We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Visit and Feels Better Each Time”
Review of Piermont Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Piermont Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Third Visit and Feels Better Each Time”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was our third visit to Piermont Retreat and was a fantastic long weekend.

It's a great location with spectacular views of the bay and surrounds. The ideal place to switch off and unwind for a few days.

The accommodation is perfect for winter with stone cottages and log fires.

Within the area you can find great walking/running tracks, bike rides, wineries, seafood and beaches.

The wineries although small in number had great quality and well worth a visit. Particular mention for Spring Vale north of Swansea.

The hosts are attentive when required and do their best to make your stay enjoyable.

A great tranquil haven and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevePColes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    136
    59
    30
    11
See reviews for
56
317
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Just loved this quiet retreat. Great location for hiking, wine tasting and just enjoying the incredible views. Our cottage was lovely...clean, cozy and charming. We cooked in-house most nights and enjoyed eating on our deck. We had the fireplace roaring every night and enjoyed borrowing movies from reception. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GlampackerSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
813 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a perfect place to go to as a retreat from the world. The cottages have open fire places with views out to the Hazards and access to a beach. It is probably quite different in summer, but in winter it is beautiful and uncrowded.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandieman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Cute cottage. Comfortable bed. Gorgeous outlook. After reading previous reviews we were very cautious about staying - however we could not fault this retreat. We stayed in cottage 13. Was very private with such a gorgeous view. Restaurant was amazing!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked Cottage 3 - two bedrooms, with the kids upstairs on a mezzanine floor. The cottage was lovely and the location and views just beautiful.

Good points:
- milk in the fridge
- fire burning on arrival
- heaters on in bedroom on arrival
- all the kitchen ware / appliances that you would need for a short stay
- nice toiletries
- big towels and lots of them (8)

Small things that could be improved:
- washing machine powder (even a couple of tablespoons would have been great, enough for a single load of washing). I expect this when washing machines are provided, and dish washing powder was provided so why not washing machine powder?
- electric blankets
- toiletries for one person were provided, despite the booking being for 4 people

Overall, we loved our stay here....until around 3am when possums(??) starting a small nightclub somewhere in the roof. The noise was unbelievable!

I would still recommend staying here though - it's a beautiful part of the country and earplugs are cheap!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

piermont was not quite what i had invisaged from the website, we stayed in a 2 person cottage which was very charming and romantic, although was less 'private' than i thought it would be. we had dinner at the restaurruant which was a little expensive but had great food. the staff were a little nonchalant, but otherwise very nice place to stay. probably a little hard to be self sufficient there for any more than a couple of days as the kitchen and bathroom arent huge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed in cottage number one. The cottage itself was well appointed, with all we needed for a 4 day stay. Some instructions on how to light the wood burner would have been helpful. And the couch could use replacing. The beds were comfortable. On some days, depending on which way the wind was blowing, the stench was almost unbearable. We thought it came from the creek/river nearby not being flushed out. One night it was bad enough to wake us all.
The restaurant is pricey but the staff very friendly and helpful. We dined out there twice. Some dishes were better than others. One of our party had an almost cold meal.
The retreat has lovely view over the bay. It is quiet and very relaxing.
I would definitely go back if I was guaranteed the smell was gone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teacher19858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
23.0 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
337 reviews
22.6 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
366 reviews
10.0 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,037 reviews
10.2 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
547 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piermont Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piermont Retreat

Property: Piermont Retreat
Address: Tasman Highway | Great Oyster Bay, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Piermont Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegance and splendor of Piermont is mirrored in the breathtaking views over Great Oyster Bay to the ever changing colours of Freycinet's National Park ancient granite peaks. Enjoy the understated comfort of this first class accommodation surrounded by natural beauty. When you arrive at Piermont, you'll truly feel as if you have left the world behind- and your worries with it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Piermont Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piermont Retreat Swansea, Tasmania
Piermont Retreat Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing