We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faulty Towers Down Under”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas
Ranked #7 of 8 Swansea B&B and Inns
Tamworth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Faulty Towers Down Under”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

"No! you can not inspect our rooms" "people just want to inspect our rooms to do their business and steal things" were the greetings we received when we arrived at this establishment after having booked through the internet. "You can go away because I will just charge your card as I have your particulars from the booking.
Somewhat intimidated by this statement and given the lateness of the day we felt obliged to stay in what was to be the smallest most cramped and most noisy room (creeky floors and all) we have ever encounted other than the convict cells at Port Arthur.
The receptionist/owner was the rudest person we have ever met in the hospitality industry.
The restraunt was not operating for dinner or breakfast as advertised.
The room was certainly not worth the cost of $140.
By far our worst ever motel experience and by far inferior to all other accommodations that we experienced in Tasmania.
The only experience that we encountered in Tasmania where the owner/operator was unfriendly

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJCTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    28
    21
    30
See reviews for
20
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northern NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

This hotel is not value for money. It was dirty, towels threadbare and certainly not 4 star as brochure stated. The Owner was rude and arrogant. I was told I could not view the room before finalising account and would lose both nights accommodation costs .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swansea hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

I'm quite surprised about the reviews this place had...
My parents, my girlfriend & I stayed in "villa" 3 a night & the place is just horrible!
Dirty everything, crap 2nd bedroom, filthy shower, already used bed-sheets @#!

The 'view' is so-so has you're not in front of the beach but on the side & the price is absolutely not worth it, to avoid if possible.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agouny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

Driving through Tasmania with no bookings and you can get lucky! We liked the location of this accommodation and decided to go with our instinct.
The view from the front windows of the 2 storey villa was spectacular. The wood heater was a treat on a cold night, it warmed up the whole place. We bought all we needed for a great roast lamb at the local general store and cooked it all in the well equiped kitchen. The villa is very homely, meaning it is not super flash but had everything we wanted. The township is very interesting and the people most friendly
Would recommend this town and accommodation, could spend a few days there easily.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indented Head. Victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

These villas are lovely, two story complete with log fire. Own washer and dryer in the kitchen and comfortable bedroom with balcony. Would be very cosy on a cold day especially after a visit to the Freycernet Peninsula. Very clean and at the centre of the village.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

We had a one night stopover on the way from Launceston to Hobart. The room was tiny but clean and well appointed in a chintzy kind of way with a decent wee balcony.

Recommend the Ugly Duck Out restaurant for really good food and friendly service.

  • Liked — The hotel is stunning
  • Disliked — No comment.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2007

We booked a room at Swansea Ocean Villas through Tasvillas for a weekend getaway. The property was amazing, the staff were very friendly & helpful, the meal in the Restaurant was 1st class and the rooms were very clean, comfortable and had a beautiful view overlooking Great Oyster Bay. We stayed for 2 nights and found this very very relaxing.
Free Parking available right outside your room.
You will not be dissapointed if you book this 4star accommodation!!!

  • Liked — The whole atmosphere
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Loz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.3 mi away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Waterloo Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meredith House and Mews
0.5 mi away
Swansea Holiday Park  Schouten Beach
0.2 mi away
Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas

Property: Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas
Address: 3 Maria St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amos House And Swansea Ocean Villas
Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas Hotel Swansea
Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing