We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights in Swansea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meredith House and Mews
Ranked #1 of 8 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2012

room adequate
helpfulness outstanding
huge breakfast but OTT

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 0sunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 607 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

Great spot to stay, looked after our gear while we headed north, changed our bookings to add an extra night, very helpful with advice on local restaurants and wineries and a brilliant breakfast. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hickers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during a weeks visit to Tasmania, I had booked all the B&B on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews and I was not disappointed.
The room was airy and though the bathroom was small and dated it was very adequate.
The service was impeccable and the breakfast to die for.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phylsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night earlier this month and our party had 2 rooms - 1 and 6. They were both nicely furnished although the various shades of red, orange and pink in our room clashed a bit and didn't quite work! However, both rooms were spacious, comfortable and had everything we needed.

The breakfast was very good with a huge choice of juices, cereals etc, but we were disappointed with the cooked breakfast. I think it had been standing around as the bacon was very over cooked and was inedible. I wouldn't agree that this was the best brekkie in Tasmania, as had 2 better ones elsewhere.

We found Swansea a bit of a one horse town with a very limited choice of restaurants after 7pm. We went to the banc in the end which was very good and just down the road.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iberian_Lynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We have stayed at Meredith House 4 times on our annual visits to Tasmania and will continue to stay as long as Neal and Noel remain hosts. The breakfasts are to die for with superb attention to detail (try the super juice and bircher muesli), the accommodation is tasteful, and the views over Swansea and Great Oyster Bay are superb. Neal and Noel are wonderful and entertaining hosts and Lulu (the West Highland terrier) is a sweetie.

Room Tip: The two rooms which directly overlook Great Oyster Bay but all rooms are beautifully and eclecticall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAS2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed two nights in a Mews room which was a good size, tastefully fitted with quality furniture and a decent bed. The cooked breakfast included in the price is absolutely first class. The hosts are friendly with time to chat when they are not fully booked (first night) and professional when they are (second night). The only thing not up to scratch was the water pressure in the shower - very low. We were only in Swansea to visit Freycinet National Park but found it to be a very pleasant little seaside town with an excellent Fish & Chip shop where you can eat in and BYO wine.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My family and I enjoyed a lovely 2 nights at Meredith House. We stayed in the family room and found it to be a perfect arrangement for travel with little kids. The location was wonderful as we were able to wander into town, to nearby restaurants and even to the playground down the road. Noel and Neal were superb hosts - breakfast was delicious with homemade muffins, croissants, fruit juices and eggs/bacon/mushrooms/tomatoes made to order. They even pointed us towards a sheltered nearby beach that we had the pleasure of enjoying all to ourselves. The beds were comfortable and the house was quiet at night. The room could have used an additional fan, but i'm happy to say that that is my only gripe. it was a pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erica k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
473 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#2 of 8 in Swansea
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freycinet Waters
Freycinet Waters
#3 of 8 in Swansea
179 reviews
9.7 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meredith House and Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meredith House and Mews

Address: 15 Noyes St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range: $126 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meredith House and Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meredith House is a heritage listed 1853 property located centrally in the beautiful seaside town of Swansea on the east coast of Tasmania, the perfect base from which to explore the Freycinet Region and all it has to offer, including Wineglass Bay and Maria Island. 11 en-suite rooms, four with spa bathrooms. Full breakfast is included in the tariff. Meredith House is renowned for its excellent service; we were voted the Peoples Choice at the 2006 Tasmanian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meredith House and Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meredith House And Mews Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing