We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Loved it"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swansea Beach Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Loved it"”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed in a two bedroom waterview chalet. It was clean, comfortable, well equipped and had stunning views of the bay with Freycinet Peninsula in the distance. Stayed in the spa chalet, which was greatly appreciated after our walk up to the Wineglass Bay lookout at Freycinet National Park. Only a one night stay, would loved to have stayed more!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russelldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    92
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
98
116
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in a two bedroom chalet with a lovely ocean view.
The chalet was very clean and comfortable.
Attractive grounds with easy access to the beach front.
We enjoyed the deck where we could soak up the view.
Would love to stay again and for a little longer.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked two nights at Swansea Beach Chalets as a base to explore the Freycinet National Park area of Tasmania's east coast. Once we had settled in to our waterfront chalet we realised that two nights was too short a visit. We wanted to stay longer. It is the kind of place where you could comfortably relax and unwind for a week or more. Swansea is a small village but very pretty and with lovely beaches on Great Oyster Bay. The drive to Freycinet National Park is about an hour north, as is the town of Bicheno (pronounced Bishno) where the excellent Bicheno Penguin Tours operate. Swansea Beach Chalets are newly built and very clean and comfortable. In fact the bed was super comfortable and falling asleep to the sound of waves lapping the shore was wonderful. The view from our deck across Great Oyster Bay towards the Freycinet peninsula was just stunning. Hobart is less than two hours away and the surrounding countryside is, like most of Tasmania, picture perfect. The staff at Swansea Beach Chalets were friendly and helpful. At the end of the road is the excellent Bark Mill Bakery & Tavern and only a few minutes drive small supermarkets, cafes & the all important seafood shop with delicious local oysters. We very much look forward to returning to Swansea Beach Chalets for a longer visit.

Room Tip: The waterfront chalets are great but the next row of chalets also gets water glimpses and the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

2nd time here and it was as expected. Cabin overlooking the water was good even if to windy to sit on deck. Kitchen needed a few more utensils and bigger pots. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Though it was a little noisy in the park being just after Christmas. If I go back I probably wouldn't pay the extra for a cliff top cabin as the ones at the back were nicer and quieter.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poboxbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

On our recent trip to Tasmania, drove in here and liked what we saw straight away, so went to reception hoping to get accommodation for 2 nights and fortunately we did, we also used Swansea as a base to explore the surrounding areas such as Freycinet National Park etc. We Loved the chalets very neat and clean well set up inside felt warm and cosy as a tad chilly during our stay even though we had sunny days. Great little township, loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franceabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Swansea Beach Chalets. Was wonderful. The management were very friendly, helpful and efficient. The 2 bedroom chalets are waterfront, and one bedroom chalets behind those. We were very kindly assigned a 2 bedroom chalet with parking right alongside and further away from Reception and entry. It was perfect. Complex very new and the chalet was expensively fitted out, spacious, light, airy, neat and clean with everything we needed to self-cater also. Air-conditioned and heated. Kitchenette with mini frig, good cooking equipment, crockery, cutlery, glassware and heaps of cupboards and bench space was excellent. Had 2 large proper couches in lounge area. A dining table and 4 chairs, so 4 people could definitely have a very comfortable stay. Large bathroom with bath/shower and vanity cupboard for storage. One very comfortable Queen bed in one bedroom and second with 2 twin beds. Good lighting and storage. Laundry facilities are in the caravan park side of the property so that is easily done anyway. The entry deck and the balcony provided wonderful outdoor space. The ocean can be seen from inside the Chalet but the stunning water views are even lovelier from the balcony. Was freezing cold out but best place for breakfast. The whole complex is sited in the loveliest spot in beautiful Swansea. 2 minutes to walk down to the beach and water directly in front. We used Swansea as a hub to explore the Coles Bay, Freycinet area, and Bicheno, Scamander, Triabunna for ferry to Maria Island, St. Helens and much more. Staying at the Chalets was absolutely perfect for doing this. Swansea is a very pretty town with interesting retail and lots of places to eat and explore whilst not an overly big town, a plus with us. The historical Morris Store with an IGA and hardware was a good place for groceries for breakfast and dinner, souvenirs and bits and pieces. Everyone recommended the RSL and Paperbark Tavern for meals but it was even easier for us to use the Chalet kitchen and stay in and enjoy the lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POLLYANNA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Cabins have everything you need, the owners could not be more helpful or friendly, the cabins are in a great spot with the beach front ones having great views, everything was in easy walking distance from the cabins. The only problem I could find for us was there was only one laundry area that serviced the whole complex which includes the caravan area so another laundry near the cabins would be great, but that's me being picky.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.6 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
297 reviews
11.8 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hamptons on the Bay
Hamptons on the Bay
#3 of 8 in Swansea
141 reviews
9.7 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swansea Holiday Park  Schouten Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swansea Beach Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Beach Chalets

Property: Swansea Beach Chalets
Address: Shaw Street, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swansea Beach Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying spectacular views of the Freycinet National Park over Great Oyster Bay, Swansea Beach Chalets are located on Jubilee Beach in the historic east coast township of Swansea in Tasmania. The chalets in Swansea have been sited to maximize the property's coastal location with some chalets offering uninterrupted water views and the property has direct access to a sheltered swimming beach. Swansea Beach Chalets has a variety of chalets catering for the touring couple or holiday family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swansea Beach Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Beach Chalets Hotel Swansea
Swansea Beach Chalets Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing