We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meredith House and Mews
Ranked #1 of 8 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We stayed in the original house not the units next door for 2 nights. The bedroom was spacious and had a good ensuit. It all well heated and tastefully decorated throughout the whole house.
Free internet connection was an unexpected nice touch to check my emails.
Really, i couldn't fault our stay there. It was superb. The hosts , Neil and ? were friendly but unobtrusive. They directed us to a number of good places to eat whilst also providing a great breakfast. The view from our upstairs room over the water was quite nice and it was a short walk down the road to see the sights of Swansea.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slatsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    107
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
89
387
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We were welcomed with home-made cake. Our room was just as described, though the shower room was rather small, but characterful. The view out to sea, the furniture and the antique character were as we anticipated. Large flat-screen satellite TV when we needed it. A complimentary carafe of quaffable port. Noel and Neil's breakfasts are outstanding: fruit juices, home-made banana and other smoothies, home-made muffins, croissants and buns, the best fresh fruit we tasted anywhere, abundant tea and coffee, etc. On the second morning they remembered that one of us preferred scrambled egg. To cap it all, at the end of the meal Noel came round with bags for us to take away for lunch all the muffins we could not manage to eat at breakfast. Superb hospitality. We also had free internet access at the computer on the landing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Battlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

My partner and I had stayed at the Meredith House for 2 nights while visiting East Coast of Tasmania. We had decided on booking the Meredith House after reading some fantastic reviews on the place and the place has definiltey lived up and exceeded our expectations.

The breakfast which is provoided in the morning is absolutely FABULOUS. There's the super juice (my favourite), banana smoothie, fresh fruits, museli, toast, crossiant, muffins and the fully cooked breakfast. Also, thanks to the chicks in the garden, the eggs that were used in our breakfast were all fresh.

The only slight disappointment was that we had initially booked into the Heritage Spa Suite, however, on arriaval we were advised that as they were upgrading the TV in all the rooms, the TV in the Heritage Spa Suite was not yet ready and therefore were offered Spa Queen Studio instead at a better price. We really didn't mind as we are sure we will be back one day and will get another chance of staying in the Heritage Spa Suite.

Neal and Noel were both fantastic, they had definiltey made the stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrine_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We stayed at Meredith House and Mews for a couple of nights. We chose to stay in one of the 'Mews' apartments and were very happy with the accommodation.

We had checked out the website before hand and knew there was port on arrival - (I was expecting a small glass for each of us) - there was a carafe full!

The mews apartment had a balcony at the back leading into the most gorgeous and tranquil landscaped gardens we've ever seen. The gardens were simply stunning and so well maintained. They were full of native plants thus attracting native birds. The gardens were magic. We spent hours in them. Lush lawns, sweet smells and birds singing. Heaven.

The breakfast was hearty. So much food to choose from. The banana smoothie is to die for although the bacon was a little fatty.

We loved staying at Meredith House. The hosts were so friendly and helpful. Free parking directly out the front of the apartment.

Only one small complaint... We booked a room with a spa and unfortunately both the spa and the bathroom sink were unsanitised. There were rings of pink bacteria around the bathroom sink taps, sink hole and around the spa jets & water outlet.

Might be also good to note that the tap water in Swansea is not fit for consumption. Best to boil & filter your water first although the hosts at Meredit Mews provide plenty of chilled and room temperature water safe for consumption.

Overall we had a fabulous time at Meredith Mews. Lovely tranquil and serene place to stay. Excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandTressna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this review, November 25, 2009
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay but concerned about the spa and bathroom taps. It is our intention to provide a clean and safe environment for our guests and wish that you had pointed this out to us when you were here. As you stated our water comes straight from the river and is not filtered in any way which means that it sometimes has a high level of silt in it, this unfortunately causes the brown staining around the taps. We have, as a consequence of your comments, reviewed our room sign-off procedures for the housekeepers and will be ensuring that this doesn't happen again. We hope that you will come and stay with us again, if only to check that we have kept our word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Stayed here in July 09 with my husband and 5 year old son. The hosts Neil and Noel were absolutely lovely and couldn't be more helpful. We stayed in the downstairs suite which had an open fire and spa. Room was spacious, nice linen and the room was tastefully decorated with antique style furniture, very cosy and comfortable.

The best part of staying at Meredith House was the breakfast. As well as the usual bacon, eggs etc to order, there was porridge, crossiants, muffins, the most divine stewed fruits, breads, jams, cereals, the list goes on. As well as orange and pear juices, there was even home-made fruit juice with ginger and even banana smoothie!

There was a knock on our door in the afternoon with home-made chocolate cake and donuts, YUM! Quite unexpected and a nice touch.

The house itself is well situated with views of the bay and walking distance to shops etc.

I'd definitely recommend Meredith House, we LOVED it! Thanks Neil and Noel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melwollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Wonderful hosts, clean rooms, breakfast's fit for kings, We stayed in the Mew's Studio's ,and we had all the privacy we needed.

Neal & Noel were the perfect hosts,we will go back again.
Well done Guys.*****

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Hosts, Neil & Noel were the best hosts one could hope for. Great cooks too! Our room in this delightful 19th Century house was beautifully decorated in the heritage style with an added benefit of a small ensuite! The breakfasts are to die for! Included in the reasonable price. Fruit juices including a mixed celery,orange, carrot one, fresh fruits, figs, peaches and blueberries, plums, prunes, yoghurt. Fresh muffins served at the table where also was fresh croissants. Homemade bread cut for toast and served with sausages, bacon, mushrooms, egg and tomato. Tea was in a lovely glass teapot.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie6mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
429 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freycinet Waters
Freycinet Waters
#2 of 8 in Swansea
164 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#3 of 8 in Swansea
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meredith House and Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meredith House and Mews

Property: Meredith House and Mews
Address: 15 Noyes St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meredith House and Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meredith House is a heritage listed 1853 property located centrally in the beautiful seaside town of Swansea on the east coast of Tasmania, the perfect base from which to explore the Freycinet Region and all it has to offer, including Wineglass Bay and Maria Island. 11 en-suite rooms, four with spa bathrooms. Full breakfast is included in the tariff. Meredith House is renowned for its excellent service; we were voted the Peoples Choice at the 2006 Tasmanian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meredith House and Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meredith House And Mews Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing