy. Most rooms have an outside terrace onto/overlooking a neat garden overlooking the beach and across the bay to Coles Bay/ Freycinet Peninsula. There is a BBQ free to use. Over the road is a great cafe restaurant, a supermarket, and nearby is a bottle shop. Swansea is a great place to stay. We rated this one of the best value and best locations to stay on a tour of Tasmania.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room....opening out to the garden overlooking the bay makes this place a great pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
20.8 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
368 reviews
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Waterloo Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Swansea
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
395 reviews
20.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
11.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Motor Inn

Property: Swansea Motor Inn
Address: 1c Franklin St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swansea Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Swansea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Motor Hotel Swansea
Swansea Motor Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing