We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

From arrival to leaving we found Swansea Cottages a great experience.Polite,friendly & helpful staff who had the local knowledge of the area.We stayed in the largest cottage as there were 6 adults and found it clean comfortable with all we needed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hi Beth, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Swansea Cottages and your stay in our 3 bedroom attic spa cottage.
As you would have found this cottage is ideal for larger groups travelling with 6 to 7 travelers.
At this time of year the air conditioning is very much appreciated as very few regional properties are. We hope that you found the cottage with it's fully equipped kitchen with sandwich maker and rice cooker as well as dishwasher helped make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. However with great restaurants all within a 3 to 4 minute walk who really wants to cook.
We hope that you have fond memories of your stay at both Swansea Cottages and in Tasmania. We look forward to another visit in the not too distant future..
Regards,
Rob & Toni and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    42
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
40
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The unit is comfortable,clean, park near and beach within walking distance, grounds good but dry and some what unkept. Beds comfortable, internet buy yourself.Staff helpful. Outside town, nearby though. Would return if in Tassy again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lazuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Deat Lazuly, Thank you for your review and taking the time to compose the same. Reviews are both important and very much appreciated by fellow or intending travelers.
We are please that you found your accommodation comfortable and conveniently located.
As you mentioned our normally pristine gardens and grounds are extremely dry due to a lack of rain and very high temperature winds. Unfortunately at this time of year with the severe hot weather there is little that either myself or our gardener can do.
Despite the dry grounds our gardens have remained almost pristine due to the love of same embellished by our dedicated gardener.
The internet is actually free in reception as well as a free WiFi guest network. However, in rooms, for convenience, 3G WiFi modems are available at no cost. The data used however is charged at standard Telstra Rates.
Once again thanks for your positive feedback. We hope that you have fond memories of your stay as well as your visit to Tasmania.
We look forward to your stay at some time in the future and invite you to upgrade from a very well equipped motel room (air conditioned) to a fully self contained cottage on your next visit.
I will pass your comments onto our dedicated staff.
Regards,
Rob & Toni and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We booked a 4 bed what we thought would be a cabin, to find a rather cramped 3 bed single room of a 3 apartment house. Quality furnishings and a microwave but no sink! ...and that was it! Over-priiced considering a kind of Continental breakfast was +$10 and even milk etc +$4. Maybe we had been spoiled with other venues (12 days in Tassie gives one a fair idea of what should be 'standard')

Room Tip: must be better value around than this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wide-eyed1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Wide-eyed,
Thank you for providing a review, however it would appear that your review has been posted against another property as we do not have cabins, nor a 3 bed apartment house but motel suites and fully self contained 2 and 3 bedroom cottages. We do not charge $4.00+ as you described for milk but provide complimentary milk for your tea and coffee upon arrival.
As you have chosen to not use your name for this review we cannot check as to whether you were actually a guest at this property. We have no concerns raised by guests on file from over the busy Christmas period. From you comments it would appear that you were not a guest who stayed at this property..

Our suites certainly have quality fittings and furnishings and as per a normal motel style room no kitchen sink as they do not have a kitchen. Unlike a normal motel room they do however have a small kitchenette with microwave jug and toaster as well as cutlery and crockery so that guests may prepare a breakfast if they so wish.
We also have pre packed breakfast packs available for purchase from reception, which we purchase from a commercial supplier and make available to guests for a nominal charge.

Pricing of rooms at Swansea Cottages over the peak summer period are middle of the road, being well under top end accommodation prices for the area and a little above local motel prices.
Whether you booked at this property or not, it certainly sounds as if unfortunately you booked accommodation not suited to your needs. We are sorry to hear this. As a consumer, especially if booking online you do need to look closely at room descriptions and type and style of accommodation before committing to book the same over the internet. Suppliers go to considerable lengths to describe their rooms, but as a consumer you also have to look carefully at these room descriptions to ascertain if suitable for your purposes.
We are sorry that you did not book to stay at Swansea Cottages in fully self contained and air conditioned 2 or 3 bedroom cottages., which would have made your stay in Swansea hopefully much more comfortable.
We hope that despite your accommodation not being what you expected in Swansea that you enjoyed the area and all that it had to offer.
We would be happy for you on your next visit to stay at Swansea Cottages in one of our air conditioned 2 or 3 bedroom cottages. These are also much more comfortable and spacious that a "cabin".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Cottage is conveniently located near the main road. Staff were friendly. We were. Given cold milk upon check in for our hot beverages. The room was a comfortable size. Fridge even had chilled wine glasses. I love the heating facilities. Even the toilet had its own ceiling heater. The cottage is surrounded by beautiful flowers. You can even see wild rabbits running around! I'm glad I stayed there. It's really a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Sandieve, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Swansea Cottages.
We are so pleased that you found the location convenient, staff friendly and all to your liking. Our staff take great pride in presentation of facilities, attention to detail and assisting guests during their stay.
Our gardens are truly amazing at this time of year and a credit to Pam the Gardener who does a stunning job and works passionately on maintaining and improving same.
Our rabbits although wild are actually quite tame with many living in and around the cottages.
We are please that you found your suite(motel room) comfortable for your stay. If you get a chance to return perhaps you may be able to try one of our 2 or 3 bedroom cottages which have even more facilities and room than the motel suites for very little more in outlay.
Once again we thank you for your great comments and look forward to you be able to visit again in the near future.

Many thanks
Rob & Toni
Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Dove Cottage. It was a 2 bedroom cottage with full kitchen, laundry, lounge and dining area. The cottage was spotlessly clean and the lounge and bed comfortable. The only noise to disturb was the sound of the happy birds in the well manicured garden outside. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Property has cottages and also suites. The suites have kitchenette and microwave, cottages have full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieBoomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
DearTassieBoomerang, Thank you for staying at Swansea Cottages and taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
We are please that you enjoyed your stay in Dove Cottage and that you the same well equipped and spotlessly clean. Our staff and house attendants take great pride in the presentation of the cottages and in providing a warm welcome.
The gardens truly are outstanding and I'll pass your comments onto Pam the gardener who will be most appreciative of your comment.
P.S We do also try to keep our birds happy also as they also seem to like the lovely gardens as well.
Thanks
Rob & Toni
Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We regularly come up for weekends from Hobart and decided to pay the extra to stay here rather than the usual place (getting tired of the very creaky floors keeping us awake). Friendly, chatty receptionist/owner, spotlessly clean room, super comfy bed, everything needed for a quiet, relaxing weekend. It's not far from the tavern which is a favourite spot for meals and footy. Just a warning, Swansea is poorly lit at night so a torch is recommended for nocturnal wonderings. Most things are closed in winter or limited opening hours but there are two good supermarkets for stocking up on goodies. Can recommend the golf club for a friendly place for drinkiepoos and the RSL Club is a good place for drinks and meals too.

Room Tip: The suites are nice, but connected, apparently the cottages are the go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nemohobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Nemohobart,
Thankyou for your feedback and positive comment on Tripadvisor after your recent stay at Swansea Cottages. No creaky floorboards to keep you awake as all solid concrete floors with quality floor coverings. We are glad that you found your accommodation comfortable, spotlessly clean and that you had a relaxing weekend.
All our accommodation is heated by reverse cycle heating which makes for an extremely comfortable and warm stay in both suites and cottages.
The suites are all separate and not connected to each other so you have complete privacy during your stay. On your next visit try a fully self contained cottage as not much more than the cost of a suite.
Your tips on the town facilities will be much appreciated by future guests.
Once again thank you for taking the time to post a great review and we look forward to seeing you again in Swansea.

Regards,
Rob & Toni and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived at dusk in Swansea and drove the main strip to the sight of all the shops and restaurants saying 'we are closed.' The power was off all along the coast. We checked into Swansea cottages in one of the Sherbourne lodges on the upper floor. The attic room is large and well furnished with the centrepiece being a large spa ornately tiled. It was very nice and comfortable with a large bed, couch, tv and the spa all in the one open room. Good bathroom. All very clean. The first thing was to get some air into the place as it was hot weather. The windows only opened slightly on chain winders so it was difficult to get a good airflow going. No ceiling fans or a/c. A nice feature of this room is the very thick underlay and carpet designed to lower the noise for the groundfloor guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigbowen234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Craig,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Swansea Cottages as well as the Romantic Attic Spa Suite.
We are sorry that the power was off all along the East Coast and Swansea when you arrived. Due to a large bush fire near Hobart Aurora, the power authority switched power off to the whole East Coast for reasons of safety for fire firefighters trying to control the fire.
Great to hear that you found the bed, fittings and furnishings comfortable and liked the centrepiece and ornately tiled two person spa and large LCD TV which can also be viewed from the spa!
Sorry that you found the room warm upon arrival.
The room is air conditioned with a large unit supplying both heating and air conditioning.. There is also a free standing fan in the wardrobe should guests prefer this over air conditioning Of course power is required to operate both of these.
The windows open around 400mm and as they are each side of the room, usually allow a nice cross draft.
Glad you liked the "plush" carpet and underlay. It really does add to the feel of this romantic hideaway as well as keep all noise to a minimum. The internal attic roof walls are also "Wrapped" in a dense sound absorbing material to help maintain absolute guest privacy.
Once again many thanks for your helpful review.
We hope that you enjoyed your visit to our seaside town as well as Tasmania and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards,
Rob & Toni
Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.4 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Waterloo Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swansea Beach Chalets
Swansea Beach Chalets
#1 of 8 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
9.8 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge

Property: Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge
Address: 43 Franklin St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality,exceptionally well appointed motel suites and 1,2 & 3 bedroom fully self contained cottages well suited for business,tourist and holiday accommodation set up as a quaint heritage styled village on the East Coast of Tasmania. Situated in the historic seaside township of Swansea adjacent Freycinet National Park and the world nenowned Wineglass Bay. Available overnight and for longer stays. FREE parking, free WiFi, free use of barbeque. A small family operated business with dedicated friendly and helpful staff to not only make you feel at home but also to assist in planning your stay and assisting with reservations and bookings for you. Established Circa 1991. Total accommodation for 60+ guests in both motel suites and fully self contained 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages. Light breakfast available from reception with fully cooked breakfasts available at the Swansea Barkmill Bakery from 7.00am. 30M Your choice of well equipped 1 bedroom Motel Suites or fully equipped self contained 1. 2 and 3 bedroom accommodation. Fully equipped kitchen with microwave, full oven and hot plates as well as dishwasher, sandwich maker and rice cooker, jug and toaster. WiFi is complimentary throughout the entire property and in all rooms. Suites and cottages are sitauted adjacent the beach and surrounded by expansive cottage gardens. All rooms:- -are air conditioned as well as heated by reverse cycle heating. -equipped with IDD telephone -Larger Flat screen LCD Television and DVD player -some have a 2 person spa. Attic Suite 5 and Bayview Cottage. -BBQ and Gazeebo free use for guests -Off street private parking (free) -Tennis Courts x 2 (fee) Raquets available. -Bicycle hire available. Fishing rods available for hire. -1200+ DVD library in reception (fee) -50M to main swimming beach -30 M to Historic Swansea Barkmill, Cafe/Bakery and Tavern -200M to town centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing