We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meredith House and Mews
Ranked #1 of 8 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

An excellent guesthouse in a beautiful part of the world, travelled up from hobart to a beautiful location with great views, I cannot praise this place enough lovely room excellent breakfast ansd welcoming hosts ...a must stay if your in the area

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip19820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    108
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
93
391
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Meredith House was recommended to us by friends, and it lived up to all expectations. We were offered a choice of rooms, and chose the mews because we had a fair amount of luggage. The house is most impressive from the outside, and the garden setting is beautiful. Each of the mews rooms had an outdoor area opening on to the garden. We were given fresh muffins on arrival, and a "doggy bag" each morning at breakfast, so we could enjoy muffins (a different variety each day) or pastries for morning tea. Noel & Neal were very friendly and welcoming, and even provided a recipe card for the "house specialty", their baked porridge. The rooms were bright, beautifully presented and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarJohn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a "rescue" from a bad room over at Freycinet. How glad we're we to find this gem?!

Meredith House consists of upper floor accommodation in the heritage house, plus 4 ground floor suites in an adjacent Mews building. Ours was the Studio Mews, with queen bed and accessible bathroom, but no spa. Fine by us. We could park directly outside the door, and lug our (voluminous) luggage inside. We had a view of the House gardens, which also includes a BBQ space for those staying longer. It's a compact space, yet includes a dining setting and kitchenette area (microwave,not stove). Heat is by radiator and electric heater; and electric blankets, fluffy doona and blankets on the bed.

Dinners can be obtained at a selection of close and nearby restaurants and taverns - your hosts will happily recommend the best. Save room for breakfast the next day, because...

Noel and Neal put together a HUGE spread of continental and hot food for your included breakfast. If you're lucky, you might get to try Noel's baked ricotta on your fresh fruit and crumpets. The bacon, eggs and sausages are sourced locally from specialty producers; the stories of how they vary by the season are fascinating. You'll certainly leave stuffed to the brim, and may have to take some of the fresh pastries with you in a 'doggie bag' - better than leaving them to the resident doggies!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Meredith house which we chose based on Trip Advisor reviews. Our room was beautiful and we had a lovely view into town. The host were wonderful and the breakfast was excellent. An easy walk to several restaurants though we must recommend 'Banc'. I'm sure you won't be disappointed with your stay here. The muffins on arrival and tea and coffee selections are just some of the areas that Neil and Noels attention to detail excelled in.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SarahKFitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Meredith House was the first B&B my wife and I had ever stayed in anywhere, and what a great first up stay.
When we pulled up outside of this beautiful building there was apart of me that wondered if it was going to be as good as the recommendations that people had given it.
That all started to disappear as soon as we walked in the door. Noel and Neal have done such a great job in the presentation of everything in the house it is obvious they love what they are doing.
Our room was located upstairs and was simply amazing. Comfortable bed, great decoration and finish and a small finishing touch of a complementary port to end the day was a nice touch.
Breakfast here is just first-class. Home made croissants and muffins, fruits and fresh fruit juices, baked porridge (to die for), followed by cooked eggs, bacon, sausage, mushrooms etc....great start to the day. Plus if you don't eat the muffins and croissants, they are given to you to take away to be enjoyed later.
Meredith House is in a great location and within walking distance to just about everything. We stayed 2 nights and walked each night to the Salt Shaker Restaurant at the bottom of the hill for dinner. (great place.)
We had a great stay here and loved the whole feel of the place. There is a sitting room downstairs that is a good place for a read and a wine and the gardens are worth a look as well.
Would stay here again......but for longer.
Noel and Neal also have a couple of "Westy's", Dougal and Lulu that are a couple of characters never too far from anyone that gives them a pat.

Room Tip: Stay in the house for a special room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazznSon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Exceptionally generous and knowledgeable hosts. Excellent location. Superior accommodation.
This was our first experience staying in a B&B and turned out to be an excellent choice. The breakfasts are amazing, as was our well equipped Mews room. Congratulations to the hosts on a job very well done. Peter and Wesley, Hong Kong.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our group of 4 spent 3 nights here and congratulate Noel & Neal on this well run B & B. We had 2 suites and they were large, clean with everything you require. There is a laundry and BBQ if you felt like cooking your own meals. The breakfasts were excellent with lots of home made treats which Noel & Neal are happy to package up for your morning tea. The choice for breakfast was sensational just what a good B&B should offer. SO if heading Swansea way this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
292 reviews
11.7 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#3 of 8 in Swansea
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freycinet Waters
Freycinet Waters
#2 of 8 in Swansea
171 reviews
9.7 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meredith House and Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meredith House and Mews

Property: Meredith House and Mews
Address: 15 Noyes St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meredith House and Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meredith House is a heritage listed 1853 property located centrally in the beautiful seaside town of Swansea on the east coast of Tasmania, the perfect base from which to explore the Freycinet Region and all it has to offer, including Wineglass Bay and Maria Island. 11 en-suite rooms, four with spa bathrooms. Full breakfast is included in the tariff. Meredith House is renowned for its excellent service; we were voted the Peoples Choice at the 2006 Tasmanian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meredith House and Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meredith House And Mews Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing