We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the night only....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas
Ranked #7 of 8 Swansea B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Very basic...room small and noisy. Overpriced. I would recommend that you look elsewhere in Swansea first. In desperate need of a makeover. Business up for sale and restaurant downstairs closed. Someone made some popcorn and it stank the place out. No wifi except the east coast tourism thingy...very limited time allowed

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank F3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were kept awake all during the night by the creaking floors both in our room and next door.
Entry was up steep stairs - door opened straight onto the stairs. Toilet water ran all night. Told it was because we did not know how to press the button!!!!!

Light out on the stairs .Advertised licenced restaurant - shut long age.

Cost $125 night! Give it a miss.. The place is for sale. It should be bulldozed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

basic room, everything was clean.
there was a heater, however no good positioned outlet to plug in the heater.
we didn't need it anyways but wondered how others would have tried to in the dead of winter.
A good position in the city because it was in the town centre and we had a very good view overlooking the beach and a nice balcony as well.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Basic but clean...but went down hill thereafter. Having arrived I found the bedside lamp failed to work and went to reception to ask them to rectify. The co-owner was surly and disaffected from the outset. He asked my room number and I did not know but offered to take him the 30 second walk up the stairs to show him. He then asked why I needed the light and said he could hardly repair the fault if I did not know the room number! Not an auspicious welcome...His brother then intervened and blamed the bad weather for his siblings rude behaviour. I note the complex is up for sale and the sooner the current continental owners leave the better. I felt we were an inconvenience from the start - and all because of a simple request to change a light bulb!The management are in the wrong business and ill suited to deal with the paying public. In the morning I mentioned I was unhappy with his attitude and he simply lost his 'latin' temper and swore at me telling me to leave. Hard to believe this man makes a living in the hospitality business. Look for an alternative lodging if at all possible - the guy is unstable. It seems he is only content when guests stay, pay and keep quiet. Oh yes - you do need to keep quiet as the walls are paper-thin. Only stay here if there is no other option as you will get better value - and a much warmer welcome elsewhere. We would rather sleep in the car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pippa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in the motel part of the hotel and enjoyed the stay. The views from the balcony are nice and the rooms were snug offering everything you would need including microwave! The walls are pretty thin so not great if you like peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathaly911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in the dead of winter. If you book ahead they will set up the wood fire but we arrived with no booking. The staff were extremely helpful and run by two brothers who both greeted us on arrival. We were giving a fantastic apartment closest to the sea which greeted us with the most amazing view of the bay the next morning. The rooms were lovely and the bed was very comfortable with electric blankets for extra warmth along with the powerful heater we were more than cosey. We ate in the new Italian restaurant attached to the hotel. This provided us with a fresh pasta meal we couldn't finish it was so big. Yum!
Overall this place was very welcoming and comfortable. I'd
Definately return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracestar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

What a great location and our villa room was very clean, tidy and had everything a family would need- kitchen + lounge downstairs and bathroom and bedroom upstairs. Wood stove kept both levels warm and toasty until it died after midnight and the cold settled in. Great view of Swansea beach and across to Freycinet, beach to walk along and just a moment from main food cafes.

Room Tip: All villas have a balcony on both levels with a view of ocean- any will do.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swansea hotels
2.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Waterloo Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Swansea
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swansea Beach Chalets
Swansea Beach Chalets
#1 of 8 in Swansea
297 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#2 of 8 in Swansea
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swansea Holiday Park  Schouten Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas

Address: 3 Maria St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range: $89 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amos House And Swansea Ocean Villas
Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas Hotel Swansea
Amos House & Swansea Ocean Villas Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing