We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay”
Review of Wagner's Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wagner's Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Studio Cottage. It has its own private rose garden which we really enjoyed. A barbecue is supplied, which we used one night. There is an excellent pizza restaurant in Swansea where we got a take-away for the other evening.

Belinda could not be more welcoming or helpful. She was a tireless source of good local advice.

The cottage is very comfortable, immaculately clean and beautiful. A definite recommendation!

Room Tip: If you book via LastMinute, there is a rather worrying message that you need to make contact beforeh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 169 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here in the studio. It was a dream. Very comfortable bed, exceptionally clean, very attractive furnishings and delightful garden just outside the door. Despite the fact that you are right by the road we were never disturbed. There just isn't that much traffic going by. The exposed beams and rafters along with the thick whitewashed walls made it a very special place, and of course the modern and well appointed bathroom with a spa bath didn't go astray either. The owner was wonderful. Warm, helpful and with a great sense of humor. We were treated to a loaf of warm homemade bread at our first breakfast - delicious. The whole place just exuded charm and warmth. We didn't see the other cottages since they were all occupied when we were there, but I am sure based on our experience that they are just as exquisitely furnished and presented. Great stay.

Room Tip: We loved the studio. Perfect for a couple, although with the sofa bed you could certainly squeeze i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank printsmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a great arrangement. Stayed in the Hollyhock Cottage with another couple. Beutifully set up, all the facilities you could want. The owner is so friendly without being 'in your face' - just perfect.
Nice touches like flowers, a bit of port for a night cap. Cottage has a washing machine and dryer, full kitchen if you want (we didn't - it's a holiday!).
Well worth the stay - were there for 2 nights. Lovely rooms and comfy beds.

Room Tip: any of them really
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a fantastic cottage with all the finishing touches such as an open fire, fresh flowers & fresh bread delivered for breakfast.The Hollyhock cottage was very spacious for two couples. only 1.5 kms from town if you wanted to go out to dinner. The owners could not have been more accommodating.We only stayed 2 nights and would love to come back. The spacious gardens make the cottage very private. You can't help but relax!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieB072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at Wagner's Cottages in the Studio cottage for 2 nights on our honeymoon and it was just lovely.

The cottage is just beautiful, with lovely tree branches incorporated into the interior and the bathroom is large with a great spa that can easily accommodate two people. We had a lovely semi-private courtyard with a beautiful garden which we thoroughly enjoyed.

The downside was two high windows at either end of the cottage with no blinds, so you have no choice but to rise with the sun. We didn't mind this too much as we needed to get up early both mornings of the stay. However if you like to sleep in this isn't the cottage for you.

We did also find that the room wasn't as clean as we would have liked and on one of the nights we stayed it was very windy, which meant the cottage was extremely noisy with lots of rattling.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in don't book the Studio, it has two high windows at either end of the cott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A lovely setting on the edge of Swansea as you approach from Hobart. The cottages look great on the outside - well-restored - and are even better on the inside. We stayed in what were the old stables - the Studio Cottage - for only one night and wished we could have stayed longer. The cottage was spacious with enough room for our nine-month old to crawl around and explore. The bathroom is huge and the spa bath will easily fit two people (or two people and a baby in this case!). We did have a short stroll around the lovely gardens but would like to explore more. Really impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the Hollyhock cottage and it was two of the most relaxing nights I can remember being on holiday. The gardens and outlook of the property are amazing and it's a wonderful place for children to run around and explore. The cottage itself is extremely comfortable and well appointed with everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. The only downside to experience is the proximity to the main road however the traffic isn't heavy and you quickly forget about the noise.
I would highly recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
1.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
480 reviews
21.8 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
401 reviews
1 mi away
Waterloo Inn Hotel
Waterloo Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Swansea
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Swansea Beach Chalets
Swansea Beach Chalets
#1 of 9 in Swansea
311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
312 reviews
1 mi away
Meredith House and Mews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wagner's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagner's Cottages

Address: 13182 Tasman Hwy, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Price Range: $150 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wagner's Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wagners Cottage is heritage listed and the gardens and estate are still surrounded by original drystone walls built by Michael Wagner and his son in circa 1860. Our four cottages are positioned throughout the estate and as such, enjoy an atmosphere of serenity and privacy. We have studio, one and two bedroom cottages, most with open log fires and luxurious spas to enable you to relax fully after a days exploration of our beautiful Freycinet Coast and surrounding wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wagner's Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wagner's Cottages Swansea, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing