We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and quiet”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Dove Cottage. It was a 2 bedroom cottage with full kitchen, laundry, lounge and dining area. The cottage was spotlessly clean and the lounge and bed comfortable. The only noise to disturb was the sound of the happy birds in the well manicured garden outside. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Property has cottages and also suites. The suites have kitchenette and microwave, cottages have full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieBoomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
DearTassieBoomerang, Thank you for staying at Swansea Cottages and taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
We are please that you enjoyed your stay in Dove Cottage and that you the same well equipped and spotlessly clean. Our staff and house attendants take great pride in the presentation of the cottages and in providing a warm welcome.
The gardens truly are outstanding and I'll pass your comments onto Pam the gardener who will be most appreciative of your comment.
P.S We do also try to keep our birds happy also as they also seem to like the lovely gardens as well.
Thanks
Rob & Toni
Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    42
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
40
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We regularly come up for weekends from Hobart and decided to pay the extra to stay here rather than the usual place (getting tired of the very creaky floors keeping us awake). Friendly, chatty receptionist/owner, spotlessly clean room, super comfy bed, everything needed for a quiet, relaxing weekend. It's not far from the tavern which is a favourite spot for meals and footy. Just a warning, Swansea is poorly lit at night so a torch is recommended for nocturnal wonderings. Most things are closed in winter or limited opening hours but there are two good supermarkets for stocking up on goodies. Can recommend the golf club for a friendly place for drinkiepoos and the RSL Club is a good place for drinks and meals too.

Room Tip: The suites are nice, but connected, apparently the cottages are the go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nemohobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Nemohobart,
Thankyou for your feedback and positive comment on Tripadvisor after your recent stay at Swansea Cottages. No creaky floorboards to keep you awake as all solid concrete floors with quality floor coverings. We are glad that you found your accommodation comfortable, spotlessly clean and that you had a relaxing weekend.
All our accommodation is heated by reverse cycle heating which makes for an extremely comfortable and warm stay in both suites and cottages.
The suites are all separate and not connected to each other so you have complete privacy during your stay. On your next visit try a fully self contained cottage as not much more than the cost of a suite.
Your tips on the town facilities will be much appreciated by future guests.
Once again thank you for taking the time to post a great review and we look forward to seeing you again in Swansea.

Regards,
Rob & Toni and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived at dusk in Swansea and drove the main strip to the sight of all the shops and restaurants saying 'we are closed.' The power was off all along the coast. We checked into Swansea cottages in one of the Sherbourne lodges on the upper floor. The attic room is large and well furnished with the centrepiece being a large spa ornately tiled. It was very nice and comfortable with a large bed, couch, tv and the spa all in the one open room. Good bathroom. All very clean. The first thing was to get some air into the place as it was hot weather. The windows only opened slightly on chain winders so it was difficult to get a good airflow going. No ceiling fans or a/c. A nice feature of this room is the very thick underlay and carpet designed to lower the noise for the groundfloor guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigbowen234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Craig,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Swansea Cottages as well as the Romantic Attic Spa Suite.
We are sorry that the power was off all along the East Coast and Swansea when you arrived. Due to a large bush fire near Hobart Aurora, the power authority switched power off to the whole East Coast for reasons of safety for fire firefighters trying to control the fire.
Great to hear that you found the bed, fittings and furnishings comfortable and liked the centrepiece and ornately tiled two person spa and large LCD TV which can also be viewed from the spa!
Sorry that you found the room warm upon arrival.
The room is air conditioned with a large unit supplying both heating and air conditioning.. There is also a free standing fan in the wardrobe should guests prefer this over air conditioning Of course power is required to operate both of these.
The windows open around 400mm and as they are each side of the room, usually allow a nice cross draft.
Glad you liked the "plush" carpet and underlay. It really does add to the feel of this romantic hideaway as well as keep all noise to a minimum. The internal attic roof walls are also "Wrapped" in a dense sound absorbing material to help maintain absolute guest privacy.
Once again many thanks for your helpful review.
We hope that you enjoyed your visit to our seaside town as well as Tasmania and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards,
Rob & Toni
Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gembrook, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Beautiful cottages. We stayed in the Swan cottage which had 2 bedrooms. It was very clean, quiet and spacious. It had everything we required for our short stay. We were even given laundry powder to do some washing. Beds were very comfortable, full kitchen with a dishwasher and large fridge. Would be perfect for a longer stay, but unfortunately we didn't have enough time to enjoy a longer stay. Had dinner at the tavern nearby which was also great.

Room Tip: Although the cottages were located on the main road, close to Main Street they were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tineke_H91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Tineke,
Thank you for your review of Swan Cottage one of our 2 bedroom cottages.
We are pleased that all was to your liking and presented nicely.
Our house attendants take considerable pride in maintaining cleanliness and a high standard of presentation as we also do in providing great accommodation that is comfortable, user friendly and hopefully has many little extras to make guest stays more comfortable and relaxing.
Did you get a chance to visit the nearby beach 50M that our property is adjacent? It is beautiful at this time of year.
Glad that you also enjoyed the nearby Tavern for a meal. They also have a great Bakery/Cafe and provide 1st class full breakfasts. A great start to your day.
Swansea is also fortunate that we have quite a few first class eating establishments as well as great attractions like Kat's Berry Farm and the Historic Swansea Wattle Barkmill. C 1885.
Hopefully next visit you can plan to base yourself in Swansea for 4 to 5 days so that you can not only take in all that this great coast has to offer but also sit back and relax for a day or two.
We certainly look forward to your return visit. Once again many thanks for your comments and review.
Regards,
Rob & Toni
Proprietors
Swansea Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in 2-bedroom Dove cottage for two nights. Helpful, chatty owner. Cottage had just about every amenity you could want from S/C accommodation, including useful washer and drier. Very clean and well looked after generally - the owners clearly take a pride in their business. Signs all over town too, so you can't miss the site. Super bright lights in the bathroom which doubled up as heaters - nice touch.

Rustic bar and pizza place about 3 mins walk away - pizzas huge and recommended. Other options in town, though note that Swansea is small and fairly quiet, and doesn't stay up late.

Nice quiet beach a tiny walk away.

Handy also for Wineglass Bay and the like (45 min drive), and one tenth of the cost of the hotels near there!

Downsides? No view I guess as sites were quite close to one another. But overall this place comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sno878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Sno878,
Thank you for your comments and review of your stay in Dove Cottage at Swansea Cottages.
It is a lovely quaint traditional styles cottages with all the modern conveniences of today.
We are pleased that you found the Dove cottage, clean and well looked after with every amenity you could want. All our cottages and suites(motel style) are exceptionally well equipped in an attempt to cater for all guests comforts and needs.
It is very important to us that guests have great accommodation to relax and unwind in at the end of a long and tiring day of either travel or sight seeing.
With the property being adjacent the beach there are terrific walks and views to photograph and remember long after you have returned home.
Thank you also for your tips about the Historic Swansea Barkmill Tavern and Bakery which are terrific facilities for our guests and only 30 Metres away from our entrance.
We hope you have great memories and photograghs of your time in Tasmania and hopefully will see you visit our great state again in the future and of course back for another sty at Swansea Cottages in Dove Cottage.

Rob & Toni and staff
Swansea Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We loved our stay at the cottages. Everything was catered for in our room to make it feel like home. My wife and I just got married there in Swansea as it is so beautiful. Rob and his staff bent over backwards to help. Thankyou guys, we shall see you again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fambamfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Owner at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Fambamfive,
Thank you for your review and great comments. These certainly help future guests to ascertain whether accommodation is suitable for their needs.
It was our great pleasure to assist to make sure all went well for your wedding in Swansea.
It was a terrific day and all went exceptionally well. We wish you both and your family the very best for the future. We were privileged to be allowed to assist.
Swansea with its history and being sited on the shores overlooking Great Oyster Bay is certainly a beautiful town and great location to spend a few days relaxing and taking in all that there is to see. It really is central to all on the East Coast and the ideal East Coast destination.

Rob & Toni
Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Visited for two nights 21st 22nd Jan 2013. Arrived early around 12:30 from a long trip, so very tired. We were greeted by the not so friendly owner. Saving rather rudely , that we have to come back at two o'clock, because the room wasn't ready. No offer to store our bags or give any details what his town had to offer. So first impression wasn't good.
We had a very small room ,about the size of a garage. Was supposed to be self contained. No stove,no sink and the smallest fridge I have seen. No foxtel . DVD to hire for $8. The room smelt of ants. Yes I have read that they were having an ant problem.
Thanks goodness for the tavern up the road and a short drive to Coles Bay. We had stayed in three accommodations in Tasmania for our 10days stay. The most expensive was this one and the worst stay...sorry I really don't have anything good to say about this place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela16573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robh52T, Front Office Manager at Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Angela thankyou for your review. We value our guest’s comments as it helps us review our policies and make any necessary alterations to our delivery of service. I apologise for the initial response to your early check in, our staff have a window period of 4 hours cleaning time to ensure that rooms are cleaned to the highest standard that is why we advertise that check in is at 2 pm. I make no apology for the garage size room as you did book a double suite ( standard motel style room ) no where do we advertise that a motel room is fully self contained- we offer value for money by providing a pillow top queen size bed and mattress, electric blanket, fridge/freezer with ice cubes, microwave with microwave containers, toaster, kettle, cutlery, crockery, selection of tea, coffee, biscuits, hot chocolate, chopping board and knives, coffee plunger pot, tea pot, vegetable peeler, picnic cooler, wine glasses, beer glasses, couch, digital clock /radio, dining table and chairs, separate writing desk, air conditioning (the only accommodation complex in Swansea ), large LCD TV, DVD player, iron/ironing board, separate ensuite bathroom with hair dryer and selection of guest amenities ( soap, shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer, vanity kit), glad wrap, washing up bowl, sponge and detergent purely for your convenience. Most motel rooms provide tea making facilities only and you need to wash up your cup in the bathroom sink. Our cottages on the other hand are 2 or 3 bedroom fully self contained with stove, dishwasher and full kitchen and laundry facilities. You did however choose a double suite. I thank you for this opportunity to high light to future guest’s the detailed facilities we supply in our motel/suite rooms.
Signed
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.4 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
442 reviews
20.7 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Swansea Beach Chalets
Swansea Beach Chalets
#1 of 8 in Swansea
287 reviews
9.8 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
11.8 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge

Property: Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge
Address: 43 Franklin St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality,exceptionally well appointed motel suites and 1,2 & 3 bedroom fully self contained cottages well suited for business,tourist and holiday accommodation set up as a quaint heritage styled village on the East Coast of Tasmania. Situated in the historic seaside township of Swansea adjacent Freycinet National Park and the world nenowned Wineglass Bay. Available overnight and for longer stays. FREE parking, free WiFi, free use of barbeque. A small family operated business with dedicated friendly and helpful staff to not only make you feel at home but also to assist in planning your stay and assisting with reservations and bookings for you. Established Circa 1991. Total accommodation for 60+ guests in both motel suites and fully self contained 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages. Light breakfast available from reception with fully cooked breakfasts available at the Swansea Barkmill Bakery from 7.00am. 30M Your choice of well equipped 1 bedroom Motel Suites or fully equipped self contained 1. 2 and 3 bedroom accommodation. Fully equipped kitchen with microwave, full oven and hot plates as well as dishwasher, sandwich maker and rice cooker, jug and toaster. WiFi is complimentary throughout the entire property and in all rooms. Suites and cottages are sitauted adjacent the beach and surrounded by expansive cottage gardens. All rooms:- -are air conditioned as well as heated by reverse cycle heating. -equipped with IDD telephone -Larger Flat screen LCD Television and DVD player -some have a 2 person spa. Attic Suite 5 and Bayview Cottage. -BBQ and Gazeebo free use for guests -Off street private parking (free) -Tennis Courts x 2 (fee) Raquets available. -Bicycle hire available. Fishing rods available for hire. -1200+ DVD library in reception (fee) -50M to main swimming beach -30 M to Historic Swansea Barkmill, Cafe/Bakery and Tavern -200M to town centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Cottages & Sherbourne Lodge Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing