We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty meals & friendly service”

Salt Shaker Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Swansea
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Saltshaker Café and Restaurant we cater for breakfast/lunch and dinner dining in our restaurant ... .To compliment our offerings, enjoy your meal or drinks on the deck overlooking the bay towards Freycinet and The Hazards.On a calm sunny day, watch the fisherman launch and retrieve their boats - a popular and sometimes a very entertaining experience.On a full moon night, the reflections on the water are stunning.Both the Restaurant and Café are fully licensed so enjoy a selection from our beverage or wine list while you take in the view.If you're planning to enjoy our dining experience, be sure to reserve a table. we have now expanded our deck to take another level, offering seating outside for around 60 people. we also specialise in gourmet and regular pizza's open till late for take aways, or during meal times. If nothing else, be sure to do some "Decktime" at Saltshaker .... you won't be disappointed.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very tasty meals & friendly service”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

It had local wines on the menu.
The pork belly meal was amazing.
Good friendly service.
Views over Oyster Bay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    191
    81
    59
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deloraine, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High Standard”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Decided to dine at this restaurant after checking out quite a few establishment's in town and was very impressed from the the moment I walked in the door. The staff were very friendly and the service excellent. At first it was a little quiet but by the time I was ready to leave almost every table was taken. Good service, great views, excellent food....what else is there to tell....oh yeah try the frozen honeycomb slice for dessert !!

Helpful?
Thank Mick50H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seafood chowder not to be missed”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

This was only place we could see open for dinner so had low expectations - we were very wrong. The staff were lovely & had a lot of wine knowledge, the food was delicious (seafood chowder was probably the best I've ever had) & the service was quick. Whilst casual decor, the atmosphere was welcoming. Would definitely go back if we were here another night.

Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgieL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Broyle, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed dinner and the view!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

A good meal in a comfortable, casual environment with a view of the water. Friendly wait staff. Include this restaurant when you stay in / near Swansea.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not that enthused...”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We visited on a wet and fairly quiet evening, with a booking earlier in the day. I was a little bit surprised that with a number of window or window-adjacent tables free we were seated in the back corner near the wine rack...but it was getting dark anyway (those tables remained empty whilst we were there).

The wine list is extensive, but I was so disappointed that there were only a tiny handful of local pinots, and of the three, only one by the glass (bottle price in general ~$35-70). We had crispy pork belly, which was yummy but not amazing (my partner's was a little dry) and probably could have done with a little more seasoning. The vegetables were good; nice and fresh with a bit of crunch, but the gratin was a little eggy and also could have used a touch more seasoning. Starters were oysters and bread, and that's all that really needs to be said.

Not terrible, but we weren't in a rush to go back the following night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sosaidellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Shaker Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Salt Shaker Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing