We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveler rating
0
3
2
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
3
2
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2016 via mobile

Once a stately home that has been sadly neglected. Bed only. We expected breakfast but not an option. Clean room with comfortable bed. The shower mat had to be left outside as it was smelly. Garden has been let go with a couple of large holes in the lawn to trip over. Old dilapidated sheds surround the garden. Overpriced for what you get. Centrally located. The house didnt have a good feel.

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2016

We originally booked the B&B but when travel plans changed and we needed to stay 2 nights, we chose to stay in town at the converted shop/cottage. It was central and short walk to everything. Comfortable and interestingly decorated and renovated. Good value also. There is no breakfast, but cafe is close by.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

We had the place to ourselves and caters well for groups. A fully functional kitchen is accessible and no breakfast is provided.
The gardens surrounding the b&b are beautiful, but with that we found a lot of spiders coming inside.

Very peaceful place, easy walk to the town centre by esplanade. In winter I imagine the building will be quite cold.

Overall a good stay, rooms were clean and served its purpose

Stayed: December 2015, traveled solo
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

We visited Strahan for a family holiday in winter and admittedly this is the low season for Strahan. When I made the booking, there was no mention of the B&B not providing breakfast as it was winter. This was very disappointing. We were provided with a toaster to use in room as there is no access to the kitchen. Being the low season, there were no cafes open, bar one bakery open early enough for breakfast.

The room was clean and roomy with extra blankets provided. I found it very cold. The bathroom isn't connected to the central heating and we kept the door permanently closed to prevent the icy draught creeping through. The bathroom which I guess would be an add-on to the original house, was cramped and poorly designed. It was difficult to bath two young children and keep them warm with one heat lamp situated high on the ceiling.

The house seemed empty except for our room which I guess is why none of the central heating seemed to be switched on in the communal rooms, very cool indeed. After a cold day out exploring, it would have been comforting to come back to a warm toasty house. Not so.

The grounds are garden were very pretty. Many areas were closed as they are being done up.

Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
Thank OceanDreamer976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2015

My partner and I stayed at this B&B in April 2015. Our room was clean and comfortable but no breakfast or staff present during our 1 night stay. The B&B was difficult to find due to the lack of signage and street lights. On arrival we discovered no staff just a key and a note advising us to let ourselves in the front door. The area was very poorly lit but luckily we had a torch to avoid tripping over on the uneven ground. Our main disappointment relates to the misleading name which indicates its a B&B but much to our surprise breakfast is not covered under the reservation booking.

Room Tip: bring a torch if arriving after dark and breakfast unless you are willing to pay extra
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews