We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meredith House and Mews
Ranked #1 of 8 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We shared one of the cottage mews with our teenage son. The place has character, including the hosts, and overall liked the quaint experience even if the beds were a little uncomfortable, and the shower was very basic. These things didn't bother us. The breakfast was good, loved the home baked croissants, muffins etc and the fact that we were given a plastic bag to take them away with us on our day's outing. The hosts pay alot of attention to giving the best service and the two little dogs were cute as well. Very informative about restaurants in the town, and agree with other reviewers - you must eat early in this town. We had fish and chips both nights from the fish and chip where you can either eat in or do take away. Had a nice walk around the bay. We didn't realise however, that there is not much to do in Swansea itself - you have to go to Coles Bay to look at Freycinet National Park so be prepared. Best advice is to book yourself in for the boat trip into Wineglass Bay as it books up pretty quickly. Also recommend the walk up to the lookout over Wineglass Bay and the walk to the lighthouse.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the house, as we stayed in the cottage mews, but had breakfast in the house and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottishsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for your review, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. As you say the main attraction for people here is the Freycinet National Park, however, there are a number of things you might have done while in Swansea, there are many beautiful secluded coves and beaches to walk, the Heritage centre and Museum and Kates Berry Farm is a great attraction; Swansea also has a greater array of eating places than many similar sized east coast towns, so we feel we also have something to offer visitors, even if we do not have the dramatic views of Coles Bay; but thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 626 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

A lovely first night in Tasmania. Such a lovely welcome to be handed fresh muffins and also on the table in our delightfully decorated room a small carafe of port.
Breakfast was especially upmarket and generous even being offered a bag to take fresh muffins for our onward travel.
Definitely recommend an will go again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Our one night stay was as delightful as we had anticipated. The two bedroom suite was very clean beautifully decorated and with a pleasant view of the surrounding hills. The breakfast was wonderfully presented in a sunny prettily furnished room where all the guests seemed relaxed and happy. Swansea looked amazing as we headed off for a picturesque walk before breakfast around the water. If you plan to arrive in the evening as we did eat first, as this lovely town doesn't cater for late meals.Our host fortunately warned us of this and provided suggestions of where to eat prior to our arrival. We hope to return and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: We had the two room suite which was great with the kids room accessed from our room, we shared the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Meredith House was great. Comfortable and cosy. Neil and Noel were very accommodating and we really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast terrific. Highly recommend Meredith House. We travel to Swansea once a year our first time at Meredith House and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

A stunning and expertly run property. Beautiful house and grounds. The mews was fantastically well equipped and led on to a wonderful little garden complete with barbeque. Attention to detail evident not only in room but in all aspects of the hospitality from booking right through to the doggy bag to make the most of the baked goodies at breakfast. Excellent location - quiet and easy access to main street, restaurants and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hoogerlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is the place where I felt my Tasmanian holiday truly began. The house is beautiful, and the spa suite that we had was luxurious and completely comfortable, with incredible attention to detail. We felt very relaxed and at home here, and truly couldn't fault it. The full cooked breakfast was fantastic! Also, love the dogs Dougal and Lulu.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EmmaB419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a really cosy B&B. Its also well located in easy drive of Freycinet national park & there are also several restaurants & a few shops in easy walking distance including a pub that I forget the name of that had surprisingly good food. The hosts really couldn't do enough to help you and were very friendly. This place cooks & serves the best breakfast I have ever had & on finding I am gluten intolerant they insisted on cooking me separate GF muffins, rolls & porridge which was way more than I could eat. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macreviwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
489 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#2 of 8 in Swansea
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schouten House
Schouten House
#4 of 8 in Swansea
97 reviews
9.7 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meredith House and Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meredith House and Mews

Address: 15 Noyes St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range: $132 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meredith House and Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meredith House is a heritage listed 1853 property located centrally in the beautiful seaside town of Swansea on the east coast of Tasmania, the perfect base from which to explore the Freycinet Region and all it has to offer, including Wineglass Bay and Maria Island. 11 en-suite rooms, four with spa bathrooms. Full breakfast is included in the tariff. Meredith House is renowned for its excellent service; we were voted the Peoples Choice at the 2006 Tasmanian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meredith House and Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meredith House And Mews Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing