We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location; excellent accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Risby Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Risby Cove
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning location; excellent accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was the highlight of my trip to Tasmania in terms of accommodation. A view to die for, very high standard accommodation, a great hostess and an interesting gallery. I only wish the restaurant had been open but I understand why it wasn't at this time of year. I recommend this place unreservedly and I own a hotel.

Room Tip: Sawdust was a great room - right on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    86
    34
    12
    8
See reviews for
52
164
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in May. Peaceful and lovely place. My apartment was right on the water upstairs so I had an uninterrupted view of strahan. The apartment has a microwave, plates, cup, cutlery, kettle and toaster. Also port and chocolates was a bonus! Just sitting on the veranda at night and hearing the sounds of the water and the birds in the nearby bush was lovely. I ate in the restaurant one night also and the food was good. Limited vegetarian options but that is usual. Desert gets a special mention. Hogarth falls walk starts just across the road and is an easy walk through some lovely Forrest. There is also a footpath that takes you around the bay for a nice stroll and one end is a beach. Easy walking (2min) to Gordon river cruise and all strahan's attractions. The lovely lady that runs risby cove was very helpful and also told me about the bonnet island boat trip that takes you out to see the little penguins. I would highly recommend this place. Left here very relaxed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Cebbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
197 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Located on the water about a 10 minute walk from the small "downtown" area of Strahan, and therefore convenient to the river cruise, play, and coffee shop. Exterior of building, steps, deck, etc., are in poor repair, but the room is perfectly adequate; spacious, with kitchenette and living space. Contains coffee making supplies with a coffee press (pay for the coffee beans); free port and little chocolates. Free wifi in lobby area only, restaurant is good.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful relaxing place to spend a couple of days. Right on the waterfront, watching the boats come and go on the harbour. Very private and quiet, clean luxurious rooms, and the complimentary filled port decanter and the delicious chocolates (both replenished every day) made it very special. The room was cosy and the bed very comfortable. The service was extremely friendly. Loved the shop at reception, with all the beautiful examples of Tasmanian creativity. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was the best and most reasonable place I stayed in all of Tasmaia. For $240 we had a huge suite with complimentary port and chocolates each night. The location is great, right on the water. The reception area is also a gallery with some beautiful jewellery. the staff were great, so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were upgraded to one of the waterfront rooms. It was a very nice room, with all the comforts you could want, except we were there on a 30 degree day and the room with its corrugated iron outer walls became quite warm. The only air conditioning was to open a window or turn on the fan. A few of the room fittings have become old and broken and need replacing, such as for example one of the window winders.But overall we had a very nice stay in a beautiful location. Sitting on the front verandah at sunset was magical. We also ate at the Risby Cove restaurant which, although pricey, was superb and couldn't be faulted. Note that it was packed out and is obviously one of the best places to eat in Strahan, so booking ahead is highly advisable. We were so impressed that we changed our breakfast plans the next morning and returned to the Risby Cove restaurant for breakfast. They were very accommodating about the fact that we had to catch the Gordon River Cruise and rushed our breakfast through for us. We would definitely recommend a stay at Risby Cove.

Room Tip: Book well in advance. The waterfront rooms offer lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalTravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Risby Cove in March 2013. Our room was "The Punt". Nice bed, clean room. Had nice little kitchen area so we could make our own breakfast (highly recommend, breakfasts are too expensive at hotels these days). Was really tired after big day and just wanted to relax in room so ordered room service dinner. Was lovely, prompt and food excellent. Especially the Pavlova Roulade for dessert! Nice to wake up and see the water and enjoyed all aspects of our stay. Including feeding the ducks!
Staff are courteous and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. Also very knowledgeable about Strahan and cruises. All in all I'd recommend Risby Cove for a short stay in Strahan.
And by the way , it is just a short walk to the town and all the cruises so you can leave the car and walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Punt. But all the rooms looked good. Maybe not the one over the restaurant as tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.4 mi away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aloft Boutique Accommodation Strahan
0.4 mi away
The Crays Accommodation
The Crays Accommodation
#2 of 21 in Strahan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Risby Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Risby Cove

Property: Risby Cove
Address: The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Risby Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Risby Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Risby Cove Strahan, Tasmania
Risby Cove Hotel Strahan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing