We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Piermont Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Piermont Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Gorgeous room, perfect view and all amenities you need.

Can't wait to go back!

** Only disappointment was to see a trapped possum (inside a cage) just by my window. Understand why the trap and the problem that possums are in the area but I wasn't really happy too see it - couldn't help but free him after all :)

Room Tip: Honeymoon Cottage - #12. Right in front of the ocean :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissDri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 465 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was not only our third stay at Piermont but actually the location for our wedding weekend a few weeks ago. We chose Piermont due to the magnificent food and wine and I am pleased to say that they did not disappoint. The Chef and his staff went out of their way to fulfil any requests we had both leading up to and on the weekend and I could not fault anything. The menu really shows off the locally sourced produce such as Abalone, Scallops, Beetroot and Pork. The wines were also mostly local which was great considering everyone travelled from interstate.

The grounds were well manicured for the wedding ceremony and the cottages were cosy, comfortable and clean. This time we stayed in the honeymoon cottage and have also previously stayed in a studio spa cottage. Both have great log fires to keep you warm at night, spectacular views, spa and a kitchen big enough to prepare meals in if you just want to have a night in. The location on the bay is just beautiful. There is a tennis court, kayaks, bikes and a pool for guest use. Although a little chilly for the pool, the other facilities were a great hit with adults and kids alike.

Thank you to Juan, Chad and staff for such a wonderful weekend and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms but not all rooms have a spa, kitchen or fireplace so make sure you check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Very relaxing, view from room was sublime. Enjoyed kayaking and local walks.
Restaurant food very good.

The nearest town is very small so it would have been good to have a compendium in the room with a list of local restaurants with phone numbers as well as explanation of facilities (there is no written information provided). The staff were friendly though.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edstarSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at Piermont a couple of weeks ago for a friends Wedding. Accommodation was beautiful. We stayed in a honeymoon suite which had a very cosy feel to it, especially as the room had a beautiful woodfire heater. A friend stayed in another room (slightly more expensive) and it was just beautiful.. very modern feel to it, amazing view from balcony overlooking the water, big bath tub in bathroom overlooking water also. Wedding reception was held at Piermont restaurant which was a great night.
Piermont have an outdoor pool and tennis court however we did not use these.
Management were excellent, very friendly and efficient at sorting out anything we needed.
Would stay there again :)

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 1totravelistolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is our second visit and we will definitely be going back. It is not a place to stay if you want to be around people and are looking for staff to cater to you all the time. The whole ethos is to leave you to some peace and quiet which we love. The location is fantastic, with great views, an easy walk to the beach and beautiful cottage.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seanm_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a gorgeous stone cottage with sea views. Wonderful open fires at night, beautiful pastoral scenery by day. Very quiet and peaceful. The degustation dinner was the only point of comment - only that it was too much food and we felt bad wasting so much. Maybe smaller portions would be more degustation-like? At any rate, a highly recommended spot. Hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ng7181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for one night during our recent tour of Tasmania. Excellent location right on the beach, away from it all it certainly is a retreat only wished could have stayed for longer. The sound of the sea and the wood fires, self contained, away from it all, well furnished and presented. Would stay again when re visiting Tasmania, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalViDroitwichWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
22.6 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
373 reviews
23.0 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
10.0 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,093 reviews
10.2 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
576 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piermont Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piermont Retreat

Address: Tasman Highway | Great Oyster Bay, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range: $222 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Piermont Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegance and splendor of Piermont is mirrored in the breathtaking views over Great Oyster Bay to the ever changing colours of Freycinet's National Park ancient granite peaks. Enjoy the understated comfort of this first class accommodation surrounded by natural beauty. When you arrive at Piermont, you'll truly feel as if you have left the world behind- and your worries with it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piermont Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piermont Retreat Swansea, Tasmania
Piermont Retreat Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing