We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Freycinet Waters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freycinet Waters
Ranked #2 of 8 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We choose this B & B on TA reviews and were not disappointed. We had undertaken a long day of driving/sightseeing and on arrival we were warmly greeted by Karen. We then spent the next 30 minutes or so discussing several topics - while Karen showed us to our room which was lovely- beautiful view and very inviting. As it was late we took Karen's advice and headed to the Tavern for a take away wood fired pizza and a bottle of wine - just the thing as it was getting colder & colder. Good wi-fi connection - we borrowed one of the assorted DVD's in the hall and settled down in our warm room. We are early risers and headed out for a walk before breakfast after watching the sun rise from our balcony. Swansea is a lovely little town with beautiful views across the Bay to Freycinet National Park. Back at B & B the breakfast was excellent and very filling. Lovely Place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKI51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreycinetWaters, Owner at Freycinet Waters, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Always good to get feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. A walk around Swansea before breakfast is a great way to start the day. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    44
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
132
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My pregnant wife and I stayed for one night (were debating 2, but within the first 1 minute realized that we would not stay here for more than one night after meeting the host) in August 2013. I usually don't like giving negative reviews but I think I want to give this one to actually help the host themselves. We did not meet Bob - but were only attended to by Karen.

First - the good:

- Cosy room, a tad small (bathroom is really tiny) but well appointed and you don't feel cramped since the interiors are well done. One really nice touch was the collection of DVDs they have - so you can pick out a movie and watch it during a quiet night in Swansea which is nice. They've also got all the extra frills (different types of teas, coffees etc in the room) which makes the stay nice.

Now the bad:

- Everything about customer service/interaction was bad. From the moment we stepped in to almost every conversation we had with Karen. I had emailed Karen in the morning requesting an earlier than 2 pm check-in as I anticipated reaching by 1230 PM. We ended up arriving at 145 pm due to unforeseen delays and the first words out of Karen's mouth was:

- "Oh, so you guys decided to take your time coming" - our immediate reaction was to explain (I wonder why a customer even has to explain if he's late) and we explained that we checked out a little later than we thought from our previous hotel and only checked out at 11 AM (Tasmanian standard is 10 AM - as it was in the previous hotels - but the previous hotel were friendly and easily extended 1 hour if required). Her immediate response was "Oh, you can't do that over here, we throw you guys out at 10 AM sharp" - I was taken aback to say the least - and asked that even if the hotel is not full - that they could not extend even a bit - Karen's immediate response was - "Nope, 10 AM sharp, as it says in the terms!" - What a great start! (we had no intentions of staying past 10 AM during our checkout). This however, made mine and my wife's mind up that we weren't going to extend our stay for another night.

Some other priceless quotes:

- "You guys can sit down you know, we won't charge you extra" (while my wife and I were observing what there was for breakfast and in the breakfast room - she was telling us to sit down at the table) - what a ridiculous comment! Karen - we were not standing because we were worried of getting fleeced more.

- "Nope, someone booked for last night but didn't show up and just decided to give us their money instead - I'll take that! Even better!" (this is in response to us asking the next morning during breakfast if there were any other guests) - how money-minded! And this room was the highest we paid in 6 nights in Tasmania (hobart for 3 and launceston for 2 - and all better rooms/hotels than this b&b)

- "I see you guys have known each other long enough that you don't even talk to each other" (this is while my wife and I were eating our breakfast and happened to not be conversing when she walked in the room) - how rude!

- There were more example of ridiculously rude comments but I'll stop now. Karen might have thought she was being funny - but we certainly didn't think so. She was also finishing most of our sentences which is really not something I appreciate.

The attitude was just not correct. Before we entered the room we mentioned to Karen that we have some instant food that might just need to be microwaved or boiled to eat for dinner and her immediate reaction was "No, you can't do that, we provide just bed & breakfast, and no kitchen facilities". Instead of saying it politely even - it was just blunt and extremely inflexible sounding. Later - after we found a kettle in the room - we mentioned that we could boil the water in the Kettle and use that for the instant food and she then agreed - she could've perhaps mentioned that before! But then again - that's where the fault is - attitude not correct, inflexible, and not looking to help out a customer at all. On top of it - we were the only ones there for the night! Although she did promptly provide some extra cutlery when we suggested using the kettle (standard stuff really, bowl, plate, fork/spoon/knife) - the sense that we got was that she was doing us a favor - which is not how you want to feel when you are forking out good cash for a stay.

This review has gone too long - but it shows the extent to which we felt offended by the owner's behavior.

This might be a cultural issue and I would think that the best response from the owners to this negative review would be for the owners to just acknowledge that the way they communicated was not correct and that they would take this review positively and think twice before communicating in the manner they did to other guests.

Room Tip: Make sure you can leave by 10 AM if not they will throw you out apparently!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vshankar0251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreycinetWaters, Owner at Freycinet Waters, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We appreciate the comments about the ‘good’ parts of your stay with us.
In respect of the ‘bad’ parts of your stay I apologise that you felt unwelcome from the moment you arrived and that offence was taken from my conversations with you.
All reviews generously placed on Trip Advisor are read and where constructive criticism is given improvements are considered and implemented where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Travelled solo to this very welcoming B&B. I had a nice warm welcome on what was a very wet and cold July day. Room was a good size with a lovely view, warm (even considering the cold weather), good size TV and good wi-fi connection. Breakfast was a very good size, I was unable to finish it, and also good quality. Lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Everything about this place is perfect. Karen and Bob put a lot of thought and heart into it. We stayed at room #1 and it was amazing! The room was well positioned with sunlight coming in from three different angles, so plenty of sunshine in the room. The sea was a block away so the view was breathtaking. The T.V corner and the balcony made the place feel spacious and open to light.Hearing the sea while reading before bed was superb.
Breakfast was gourmet and plentiful. The drive to Coles Bay is a beautiful scenic drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed there in the second week of May, we really enjoyed it, nice clean room, charming host, felt like a home away from home. Going to Swansea? Definitely stay at Freycinet Waters! Maybe the breakfast should've been more copious, but the ingredients were very fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TassieLover4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night - but wish we could have stayed longer! We were the only guests staying at the time. This B&B is definitely a stand out from the crowd. The room was just lovely, beds comfortable and warm. The sound of rain hitting the tin roof was just sublime. Breakfast was fantastic - we weren't the adventurous type and declined the black pudding and haggis! They have put alot of thought and effort into their little b&b and it shows immensely! Unfortunately we never met Karen, but Bob was so helpful! We'll definitely be back again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ausmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Based in the quant little coastal town of Swansea, the stand-out B&B is "Freycinet Waters". Excellent friendly hosts originally from Kent UK, has made this cottage into a spectacular 3 room B&B. Great room (#2), superb view across the water facing East, easy parking on site, excellent breakfast, quiet although on main road. Walking distance to all eateries. Even a menu list in the room. Tastefully decorated. Can't do better for $130 p.n. Booked through booking.com which worked perfectly. Paid on departure. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveLeeGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
299 reviews
9.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#3 of 8 in Swansea
142 reviews
11.6 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swansea Beach Chalets
Swansea Beach Chalets
#1 of 8 in Swansea
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freycinet Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freycinet Waters

Property: Freycinet Waters
Address: 16 Franklin St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Freycinet Waters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freycinet Waters is in the heart of Swansea village. Everything is within an easy flat walk. Our property looks across the road to the delightful Great Oyster Bay. Water views can be found from most rooms and definitely from the breakfast room. Eat a filling 'English' breakfast while gazing out at the water. A great way to start the day. For those who are adventurous the menu includes black pudding and haggis. Our colour scheme reflects the colour of the water and the hues of the great sunrises & sunsets that you can see from the property. A 1930's style at the front of the house and a more modern day feel at the rear gives Freycinet Waters that light airy feel. Our prices include breakfast (or breakfast provisions), WiFi (the modern essential) and a small port to help you rest at the end of a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Freycinet Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freycinet Waters Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing