We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and lovely clean suite.”
Review of Waterloo Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view and lovely clean suite.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was a late booking by my fiancé having been let down by another place nearby. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. He booked the executive suite, yes the furnishings are a little dated, but a smile was put on our faces when we saw the bar in the suite, a quirky touch. The bathroom was lovely and clean and spa wonderful, but what took my breath away was the beautiful view of Great Oyster Bay from our balcony. What a wonderful way to wake up in the morning to that view. We will be coming back and for longer.

Room Tip: The executive spa room is great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
14
51
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Room was clean and a basic motel room, good for a night or two but not too long. Shops and restaurants within walking distance. If you want to go to Wineglass bay this is a little far, would recommend staying in Bicheno

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smp333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The furnishing is real dated but the view is great. It is right next to the beach. Bed feels clean and so do the towels. Hot water available. The steak is fantastic at the restaurant. Overall, i find it acceptable but my friend's kids didnt. I dont think this motel appeals to the younger generation. There is no lift/elevator so you will need to carry your luggage upstairs to your rooms. Not elderly friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is dated, but clean and comfortable.

When we checked in we upgraded to a spa room on the top floor (note stair access only). Apparently the spa rooms are not released to the internet booking sites so you need to ring and ask directly. All the rooms looked out over the bay with uninterrupted views to the beautiful Freycinet peninsula.

The town centre is on the doorstep with plenty of dining options.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneyite89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Has to be the worst accommodation on our Tassie trip. It was getting late when we arrived in Swansea and hadn't booked anything. Went to reception which was closed, with signs directing us to the bar/restaurant. After standing there for quite a long time to be served, a very unprofessional man eventually emerged from the kitchen (obviously doing several jobs). SHould have taken this as a sign......The room was not only old, dark and really outdated, it was so smelly and stale (like mice or animals had been there) we had to open the windows despite the freezing cold temperature. In the middle of the night, my husband got so cold he shut the window, but actually 'dry reached' after a while because of the smell. Unbelievable. place. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swansea hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Not particularly inspiring from the outside (although the price was right!) we were pleasantly surprised by our lovely room and view. Very well appointed and clean room with the added bonus of a guest laundry that didn't cost us a cent! The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was roomy (over the bath) and hot! Our bar attendant/chef/reception attendant is an amazing multi tasker and gave us very friendly and helpful service and a terrific dinner! Thank you for a lovely experience and exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartongr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Waterloo for one night while on a whistle stop tour of Tasmania. When we arrived the hotel had suffered a power cut (due to local bush fires) but we were assured that a meal would be available for us even if it was just salad!!! I have to say that the staff did much better than that and we had a lovely hot meal in the Dining Room.

The hotel itself does not look very inspiring (rather 1970's); our rooms were of average size and were clean and comfortable. All had a view of the beach and Tasmania's wonderful coastline.

The staff were extremely friendly, informative and helpful and we really enjoyed our visit

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mgt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
443 reviews
20.8 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
20.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
11.4 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Inn Hotel

Property: Waterloo Inn Hotel
Address: 1A Franklin St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterloo Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Waterloo Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo Inn Hotel Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing