We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home”
Review of Freycinet Waters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freycinet Waters
Ranked #3 of 8 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Having arrived late in the evening we were lucky to get a booking. Had checked this out in Lonely Planet guide but it was not given that good a review. On arrival asked if we wanted fresh milk for tea and coffee and given that I had only phoned 30 minutes before we were surprised when the room was warm on our arrival. Pleased to say excellent value for money. $140 which included breakfast for two. Ccomfy bed and pillows. I am a bit like the "Hotel Inspector" and was impressed. Here is someone who knows how to clean. Yes I am a bit OCD and the sheets were crisp - lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 176 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

From start to finish, we had the perfect stay.
We had chosen the King room with spa and were not disappointed. The room was spacious, beautifully clean and well laid out with a dressing room and a spacious ensuite with spa bath. As we arrived in the late afternoon, when the day had started to cool down, Karen had been into our room and put the heater on. A lovely, thoughtful touch - Thank you Karen.
On the table we found port, 2 glasses and some chocolates. Again, a lovely touch. In the ensuite, at the end of the spa were wine glasses, just in case you fancied a glass of red or bubbly whilst in the spa. Candles too were at the end of the spa to create the mood.
The room was serviced daily which involved topping up the port and the chocolates - lovely.
Breakfast on each of the 3 mornings was superb - thank you Bob. Karen was always so cheerful and welcoming even at 7:30am which is when we asked for breakfast.
Breakfast was taken in the room at the front of the house overlooking the peaceful waters of Great Oyster Bay - what a great way to start the day.
This has to be the perfect place to relax and unwind at the end of a busy day.
Thank you to Karen and Bob for being such wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights in Room 1. We found the room to be very compact, comfortable, clean and a few extra little touches like port and lollies made the stay very enjoyable. The position of Freycinet Waters could not be better with easy walks to either end of the small town and a short stroll to the beach or jetty area. Breakfast could not be faulted with Bacon, Egg, sausage, fried tomatoes, mushrooms, black pudding and last but by no means least Haggis . If there was one thing that was a small let down then it would be the en-suite which was a little cramped but when only staying for a couple of days it was quite acceptable (remember this refers to room 1). We would recommend staying here and you would not be disappointed

Room Tip: Room 1 has terrific views of the beach and down to the Jetty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is a great little B&B right in the heart of town. Our hosts were just fantastic and couldn't do enough for us. Happy to chat and full of knowledge they were delightful. This B&B is spotlessly clean, comfortable and convenient. Fully recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Tenneluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Situated in a beautiful position in the middle of town within easy walking distance of the pub and restaurants. You are made to feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door. This B+B is run in the traditional English way. Breakfast is amazing with a great view over the Bay. Rooms are beautifully presented with some nice personal touches. Bathroom facilities are big and well fitted out. The whole establishment is spotlessly clean and bright. Our room had a great balcony overlooking the water where we could enjoy a glass of wine. Service is friendly and efficient. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
PROS
Great position
Comfortable and homely
Best breakfasts ever
Perfectly clean
Friendly service
CONS:
Rooms a touch small but gee that's getting a bit picky.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a view. If not don't worry, you'll get the view at breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taringha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend, the room was immaculately clean, the hosts were very accommodating, great breakfast and all over a nice experience. Straight across from the ocean and close to the pub and cafes. Big comfortable bed and bathroom/shower

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Batrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

i had great time....we went see penguin at Qicheno at night... then got back lights were on ... and heater on... feeling was great....... next day breakfast was great... and we got map that help us all journey around tas.... we would come back again....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorna196513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
20.8 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
373 reviews
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meredith House and Mews
9.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
403 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#2 of 8 in Swansea
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freycinet Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freycinet Waters

Address: 16 Franklin St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range: $114 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Freycinet Waters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freycinet Waters is in the heart of Swansea village. Everything is within an easy flat walk. Our property looks across the road to the delightful Great Oyster Bay. Water views can be found from most rooms and definitely from the breakfast room. Eat a filling 'English' breakfast while gazing out at the water. A great way to start the day. For those who are adventurous the menu includes black pudding and haggis. Our colour scheme reflects the water and the hues of the great sunrises & sunsets that you can see from the property. A 1930's style at the front of the house and a more modern day feel at the rear gives Freycinet Waters that light airy feel. Our prices include breakfast (or breakfast provisions), WiFi (the modern essential) and a small port to help you rest at the end of a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Freycinet Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freycinet Waters Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing