We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meredith House and Mews
Ranked #1 of 8 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had one night here and all the good things said about Meredith House are true. The building is historic so expect a few creaks and groans but it is beautifully appointed, clean and spacious. The hosts are fabulous and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. We were greeted with freshly baked muffins and a genuine welcome. The breakfast is amazing - lots of selections, freshly prepared and high quality. All in all a lovely place to spend a night or two.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    108
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
92
390
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We loved our recent stay at Meredith House. Noel & Neil, our hosts provided every service and the breakfast was to die for! Rooms were pretty as well as being clean and comfortable with good ensuite facilities. Plus it's a convenient spot to stay if you're visiting Freycinet.

Room Tip: Our room was the front north east room - great view & sunshine in the morning. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed for a one night stay in Nov 12. Noel and Neal are just the perfect hosts. The rooms were well furnished with beautiful decor in standing with the period of the house. Everything was clean and fresh. An added touch in the room to tea/coffee was milo and hot chocolate which I love. We had a lovely view to the water, location quiet and plenty of parking space even if you had a caravan/camper trailer in tow. 2 well behaved puppies on sight Lulu & Dougall. Noel is full of great info about the local area and sights to see. He is very well travelled and has a great insight to the needs of the guests. All the breakfast is prepared from scratch with Noel starting his day at 4am. Bacon, eggs, toast, mushrooms tomato, muffins, freshly made juice, tea/coffee gets you off to a great start to the day. We even got a doggy bag. I would definately stay again and would recommend a stay without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port arthur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The only thing more memorable than the incredible, enormous breakfast was the absolutely adorable pair of dogs which greet you upon arrival. Noel and Neal offer a truly exceptional B&B experience, with extremely comfortable rooms and an over the top breakfast which makes you wish you had skipped dinner the night before. A little pricey, but well worth it for the lovely experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KelandPatPortArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Meredith House on a number of occasions over the years and have had the opportunity to stay in two of the different room types available. Both were excellent but loved the suite, inside the historic house, with the open fire - what a treat !! A couple of reviewers have made some strange comments on the decor of the property but really folks, the decor is appropriate and also very beautiful - it is an historic property after all.

The welcoming muffins on my last visit were also to die for. My husband tells me that the breakfast is fantastic but unfortunately the beds are so comfy that I can't get myself out in time for breakfast !!

It is always a pleasure to see Neil and Noel and their cute and friendly little lulu and we look forward to our next visit when in Swansea.

Torey from the other side of the river.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Talk about a step back in time - and loving it. Meredith House could easily be the setting for a Miss Marple murder mystery. Everything is so authentic - the furniture, the lighting - the decore, the good old-fashioned hearty home-cooked breakfast - the genial hosts.

We had a terrific room with a view over Great Oyster Bay from which to watch the romantic sunsets and being only a small B & B / Hotel there was never any issues with noisy guests etc. It was all very discrete and mannered - just like stepping into a period drama.

We chose the location for its proximity to the Freycinet Peninsula and to avoid paying much higher rates - it's only a 45 minute drive to the National Park, so we drove in and out each day.

And Swansea is a beautifully quite town in its own right with secluded beaches and plenty of fresh air - it's easy to relax and Meredith house was the perfect quite little "cottage" to retire to each evening. The perfect location for the artist in us all. AW (Tony) Scott

Room Tip: Book early & ask for a room with a view - there's only a few to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I as well as our best friends stayed at this beautiful B & B for a total of 4 nights. Everything about our stay was fantastic. On arrival we were shown to our rooms, which were delightful and we just loved the old style furniture and bed linen. Our rooms were really spacious with an amazing spa bath/shower and tea/coffee making facilities also a plate of complimentary homemade cakes and a decanter of port which we all thought was a really friendly gesture.

Well the breakfasts, what can I say, they were' brilliant', the best breakfast's we had ever had anywhere and between the four of us, that is really saying something. My favourite was the "Baked Porridge' it was so tasty and the 'super juice'. Our husband's totally indulged in the homemade croissants, apple strudel cake and warm fresh muffins, while my best friend and I indulged in the hot breakfasts with beautiful mushrooms. All the comments about the breakfasts are true, you don't need to eat for hours after, and we are all missing Meredith House terribly and the breakfasts.

One of the highlights of our stay was spending a chilly afternoon in the sitting room listening to the beautiful classical music in the background, sipping on some port by the warm fireplace. We felt like we were actually living back in time, we felt privileged to be sitting on the beautiful antique chairs.

Noel and Neil's cute little dog Lulu was so adorable, she was never allowed in the breakfast room and was mainly kept out in the back room, but we all fell in love with her and wanted to take her home.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here, we are all most definately going back to visit the boys again on our next visit to Tasmania.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review, we really enjoyed meeting you all and having you stay, we're so glad you enjoyed it and hope to be able to welcome you gain one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Waterloo Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
9.7 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#2 of 8 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meredith House and Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meredith House and Mews

Property: Meredith House and Mews
Address: 15 Noyes St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meredith House and Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meredith House is a heritage listed 1853 property located centrally in the beautiful seaside town of Swansea on the east coast of Tasmania, the perfect base from which to explore the Freycinet Region and all it has to offer, including Wineglass Bay and Maria Island. 11 en-suite rooms, four with spa bathrooms. Full breakfast is included in the tariff. Meredith House is renowned for its excellent service; we were voted the Peoples Choice at the 2006 Tasmanian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meredith House and Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meredith House And Mews Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing