We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little cottage”
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Strahan Village
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Darwin
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Cute little cottage”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The only thing missing was WIFI reception however I didn't really have time to get on as there was too much else to do. Cruise was well worth the money and the room was comfortable with great décor. View from the room was great - right on main street with views of the harbour. Be careful of the ducks though - no seagulls here just very plump ducks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarsimDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    344
    227
    78
    55
See reviews for
140
539
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed Christmas night, after driving from Launceston. The hotel was situated well in the small village of Strahan, and the room had nice views over a park on the waterfront. Unfortunately the room was quite dated, but was spacious enough. The dining options were limited, it was an $85 buffet, which we weren't really interested in, or nothing (they had bar snacks but weren't serving them while the buffet was on). We ended up eating a bag of potato chips we had bought earlier in the day.
Overall it was nice enough but quite expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fezzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

So unbelievably noisy at night with doors slamming and general guest patron noises. They should warn you about this. We would have booked another room. Old and very tired decor. Terrible TV. No mini bar at all although they asked us if we had used it?!?!
Indifferent front counter staff.
$253 for the night is outrageously expensive for what it offers.

Room Tip: Request a room on the hill however this is more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strahan hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013

arrived in Strahan to find a nice small fishing village and nice accomadation, was basic but just ideal for my partner, my parents and myself for just a stop over in Strahan. Was not the best accomadation we stayed in Taz but not the worst either. Bed was comfy and great views, a little bit disappointed when we asked reception to book a table at a near by restaurant they just told us to ring off our inroom phone, which in my experiance tend to charge you for. I am guessing that is because it was not one of their own they would not book it for us.
But over all very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The best i would say is the size of the room, king bed size comfortable, bathroom, furniture and TV needs and urgent upgrade plus no internet.
In general not value for money, there are plenty of other accommodation available in Strahan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergio r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geeveston, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Strahan Village is the best hotel in Strahan and certainly boasts clean, quiet and tidy rooms. The appointments within the rooms are modern, the service is fantastic (as expected from West Coast Tasmania) and the location is exceptional. The breakfast/dining room has stunning views and is well located to waste a hour or two watching harbour life.

However, when booking, if the location or view from your room is important, it's critical to talk to the helpful staff. The hotel has lots of rooms and without spending a little time to get the room type right, you may not get the view you wanted.

Room Tip: The hotel reaches capacity quickly, so you may not be able to change rooms if you go in peak season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonPCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Strahan Village has a variety of accommodation from very ordinary motel type units to lovely king bed, split level rooms with the most beautiful view. On arrival we found out that our booking was for one of the poorer units so we upgraded to the room with a view and had no regrets whatsoever. We spent 3 beautiful days here taking in the Gordon/Franklin and other lovely features of the area.
The restaurant is on the side of expensive so we tended to eat out in other cafés etc in the area which were quite satisfactory. Local golf course is cheap and cheerful and satisfied our needs.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the room with a view if you already don't have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeriSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.4 mi away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#3 of 4 in Strahan
290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#2 of 4 in Strahan
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Franklin Manor
Franklin Manor
#1 of 6 in Strahan
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castaway Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Ormiston House
Ormiston House
#2 of 6 in Strahan
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Property: Strahan Village
Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strahan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing