We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, shame they forgot the coffee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onyx - CLOSED

Onyx
Cuisines: Cafe, Delicatessen, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Hobart
Level Contributor
126 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, shame they forgot the coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

A very funky cafe. A great little spot for our family, a place to relax and enjoy some very good food.

We ordered coffee as well as food, the only drawback was that they forgot the coffee and had to be reminded. Hopefully an innocent mistake.

Helpful?
Thank Bigfellaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    16
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We were quite happy to stop in here for a late breaky and a view of the art gallery. Breakfast was simple, but lovely. Art was amazing. Great concept and good stop on the way to Hobart.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sweet_nomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton North
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rude Rude Rude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good coffee, terrible terrible service. Lady serving did not even look at us when we ordered, and when she took our plates we said thank you and she just huffed. Do not waste your time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea Gaye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
399 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Basic menu but good for a quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived here after the kitchen had closed but were very pleased to be offered some lunch regardless. We both had soup - mine a moroccan spinach soup and my husbands a sweet potato and coconut soup. Very fresh, obviously home made. We were pleased to fall upon Onyx - it seemed to be one of the only places open on a Thursday afternoon in Swansea.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The bacon was good, as was the coffee, but the eggs were not properly cooked. The gallery had some excellent pieces at good prices. View and decor were both very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nukolator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onyx also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing