We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterloo Inn Swansea, Tasmaina Australia”
Review of Waterloo Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Swansea was a one night stopover on a round trip of Tasmania. The Waterloo Inn is a 50's - 60's style Inn with not much appeal on the outside. Set on the water front looking out over the bay toward Coles Bay. This is what seems to be a family run business is staff friendly and has a very warm appeal about it. The bar and restaurant area is roomy and yet cosy. You are made to feel welcome at all times. All rooms seem to have a water view and are well kept. This is an Inn and don’t expect too much as Swansea is a small coastal town and it seems most travellers heading to north east Tasmania from Hobart, would drive straight through. As they say, Stop and Smell the Roses from time to time, you may find more than you expect.
Stop in and visit for a night, kick your feet up and take in the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blandwalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 99 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night as a stopover travelling through to Hobart. We had a twin room which was a double and a single on the ground floor. It was quite basic and the brick walls made it feel slightly like we were in prison but it was perfectly adequate! It had the best wifi connection we had come across on our travels though which was a bonus! It also had one of the best showers I had used so far! The room opened out onto an amazing view (see pic) which was very pleasant in the morning. It was quiet and peaceful too. Be warned-Swansea itself seemed to shut at 8.30pm so we struggled to find food! Luckily a fish and chip shop that was closing sold us some salads and pies which we ate in our brick walled room with plastic cutlery which didn't really help the prison vibe!!! But it was a fine place to stay if passing through.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank kittykook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked via the internet for a standard room, they had no record of our booking, luckily I had brought a copy of the confirmation booking email with me, because of this, we were upgraded to a sea view room straight away.

The room we had was dated and could do with refurbishing, but had everything one needed and was clean.

The one downside of our visit was that the restaurant was not open, in fact in Swansea, there were only 2 restaurants open on that evening, one opposite and one about 1km away, being the peak season, we thought this a little strange.

The staff were very friendly and helpful which made for a pleasant overnight stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a standard 'non-view' room for $95 (breakfast not included), however our third floor room had a balcony with sea views. The room and linen were exceptionally clean, only fault I noticed was some minor grout staining in the bathroom. Reception stayed open for a late check in and were very helpful. Had a great night's sleep even though it was a windy night with waves crashing against the shore and some loose roofing iron making a racket.
Be aware that this hotel has outdoor stairs, could not recommend upper floors in wet weather.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Minty_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

OK. Maybe not absolutely awful but as close as I would like to get. Expensive room..one of the most expensive of our trip. For that we got - 2 flights of outdoor metal steps with no lift, no aircon, couldnt open window because the ceiling tiles rattled, disgusting old decor with mouldy old smell...yuk!!! Swansea itself is also completely misable. In our whole Tassie trip this was by far the worst place, the worst accomodation and the worst value - advise you to keep going through Swansea and get to Richmond or Hobart....you honestly dont want to stay here

Room Tip: Dont stay here. If you do and you have read this review it is your own fault. I did tell you so
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 56Dee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were the only guests in the hotel for two nights. The owner was waiting for us when we arrived and was helpful and friendly. The room was jaded but clean and comfortable, it was serviced well without fanfare. The setting of the hotel was just a few metres from the beach, Coles Bay. It was also very close to a golf course and bowling green. The town is very sleepy and early attendance at the restaurants was a must.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelliatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

central and a great motel with views over the bay and golf course if you are lucky to get a corner room
Restaurent was great with a bar and juke box to add to the flavour
Owner Athol runs a good ship with his family

Room Tip: Eat in and experience the hospitality of Athol and family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
20.8 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
401 reviews
2.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
480 reviews
21.1 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
312 reviews
9.4 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
431 reviews
20.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Inn Hotel

Address: 1A Franklin St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range: $100 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterloo Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Waterloo Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo Inn Hotel Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing