We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem”
Review of Piermont Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Piermont Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed two nights last week two bedroom cabin right on the beach had all the accessories you need only down side was one bathroom but i should have inquired more at the time of booking in the scheme of things it was a minor issue Loved the location the restaurant its close proximity to Swansea but still away from the town nice and quite very relaxing

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Piermont Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 460 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

can't get much better than this.....I don't think I have ever been happier in my life than when we arrived at Piermont Retreat. I just wandered down to the beach with my camera because I couldn't believe how beautiful everything was.
We stayed with our 2 children and the place could not be more perfect. The on-site restaurant is excellent, including the resident ferret which was a highly entertaining part of one of our dinners there. I thought I was in a Faulty Towers episode for a second.
The ambience of the stone cottage is magical. The wood fire, the loft bedroom and the very comfortable couch and beds.
There is only one very minor complaint, and that is that the bathroom heater only stays on for a minute and then shuts off. A very minor problem that is easily overlooked by the location, the standard of accommodation, the quality of the restaurant and the friendliness of the people who run this retreat.
We made a day trip to the Freycinet Peninsula which was enough for us. We drove to the lighthouse and also made the walk to the Wineglass Bay lookout and back. That is plenty with 2 children. Staying in Swansea is a great choice, although Piermont is several km's south of Swansea the town.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage, one of the bedrooms being a loft. Very exciting for the kids. Our...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed two nights in a Honeymoon Spa Suite. Couldn't really fault the place. Really enjoyed it. Non-alcoholic drinks weren't available in the restaurant as the fridge had broken down during the day - we felt for a fine dining restaurant, other arrangements could've been made. Otherwise, lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeanS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This little place was just what we had been looking for. The cottages were lovely and the views beautiful. It was a lovely place for a romantic getaway. It is at the high end price wise but as a treat it was well worth it. We dined at the restaurant in the evening time and it was the best meal we have had in Tassie in 5 visits. It was amazing. The waitress was very pleasent and unobtrusive.
If I had to comment on anything that could be improved it would be a luggage rack in the bedroom as we had to put our bags on the floor. There may have been one tucked away in a cupboard but we did not find it.
We were given a torch at check in and it was greatly appreciated but some additonal lighting around the grounds might be helpful. We are aware of the owners wish to keep things as close to nature as possible but it is very dark walking around to the restaurant and even with a torch and full moon it was still quite dark. We did notice a broken spot light on the ground near our cottage so this might be the reason why it was so dark. Dont be put off by the uninterested greeting from the staff either on the phone or on check in. This is an amazing place and it must be experienced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Piermont in a deluxe spa suite which was gorgeous. We stayed for 2 nights and had dinner at their restaurant the second night - delicious (separate review done).

The room was very clean and modern with lovely high ceilings and a huge bathroom. The tiles in the bathroom were heated which was great - except for some reason they were not heated around the toilet which was a bit surprising. We had lovely views over Oyster Bay and were lucky enough to have perfect blue skies and a full moon. Both nights we indulged in the spa bath while drinking a bottle of champagne - the big window by the bath gave us magnificent views of the bay and full moon shimmering on the water as we simmered away in the spa. Big fluffy robes and white towels were a nice touch and the bed was very comfortable. There was a little too much light that filtered in through the blinds in the morning, but apart from that we were very happy with the room.

We chose to have a breakfast hamper on the first morning and although the bread was delicious and home baked, we were a little surprised at the cost of the breakfast considering there was no cook up included. However, this was a small issue and certainly didn't mar out opinion of Piermont.

I would recommend it to friends and also go back again - a lovely relaxing couple of days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We found the Piermont Retreat on the net and the photos indicated that it was very beautiful. How disappointed we were to see the cottage we stayed in. It was in a beautiful location by the beach, but the cottage was dirty and in dire need of new kitchen and bathroom facilities - and a general clean and re-decoration. Also, the ceiling leaked water in the living area when it rained. If it hadn't been raining and we hadn't pre-paid, we would have stayed elsewhere.
Our greeting on arrival was curt and disinterested. All in all, a waste of $200 (and that was the supposedly special rate - it's usually more than that apparently). Nor worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Indig022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a honeymoon cottage located right on the edge of the bay. It was absolutely gorgeous! Beautifully appointed whilst totally in keeping with the surrounds - there was everything you could possibly need - the kitchen was so well stocked with all the necessary tools for cooking a full meal ( not that we did but everything had been thought of ). The bathroom was large & luxurious ( lovely quality toiletries supplied) & the bedroom had doors opening to a wooden deck looking over the bay. The king bed was extremely comfortable. The lounge room was warm & cosy & again had doors opening to the deck - the open fire was wonderful when the sun started to go down & quickly warmed up the whole cottage. Lovely walks along the sandy beaches on stunning autumn days & a quiet glass of wine on the veranda sitting on one of the sun lounges made for total relaxation. The views across the bay to the Freycinet Peninsula are simply lovely. Spectacular place to watch the sun come up - there was mist one morning & the bay was awash in colour & texture. This was a beautiful retreat - so peaceful - only the sound of waves gently lapping in the bay, a breeze blowing through the long grass & wildlife - we wished we could have stayed all week. We will definitely go back & would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage 14 - this appeared to be a little bigger than some of the others & had the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TealyPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
22.6 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
374 reviews
23.0 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
10.0 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,082 reviews
10.2 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
569 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piermont Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piermont Retreat

Address: Tasman Highway | Great Oyster Bay, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range: $227 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Piermont Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegance and splendor of Piermont is mirrored in the breathtaking views over Great Oyster Bay to the ever changing colours of Freycinet's National Park ancient granite peaks. Enjoy the understated comfort of this first class accommodation surrounded by natural beauty. When you arrive at Piermont, you'll truly feel as if you have left the world behind- and your worries with it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piermont Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piermont Retreat Swansea, Tasmania
Piermont Retreat Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing