We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Water View Cottage”
Review of Freycinet Waters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freycinet Waters
Ranked #2 of 8 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cozy Water View Cottage”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We enjoyed our two nights in the water view apartment, which we used as our base for visits to Freycinet National Park and Tasman National Park. The apartment is cozy although somewhat spartan. Although it is set up to sleep three comfortably, there is seating at the breakfast bar, at the table on the deck and in the living room for just two. It was nice to have a little kitchen with a fridge to store snacks and the delicious fruit salad, yogurt, granola and and other breakfast ingredients that Bob and Karen provided. The bathroom is pretty spartan. Although the washing machine was a great convenience, the vanity is really small and the only mirror is a small make-up mirror. It was a little like showering in a utility room. The best part of our stay, however, was sitting on the deck with a glass of wine, perusing the booklet of menus and tourist information Karen provided and looking across the bay at the mountain we had climbed earlier that day. All in all, a very nice stay.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WnnaBTrvlWrtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    42
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
130
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Great location, great hosts, great breakfast but....
Spa unit was located at back of property with view of carpark, noisy upstairs guests made stay less than perfect. Sounded like a table being dragged across the floor every time they opened the sliding door. I suspect the other rooms would have great views, so fore go the spa and stay in the front rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We were made most welcome at this wonderful B&B. A lovely room with a sea view and cosy sitting area, everything one could want, and a delicious breakfast (with fresh squeezed orange juice).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandg2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Hospitable - Practical - Yummy Big Brekkie

What a perfect little B&B! We stayed here for two nights so we could visit the Freycinet National Park (Wine Glass Bay) and Bicheno and we couldn't have made a better choice.

We stayed in the Waterview Room 3 which sits on a very quiet main road and has views of the water from the room which also had its own balcony.

Its the smallest of the 3 rooms but had a large bathroom.

The rooms were warm when we arrived with the heater going and there was port and chocolate waiting on the mantelpiece. The room was made from different shades of blue which was very pleasant. Although a little space constrained which the owners had warned us about - the room was perfect. Everything about that room told us that a lot of thought and planning had gone into it. It was so convenient!

The best part of our stay was the breakfast. It was a traditional full English breakfast with all the trimmings - even the freshly squeezed juice! Our Host was delightful. She was engaging and informative. We were given sound advice on where to eat, sight see, the weather - you name the question and she was sure to have the answer. She was warm and friendly without being intrusive which is such a treat for a B&B stay.

We had a wonderful 2 days at Freycinet Waters and couldn't recommend it more. Will definitely be back to stay if we're passing Swansea again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_little_precious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We had a one night stay in the spa suite and was very extremely pleased with the standard of accomodation and wonderful service from the lovely host/owner Karen. The unit is well priced, modern, spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable.The bathroom is roomy, with a huge spa and seperate shower and extra touches such as heated towel rack, bubble bath, makeup wipes, complimentary port, chocs/mints, dvds made it all that much better! We enjoyed a huge breaky,{ bacon, eggs, tomato, mushrooms, haggis!toast,coffee, fresh juice,cereals and fresh fruits etc..We would definately recommend freycinet waters and we are keen to return again in the near future...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobartRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

we stayed here for one night whilst in tassie in july we had driven from cradle mountain to freycinet in one day done the walk up to the lookout of wineglass bay and had no accommodation booked....

we drove through swansea and saw freycinet waters and popped in and were delighted with what we found, great friendly welcome great room and we had a spa bath too.

excellent breakfast and a great nights sleep too

highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattforduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

We were touring Tasmania and booking accommodation one day ahead. We didn't want traditional bed and breakfast but the idea of the self contained first floor apartment certainly appealed......and we were not disappointed. With views of the bay from the large decked area an excellent fitted kitchen and fridge filled with enough "breakfast" food" to feed a small army we thought we had arrived in coastal heaven. A comfortable lounge , double bedroom,large bathroom and utility with washing machine, plus a carafe of fortified wine accompanied by chocolates in the room and a friendly proprietor all added up to make the three night extended stay in delightful Swansea even more memorable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamJeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Waterloo Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Swansea
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meredith House and Mews
9.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
11.6 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freycinet Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freycinet Waters

Property: Freycinet Waters
Address: 16 Franklin St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Freycinet Waters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freycinet Waters is in the heart of Swansea village. Everything is within an easy flat walk. Our property looks across the road to the delightful Great Oyster Bay. Water views can be found from most rooms and definitely from the breakfast room. Eat a filling 'English' breakfast while gazing out at the water. A great way to start the day. For those who are adventurous the menu includes black pudding and haggis. Our colour scheme reflects the colour of the water and the hues of the great sunrises & sunsets that you can see from the property. A 1930's style at the front of the house and a more modern day feel at the rear gives Freycinet Waters that light airy feel. Our prices include breakfast (or breakfast provisions), WiFi (the modern essential) and a small port to help you rest at the end of a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Freycinet Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freycinet Waters Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing