We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place of total relaxation, romance and decadence”
other travelers have booked this property
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Huon Pine bath looking to Maria Island A luxurious king size bed in the Tasmanian bush
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Rocky Hills Retreat early morning light
Huon Pine bath looking to Maria Island
A luxurious king size bed in the Tasmanian bush
Big feather topped couches at Rocky Hills Retreat
A beautiful bathroom
Entry to the Art Studio Rocky Hills Retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Swansea, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Coyley22
Launceston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place of total relaxation, romance and decadence”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Third visit to Rocky Hills for us and it just gets better. Great place to switch off from the world and switch on to each other !!
Highly recommended as a place to totally relax and enjoy the experience of just 2 people in beautiful hibernation.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2016
Thank you for your kind words! We love having people come back to visit and are so pleased that you love us too!! Do come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leagamble
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“They have thought of everything”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We celebrated a special occasion at a very special place - Rocky Hills Retreat. The house is just amazing - the design and aesthetics are seriously impressive but most importantly it is very, very comfortable. They have thought of everything you could ever need to be pampered and relaxed. To have that view with full privacy is truly unique and after bathing in the outdoor tub, I never want to shower indoors again. I think you have spoiled us forever now - how can anywhere else compare?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
Just come back and enjoy our shower and tub. Thank you for taking the time to provide such a lovely review.
Best wishes
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurringaF...
Hamilton Tasmania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Uncompromising committment to quality”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A perfect stay thank you to Ann and team.
The opening words in the room compendium remain in my mind. "Our uncompromising commitment to quality" state it all. A perfect place to unwind and escape from day to day busy-ness. Ann's warm welcome introduction from the first moment we arrived, set the scene for 2 nights away where every attention to detail was considered. Supplies, views, furnishings and the outside bath built for two set an amazing scene to watch the stars twinkle by. So peaceful and relaxing. Thank you. From Tim and Jane.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor bath and perfect views
Liked least: loved it all.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
It is fabulous to receive such an amazing review from our industry colleagues; who themselves do a fantastic job @ Curringa Farm. Come back again when you need some relaxation.
Thank you and kind regards
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiri M
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful & relaxing”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My partner and I stayed here for two nights,
very creative and magical layout,
we loved the breathtaking view from the floor to ceiling windows
everything is supplied ( if you pay a little extra for a treat )
because the drive is about 20mins from the closest town- so you don't have to leave if you don't want to :)

The bed is soo comfy ! and if you do have the chance to soak in the spa on the deck "DO IT"
its something you won't regret.

We had a blast in the exclusive Art studio supplied with everything you can think of we spent about 5hrs in there, theres also a fireplace, couch, tea / coffee selection so you can really kick out and be creative !

i would highly recommend RHR to couples out there looking for something hidden away in peace and quite and enjoy some quality time together !

thank you for having us !

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
We are so pleased you had such a wonderful time during your stay. Glad you found your creative streak! Do come back again.
Kind regards
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheri H
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Majestic views from a heavenly retreat.”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

If there is a heaven on earth, then this must surely be it! Perfect in every way. From the majestic views to the giant, orange sofas, the glorious wood burner to the well stocked complimentary pantry and very reasonably priced mini bar. This really is an experience. A peaceful retreat in the true sense of the words. With only the wildlife and in particular the family of kookaburras to share the mountain top. When we arrived we were greeted by Ann, who gave us a run down of the retreat and made us feel welcome and at home from the time we arrived there. If you do feel the need to wander off the mountain top, the local surrounds are most stunning and won't disappoint! If you are going to stay here just be aware that it really is at the top of the mountain and whilst you don't need a 4x4 to get to the top, you shouldn't be a timid driver!! This retreat is a very special place. We will be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Dear Cheri, thank you for your lovely review of Rocky Hills Retreat. We are so pleased that you enjoyed every detail of your break in the peace and quiet of Rocky Hills' tranquil wilderness an we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Very best wishes,
-Amanda and the Avalon Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel68_1...
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing Weekend Break at this Romantic Getaway!”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for 3 nights as a birthday treat and the whole experience exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived. The retreat is very private and has every little detail considered. The retreat is beautiful - the gorgeous view, the tasteful furnishings, the wonderfully appointed kitchen and pantry, the luxurious bed and that amazing bath on the deck. I love outdoor baths - they remind me of Japanese onsens which I adore- and this one was fantastic. Sitting in the rain with a glass of bubbles enjoying the hot bath was a definite highlight. The art studio was beyond our dreams. It is just amazing and has so many ways to be creative and enjoy the space. We really enjoyed our time here with the crackling wood heater and the artwork of others to inspire us.
I also loved the walks around the retreat - lots of wildlife and the beautiful, fresh bush after the rain.
The fact that the retreat is wheelchair accessible is wonderful - so many luxury accommodation spots are not. We loved our romantic weekend here and will definitely return. This our new number one in Tassie!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
Dear Angel168, We are over the moon to hear that your birthday stay at Rocky Hills was so wonderful and exceeded your expectations! Thank you so much for taking the time out to write about your experience on Tripadvisor. We love working to create the perfect atmosphere for celebration and relaxation at Rocky Hills and it's so rewarding to hear that our attention to detail contributed to creating an unforgettable birthday experience for you! Thank you for naming us as number 1! Very best wishes, -Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, view, comfort, facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
Dear James, We are so happy to hear that you loved your mid winter getaway at Rocky Hills Retreat! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely words. We hope to welcome you back again one day soon. Best wishes, -Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing