We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best family weekend getaway!”
other traveler has booked this property
Imagine lying on this couch looking to Great Oyster Bay - the beach below
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Imagine lying on this couch looking to Great Oyster Bay - the beach below
Sun across the ocean to the deck at Avalon Coastal Retreat Perched on a cliff top overlooking Great Oyster Bay Tasmania
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Imagine lying on this couch looking to Great Oyster Bay - the beach below
Sun across the ocean to the deck at Avalon Coastal Retreat
Perched on a cliff top overlooking Great Oyster Bay Tasmania
One of the 3 bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms
Avalon Coastal Retreat - sunrise on the beach
A big cosy fire for winter
Superbly equipped kitchen and Huon Pine dining table
Huon Pine bath in the main bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swansea, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kittenkor...
Mooloolaba
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Best family weekend getaway!”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was our 3rd time at Avalon Coastal Retreat but this time we brought some family with us and filled the house up! We had the most amazing time. We love this beautiful glass house with the most stunning views around. It comes fully equipped with food, drinks, DVDs, games, wi-fi the whole lot! We barely left for 3 days and just soaked up the amazing place that Avalon is. The private beach was a hit and we had a fun time fishing. We will be back again and again that is for sure. If you're looking for luxury with ocean views to die for and a relaxing atmosphere then Avalon Coastal Retreat is for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the service is wonderful too
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Dear Kittencore, We are so happy that you have returned for the third time to Avalon Coastal Retreat and brought more family to enjoy all the views with! The more the merrier we say : ) Thank you for your lovely words about the Coastal Retreat, we always strive to get every little detail and inclusion right - it's fabulous to hear that you loved every single part of the experience. We look forward to welcoming you and the whole family again next time! Very best wishes -P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi C
Cygnet, Australia
1 review
“Stunning architecture and location”
Reviewed October 10, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The position of Avalon Coastal Retreat is second to none, on a small peninsular looking across the ocean to the granite Freycinet Range and down to the crashing surf on a shell filled beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Architecture, view, beach
Liked least: Small bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for our beautiful Avalon Coastal Retreat. We are pleased the sound of the sea appealed to you during your stay. We hope you will return before too long,

Best wishes, Peta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarliReev...
Burnie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rejuvenate”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a spot - the wow factor as we walked in didn't mellow during our two night stay. This retreat is exactly that - a calm, beautiful space to rejuvenate the mind, body and soul.

Avalon had us, a family of five who can never usually sit still, chilled out and relaxed - board games in front of the fire, walks down to the beach, catching up on magazines.

180 degree windows, a commanding view over the ocean and the open plan lay out of this retreat gave us plenty of space to feel freedom, even while inside.

The little conveniences made it extra special too - yummy brekkie, stocked up fire wood, fully decked out kitchen with ample 'equipment' for self catering, ensuites in each of the rooms, floor heating and a selection of pillows to ensure a good night's sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2015
Dear Karli, thank you so much for your lovely review of Avalon Coastal Retreat. We LOVE hearing that your entire family of five actually sat still and relaxed during your stay! It's so lovely to know that those extra details we like to take care of, like the extra pillows, gourmet provisions and fire wood all contribute to the magic of a memorable family holiday at the Coastal Retreat. Thank you again for taking the time to write these lovely words, and we do hope we will see you again one day.
Very best wishes,
-P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie E
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

With Stunning panoramic views of the ocean a warming open fire, all you could possibly need to prepare a beautiful meal and a luxurious bed. This accommodation is outstanding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Julie - thank you for your review and for returning to stay with us at Avalon Coastal Retreat. We love your feedback, thank you!!! Come again soon, Peta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
How happy we are that you chose this gorgeous location to celebrate your wedding with family and friends. We hope the happy memories will stay with you for a long and happy marriage! Please come back to celebrate your anniversary too - we have Rocky Hills waiting if you just want to be alone in 250 acres of Tasmanian Bush.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. Warmest wishes, Peta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2015
Thank you Sharon for your wonderful review. The sunrise is one of the highlights of Avalon, as is the moon rising across Great Oyster Bay and for those of us who love that wakening Avalon is bliss! Thank you for the mention of the blinds, we will investigate further options.

We will very much look forward to your next visit, maybe just for 2 at Rocky Hills Retreat which is such a different and still amazing experience! Or Avalon City Retreat in Hobart as part of another journey. Whenever it happens, we will be here to welcome you back,

Warm wishes and thank you, Peta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mooloolaba
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2015
We hope the deep inner peace of Avalon Coastal Retreat has stayed with you. Thank you for this very indepth review and yes, please! Do make Avalon City Retreat part of your next visit as it is also an amazing space, but right in the centre of Hobart.

Very best wishes, Peta. Avalon Retreats booking office.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing