We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Cottage is conveniently located near the main road. Staff were friendly. We were. Given cold milk upon check in for our hot beverages. The room was a comfortable size. Fridge even had chilled wine glasses. I love the heating facilities. Even the toilet had its own ceiling heater. The cottage is surrounded by beautiful flowers. You can even see wild rabbits running around! I'm glad I stayed there. It's really a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Sandieve, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Swansea Cottages.
We are so pleased that you found the location convenient, staff friendly and all to your liking. Our staff take great pride in presentation of facilities, attention to detail and assisting guests during their stay.
Our gardens are truly amazing at this time of year and a credit to Pam the Gardener who does a stunning job and works passionately on maintaining and improving same.
Our rabbits although wild are actually quite tame with many living in and around the cottages.
We are please that you found your suite(motel room) comfortable for your stay. If you get a chance to return perhaps you may be able to try one of our 2 or 3 bedroom cottages which have even more facilities and room than the motel suites for very little more in outlay.
Once again we thank you for your great comments and look forward to you be able to visit again in the near future.

Many thanks
Rob & Toni
Proprietors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 112 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Dove Cottage. It was a 2 bedroom cottage with full kitchen, laundry, lounge and dining area. The cottage was spotlessly clean and the lounge and bed comfortable. The only noise to disturb was the sound of the happy birds in the well manicured garden outside. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Property has cottages and also suites. The suites have kitchenette and microwave, cottages have full...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TassieBoomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

DearTassieBoomerang, Thank you for staying at Swansea Cottages and taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
We are please that you enjoyed your stay in Dove Cottage and that you the same well equipped and spotlessly clean. Our staff and house attendants take great pride in the presentation of the cottages and in providing a warm welcome.
The gardens truly are outstanding and I'll pass your comments onto Pam the gardener who will be most appreciative of your comment.
P.S We do also try to keep our birds happy also as they also seem to like the lovely gardens as well.
Thanks
Rob & Toni
Proprietors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We regularly come up for weekends from Hobart and decided to pay the extra to stay here rather than the usual place (getting tired of the very creaky floors keeping us awake). Friendly, chatty receptionist/owner, spotlessly clean room, super comfy bed, everything needed for a quiet, relaxing weekend. It's not far from the tavern which is a favourite spot for meals and footy. Just a warning, Swansea is poorly lit at night so a torch is recommended for nocturnal wonderings. Most things are closed in winter or limited opening hours but there are two good supermarkets for stocking up on goodies. Can recommend the golf club for a friendly place for drinkiepoos and the RSL Club is a good place for drinks and meals too.

Room Tip: The suites are nice, but connected, apparently the cottages are the go.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nemohobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Nemohobart,
Thankyou for your feedback and positive comment on Tripadvisor after your recent stay at Swansea Cottages. No creaky floorboards to keep you awake as all solid concrete floors with quality floor coverings. We are glad that you found your accommodation comfortable, spotlessly clean and that you had a relaxing weekend.
All our accommodation is heated by reverse cycle heating which makes for an extremely comfortable and warm stay in both suites and cottages.
The suites are all separate and not connected to each other so you have complete privacy during your stay. On your next visit try a fully self contained cottage as not much more than the cost of a suite.
Your tips on the town facilities will be much appreciated by future guests.
Once again thank you for taking the time to post a great review and we look forward to seeing you again in Swansea.

Regards,
Rob & Toni and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived at dusk in Swansea and drove the main strip to the sight of all the shops and restaurants saying 'we are closed.' The power was off all along the coast. We checked into Swansea cottages in one of the Sherbourne lodges on the upper floor. The attic room is large and well furnished with the centrepiece being a large spa ornately tiled. It was very nice and comfortable with a large bed, couch, tv and the spa all in the one open room. Good bathroom. All very clean. The first thing was to get some air into the place as it was hot weather. The windows only opened slightly on chain winders so it was difficult to get a good airflow going. No ceiling fans or a/c. A nice feature of this room is the very thick underlay and carpet designed to lower the noise for the groundfloor guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigbowen234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hi Craig,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Swansea Cottages as well as the Romantic Attic Spa Suite.
We are sorry that the power was off all along the East Coast and Swansea when you arrived. Due to a large bush fire near Hobart Aurora, the power authority switched power off to the whole East Coast for reasons of safety for fire firefighters trying to control the fire.
Great to hear that you found the bed, fittings and furnishings comfortable and liked the centrepiece and ornately tiled two person spa and large LCD TV which can also be viewed from the spa!
Sorry that you found the room warm upon arrival.
The room is air conditioned with a large unit supplying both heating and air conditioning.. There is also a free standing fan in the wardrobe should guests prefer this over air conditioning Of course power is required to operate both of these.
The windows open around 400mm and as they are each side of the room, usually allow a nice cross draft.
Glad you liked the "plush" carpet and underlay. It really does add to the feel of this romantic hideaway as well as keep all noise to a minimum. The internal attic roof walls are also "Wrapped" in a dense sound absorbing material to help maintain absolute guest privacy.
Once again many thanks for your helpful review.
We hope that you enjoyed your visit to our seaside town as well as Tasmania and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards,
Rob & Toni
Proprietors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Beautiful cottages. We stayed in the Swan cottage which had 2 bedrooms. It was very clean, quiet and spacious. It had everything we required for our short stay. We were even given laundry powder to do some washing. Beds were very comfortable, full kitchen with a dishwasher and large fridge. Would be perfect for a longer stay, but unfortunately we didn't have enough time to enjoy a longer stay. Had dinner at the tavern nearby which was also great.

Room Tip: Although the cottages were located on the main road, close to Main Street they were very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tineke_H91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Tineke,
Thank you for your review of Swan Cottage one of our 2 bedroom cottages.
We are pleased that all was to your liking and presented nicely.
Our house attendants take considerable pride in maintaining cleanliness and a high standard of presentation as we also do in providing great accommodation that is comfortable, user friendly and hopefully has many little extras to make guest stays more comfortable and relaxing.
Did you get a chance to visit the nearby beach 50M that our property is adjacent? It is beautiful at this time of year.
Glad that you also enjoyed the nearby Tavern for a meal. They also have a great Bakery/Cafe and provide 1st class full breakfasts. A great start to your day.
Swansea is also fortunate that we have quite a few first class eating establishments as well as great attractions like Kat's Berry Farm and the Historic Swansea Wattle Barkmill. C 1885.
Hopefully next visit you can plan to base yourself in Swansea for 4 to 5 days so that you can not only take in all that this great coast has to offer but also sit back and relax for a day or two.
We certainly look forward to your return visit. Once again many thanks for your comments and review.
Regards,
Rob & Toni
Proprietors
Swansea Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in 2-bedroom Dove cottage for two nights. Helpful, chatty owner. Cottage had just about every amenity you could want from S/C accommodation, including useful washer and drier. Very clean and well looked after generally - the owners clearly take a pride in their business. Signs all over town too, so you can't miss the site. Super bright lights in the bathroom which doubled up as heaters - nice touch.

Rustic bar and pizza place about 3 mins walk away - pizzas huge and recommended. Other options in town, though note that Swansea is small and fairly quiet, and doesn't stay up late.

Nice quiet beach a tiny walk away.

Handy also for Wineglass Bay and the like (45 min drive), and one tenth of the cost of the hotels near there!

Downsides? No view I guess as sites were quite close to one another. But overall this place comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sno878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Sno878,
Thank you for your comments and review of your stay in Dove Cottage at Swansea Cottages.
It is a lovely quaint traditional styles cottages with all the modern conveniences of today.
We are pleased that you found the Dove cottage, clean and well looked after with every amenity you could want. All our cottages and suites(motel style) are exceptionally well equipped in an attempt to cater for all guests comforts and needs.
It is very important to us that guests have great accommodation to relax and unwind in at the end of a long and tiring day of either travel or sight seeing.
With the property being adjacent the beach there are terrific walks and views to photograph and remember long after you have returned home.
Thank you also for your tips about the Historic Swansea Barkmill Tavern and Bakery which are terrific facilities for our guests and only 30 Metres away from our entrance.
We hope you have great memories and photograghs of your time in Tasmania and hopefully will see you visit our great state again in the future and of course back for another sty at Swansea Cottages in Dove Cottage.

Rob & Toni and staff
Swansea Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We loved our stay at the cottages. Everything was catered for in our room to make it feel like home. My wife and I just got married there in Swansea as it is so beautiful. Rob and his staff bent over backwards to help. Thankyou guys, we shall see you again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fambamfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Fambamfive,
Thank you for your review and great comments. These certainly help future guests to ascertain whether accommodation is suitable for their needs.
It was our great pleasure to assist to make sure all went well for your wedding in Swansea.
It was a terrific day and all went exceptionally well. We wish you both and your family the very best for the future. We were privileged to be allowed to assist.
Swansea with its history and being sited on the shores overlooking Great Oyster Bay is certainly a beautiful town and great location to spend a few days relaxing and taking in all that there is to see. It really is central to all on the East Coast and the ideal East Coast destination.

Rob & Toni
Proprietors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.4 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swansea Beach Chalets
Swansea Beach Chalets
#1 of 8 in Swansea
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
401 reviews
11.8 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,084 reviews
10.4 mi away
Freycinet Retreat
Freycinet Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites

Address: 43 Franklin St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Price Range: $144 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites C 1991, offer quality, nicely appointed heritage styled accommodation with a choice of motel suites or 1,2 & 3 bedroom fully self contained cottages. Ideal for business,tourist and holiday travel and set up in its own small village in the historic seaside township of Swansea C 1821. Swansea is at the centre of all on the East Coast and situated adjacent Freycinet National Park and the world renowned Wineglass Bay. It is the ideal location to base your stay t access and visit all on this historic pristine coast! Attractions, natural beauty, endless pristine beaches, National Parks, vineyards and many acclaimed wineries are close by just waiting for you to visit! The East Coast has it all! Accommodation is available for either overnight or longer stays. Minimum stays are required only over the peak Christmas and Easter periods. A small family operated business with dedicated friendly and helpful staff to make you feel at home and are available to assist in planning and making reservations and bookings for you. Total accommodation is available for over 50+ guests, so smaller groups can be catered for in a choice of motel suites or fully self contained cottages. Light breakfast is available from reception with delightful fully cooked breakfasts available at the nearby Swansea Barkmill Bakery from 7.00am (50M) For your convenience:- Cottages have a fully equipped kitchen with microwave, full oven and hot plates as well as dishwasher, sandwich maker and rice cooker, jug and toaster etc. Separate bedrooms, lounge/dining, full private laundry facilities and their own private veranda with outdoor setting. Queen sized beds in a main bedrooms and queen,single, bunk and king single beds in other bedrooms. Motel Rooms are ideal for those guest not requiring the full facilities of a cottage. These are still exceptionally well equipped with their own dining setting, microwave, jug, toaster and crockery & cutlery so that you can prepare your own breakfast should you wish. Lounge area with settee, queen bed and contemporary bathroom. Family rooms contain a queen bed plus single bed as well as a bath in the ensuite bathroom. WiFi is complimentary throughout the property and in all rooms. All accommodation is set amidst expansive cottage gardens. There is direct access to the main swimming beach of Swansea from the property and is but a short stroll over the bank with no roads to cross. All rooms:- - Complimentary WiFi - Air conditioned as well as heated by reverse cycle temperature controlled heating for the ultimate in guest comfort. - IDD telephone - Flat screen LCD Television and DVD player - Some have a Romantic 2 person spa in the bedroom - Attic Suite 5 and Bayview Cottage. -BBQ and Gazebo free use for guests -Off street private parking (free) in your own parking bay. -Tennis Courts x 2 (fee) Rackets available. -Bicycle hire available. -Fishing rods available for hire. -1200+ DVD library in reception (fee) -50M to main swimming beach -50 M to Historic Swansea Barkmill, Cafe/Bakery and Tavern -200M to town centre Attractions:- Kate's Berry Farm Historic Swansea Wattle Bark Museum C.1885 Community Centre Museum/Visitors Centre Vineyards and Wineries. Milton, Springvale, Gala, Freycinet to name a few! Freycinet National Park and Wineglass Bay Maria Island National Park Douglas Apsley national Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Cottages & Motel Suites Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing