We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Piermont Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Piermont Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

A beautiful couples retreat, our cottage was understated, but fantastic. Very friendly staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meggles2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    132
    58
    30
    11
See reviews for
54
308
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I recently spent four nights in one of the cottages (no 14) - I can honestly say we both throughly enjoyed our time here. Our cottage was very clean, well presented with a very cosy romantic feel to it. The website gallery does not do justice to the views we had. As it was rather cool during the day and evenings we utilised the open wood fire place which added such an abient overall feel. We were provided with plenty of wood. This is a place where you can either rest or should you choose - walk around the shore line and property. Forty five minutes drive takes you to the Freycinet National Park for those feeling more active. We had a hit of tennis with lovely views of the ocean. I can definatley say we will be back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaIS0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is our 2nd visit here and it was as good as our first. This is a beautiful, quaint resort on the east coast of Tassie.
Our cosy, one bedroom beachfront cottage with spa and fire was a delight to be in. The cottage was clean and had all amenities. Beautiful views of the Hazards and Freycinet could be seen from our room. On our first night we bought takeaway seafood from Swansea to eat in our cottage and on the 2nd night we dined in the resort restaurant. We found the food in the restaurant to be excellent, as it was on our first visit. Our compliments to the chef. Also it is a lovely walk along the beach in front of the cottages.
We will be back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taskatarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at Piermont for our tenth wedding anniversary. The cabin was roomy with a lovely large double bed, Ipod dock, a huge bath room with spa and underfloor heating. We found our stay quite and relaxing only things that could have been better was the roads around the cabins were a bit rutted and you can't see out the window when sitting the spa. We didn't eat at the restaurant choosing to eat in Swansea. Probably not a place for kids but ideal for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stredda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan M, Owner at Piermont Retreat, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments.

We are glad that you had a relaxing time and that you've enjoyed your stay.

Regarding the roads, we are aware that they are not in the best conditions at the moment, but that is mainly due to torrential rains that we had in the last three weeks. Gravel roads get washed away quite easily with heavy rains. Now that the weather has improved, as we do every year, we will start repairing them.

Thank you

juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

This weekend my husband our daughter and I stayed at Piermont Retreat on the East Coast of Tasmania, Swansea. We were booked into the Sea View Cottage which was right on the beach. We had unobstructed views which were brilliant and enjoyed walks along its private beach.
The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful for our needs. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent..best abalone ever...as well as the duck and amazing pistachio souffle.
Thank you Piermont for a great weekend in your beautiful setting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMcGrath_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan M, Owner at Piermont Retreat, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are happy that you had a good and relaxing stay with your family.

We hope to see you again.

regards

juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

The retreat itself is in the middle of nowhere. Some would like this others will wonder what they've got themselves into - there would certainly be more interesting places to stay. If you want to get away from it all its a lovely location, with the views, fires and spa's etc. The apartments are well equiped with kitchen facilities, as well as washing machine and dryer. Under floor heating in the bathroom was a nice extra. Disappointing that rooms aren't serviced during your stay - disappointing for the price.

The restaurant - having been rated by the good food guide, it had an impressive menu, as mentioned by someone else the service was amatuerish, certainly tried hard but with one girl for 7 tables to do all food and drinks - the prices charged certainly indicate better service than that provided. I enjoyed my entree and main, but the cheesecake was like having a tub of philadelphia cream cheese served up.

Room Tip: Definitely want one with a spa and a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan M, Owner at Piermont Retreat, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Karen

Thank you for your feedback. We are sad that the restaurant somehow didn't fully met your expectations. We have had great in house feedback regarding one of our new young waitresses and we really appreciate this type of comments, there is always room for improvement for enthusiastic people - as mentioned on a previous review -

Although we are in the middle of Tasmania's beautiful and unspoiled East Coast , very attractive for those guests that like nature and tranquility, it is also fair to say that we are only three minutes drive from Swansea town which has got all the basics needs and more.

Regarding Cottages being serviced, we wouldn't have had any problem in servicing the room if requested. As well described in our website (via your stay was booked) and in all other booking channels our self contained cottages don't get serviced on daily basis (manly for privacy reasons), but we do service the suites. We do try our best to inform our guests about Piermont and we apologize if we didn't manage to do it in this case.

Thank you again for your feedback

regards

juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay in our studio cottage with the open fireplace. Ever so cosy and enjoyable with our fish and chips from the Duck out at Swansea. We dined at the restaurant with good food and wine, however, being winter there were only two tables dining so it lacked a lot of atmosphere. There was no background music which may have helped a little. Waiter service was amaturish but very enthusiastic with room for improvement. Food was great! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit at Piermont and would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanklee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan M, Owner at Piermont Retreat, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback

We are happy to know that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

In the hospitality industry there is always room for improvement and we appreciate your comments regarding the restaurant service.

regards

juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
23.0 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
22.6 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
10.0 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
10.2 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piermont Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piermont Retreat

Property: Piermont Retreat
Address: Tasman Highway | Great Oyster Bay, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Piermont Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegance and splendor of Piermont is mirrored in the breathtaking views over Great Oyster Bay to the ever changing colours of Freycinet's National Park ancient granite peaks. Enjoy the understated comfort of this first class accommodation surrounded by natural beauty. When you arrive at Piermont, you'll truly feel as if you have left the world behind- and your worries with it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piermont Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piermont Retreat Swansea, Tasmania
Piermont Retreat Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing