We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid location”
Review of Dragonfly Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dragonfly Lodge
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A well appointed place to stay with views to nourish the soul and decor to appease the senses. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and plan to return soon. Thank you to all involved in the design and decorating of such a welcoming place.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emmyandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Dragonfly Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 41 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed 7 days at this wonderful house with our two boys. We could not have been happier. Breathtaking scenery, everything that opens and shuts, helpful service and a fantastic area to explore. We will be coming back!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had the most relaxing week at Dragonfly. The décor is amazing! Beautiful furniture and an amazing kitchen. We were welcomed with freshly made bread and a well equipped pantry. The views are to die for and we were happy to just stay in and enjoy the amazing sweeping panoramic views. Our bedroom was so spacious and the most comfortable sleep I have had in ages. The full block curtains were a great bonus!
We are certainly happy to tell our friends about this most amazing place. Great restaurants and wineries close by. Cannot wait to return :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CottesloeMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent two days at Dragonfly recently with friends. I had heard a lot about it and had high expectations. I was not disappointed. The house is wonderful with exceptional attention to detail throughout. It manages to be totally comfortable and welcoming while being minimalist and uncluttered. Everything you could want. The view is to die for - across the bay to the Freycinet peninsula and constantly changing with the light and wind. Spectacular.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This place is just beautiful.
The short drive from Hobart is stunning and really set the scene for the relaxing few days we just spent at Dragonfly.
Having never been to Tasmania before I was looking forward to relaxing, drinking some lovely wine by the fire and taking in the amazing views - and this place made that possible.
Seeing the house from the driveway took my breath away - the floor to ceiling glass windows looking out to the sea were very impressive and you can just tell by looking at the house that your stay will be something special.
This house has everything – fireplace, huge bath, all the mod-cons, comfortable couches, DVD's, beautiful toiletries, amazing kitchen, the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on and a real homely feel that it made it very hard to leave.
I will be recommending this place to all of my friends - Tasmania was fantastic and the Dragonfly Lodge is definitely the place to stay while there!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dfly7190, Owner at Dragonfly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. Tassie is blessed with some amazing scenery. Please tell everyone to come on down!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We were invited down from Queensland to our favourite island to celebrate a dear friend's 40th birthday at Dragonfly Lodge. What an indulgence! Good food cooked in the well appointed kitchen, great wines, fantastic company and an outstanding home to stay in. After viewing an amazing sunrise over Freycinet Peninsula through the massive glass windows, the clouds and rain came over, but none of us were bothered as we had no intentions of moving from the couches and open fire for the day. It was the perfect way for us to spend some quality time together.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dfly7190, Owner at Dragonfly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive words. Dragonfly is best experienced as you have done. The couch, the view, the fire, a nice glass of wine and good friends. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was my second stay at Dragonfly Lodge, the first was part of a work trip and I raved about it so much my partner was really keen to come see for himself. It is the perfect place to get away and do nothing or get out and explore. We arrived into Hobart from Sydney on an early flight and picked up a hire car, drove straight to MONA, amazing gallery and a great way to shake off the work head and gently ease into holiday mode. An easy and lovely drive up to rocky hills later that afternoon, where we were met by the manager of Dragonfly, Tracy. So lovely & helpful and a local too so if you want advice on what's to see she has all the answers. The accommodation is five star, yet relaxed. The view is even better than photography could ever do justice. Perfectly positioned on the side of the mountain, up high enough to take in a panorama that could keep your attention all day. We spent lots of time just looking out to sea! We took some nice drives north as well and are planning another trip back so we can do some kayaking up at wine glass bay. Plenty of great restaurants nearby too. We love to cook so also enjoyed staying somewhere with a fully equipped kitchen and some pantry items (some included some extra, great way to work it bit like a mini bar in a hotel) We are looking forward to coming back with some friends, the house is also perfect for a few couples as each room is private with its own bathroom. Can't recommend Dragonfly enough. It really is the perfect place to stay.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CathMuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
6.2 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
460 reviews
16.1 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,082 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#2 of 8 in Swansea
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
401 reviews
15.3 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
570 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wagner's Cottages
Wagner's Cottages
#2 of 8 in Swansea
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Lodge

Address: 11903 Tasman Hwy | Rocky Hills, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Price Range: $434 - $795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dragonfly Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dragonfly Lodge is a short term stay accommodation located on the east coast of Tasmania in an area known as Rocky Hills Swansea. The Lodge looks over the Tasman Sea to the Freycinet peninsular. Accommodation consists of three king size bedrooms all with en-suite. A gourmet breakfast is supplied as well as a well-stocked fridge and pantry with Tasmanian wines. The lodge is orient inspired and contains beautiful Chinese antiques and luxurious fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dragonfly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragonfly Lodge Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing