We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and smelly”
Review of Waterloo Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old and smelly”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Has to be the worst accommodation on our Tassie trip. It was getting late when we arrived in Swansea and hadn't booked anything. Went to reception which was closed, with signs directing us to the bar/restaurant. After standing there for quite a long time to be served, a very unprofessional man eventually emerged from the kitchen (obviously doing several jobs). SHould have taken this as a sign......The room was not only old, dark and really outdated, it was so smelly and stale (like mice or animals had been there) we had to open the windows despite the freezing cold temperature. In the middle of the night, my husband got so cold he shut the window, but actually 'dry reached' after a while because of the smell. Unbelievable. place. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
14
51
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Not particularly inspiring from the outside (although the price was right!) we were pleasantly surprised by our lovely room and view. Very well appointed and clean room with the added bonus of a guest laundry that didn't cost us a cent! The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was roomy (over the bath) and hot! Our bar attendant/chef/reception attendant is an amazing multi tasker and gave us very friendly and helpful service and a terrific dinner! Thank you for a lovely experience and exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartongr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Waterloo for one night while on a whistle stop tour of Tasmania. When we arrived the hotel had suffered a power cut (due to local bush fires) but we were assured that a meal would be available for us even if it was just salad!!! I have to say that the staff did much better than that and we had a lovely hot meal in the Dining Room.

The hotel itself does not look very inspiring (rather 1970's); our rooms were of average size and were clean and comfortable. All had a view of the beach and Tasmania's wonderful coastline.

The staff were extremely friendly, informative and helpful and we really enjoyed our visit

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mgt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Swansea was a one night stopover on a round trip of Tasmania. The Waterloo Inn is a 50's - 60's style Inn with not much appeal on the outside. Set on the water front looking out over the bay toward Coles Bay. This is what seems to be a family run business is staff friendly and has a very warm appeal about it. The bar and restaurant area is roomy and yet cosy. You are made to feel welcome at all times. All rooms seem to have a water view and are well kept. This is an Inn and don’t expect too much as Swansea is a small coastal town and it seems most travellers heading to north east Tasmania from Hobart, would drive straight through. As they say, Stop and Smell the Roses from time to time, you may find more than you expect.
Stop in and visit for a night, kick your feet up and take in the atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blandwalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as a stopover travelling through to Hobart. We had a twin room which was a double and a single on the ground floor. It was quite basic and the brick walls made it feel slightly like we were in prison but it was perfectly adequate! It had the best wifi connection we had come across on our travels though which was a bonus! It also had one of the best showers I had used so far! The room opened out onto an amazing view (see pic) which was very pleasant in the morning. It was quiet and peaceful too. Be warned-Swansea itself seemed to shut at 8.30pm so we struggled to find food! Luckily a fish and chip shop that was closing sold us some salads and pies which we ate in our brick walled room with plastic cutlery which didn't really help the prison vibe!!! But it was a fine place to stay if passing through.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank kittykook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked via the internet for a standard room, they had no record of our booking, luckily I had brought a copy of the confirmation booking email with me, because of this, we were upgraded to a sea view room straight away.

The room we had was dated and could do with refurbishing, but had everything one needed and was clean.

The one downside of our visit was that the restaurant was not open, in fact in Swansea, there were only 2 restaurants open on that evening, one opposite and one about 1km away, being the peak season, we thought this a little strange.

The staff were very friendly and helpful which made for a pleasant overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a standard 'non-view' room for $95 (breakfast not included), however our third floor room had a balcony with sea views. The room and linen were exceptionally clean, only fault I noticed was some minor grout staining in the bathroom. Reception stayed open for a late check in and were very helpful. Had a great night's sleep even though it was a windy night with waves crashing against the shore and some loose roofing iron making a racket.
Be aware that this hotel has outdoor stairs, could not recommend upper floors in wet weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minty_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
450 reviews
20.8 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
392 reviews
20.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
0.1 mi away
Freycinet Waters
Freycinet Waters
#2 of 8 in Swansea
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Inn Hotel

Property: Waterloo Inn Hotel
Address: 1A Franklin St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterloo Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Waterloo Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo Inn Hotel Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing